X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close
创建星球大战在After Effects中全息图的影响,第1部分
翻译谷歌翻译

除非你已经在过去的30年生活在亚马逊雨林,你可能熟悉的星球大战全息图像传输效果,首先在第一星球大战电影(现称“第四集:新希望” )。你可以看到它的一个很好的例子:



已经有许多版本,并且这种效果的变化,多年来,无论是在星球大战电影本身和其他地方,以至于在自己的权利,它已经成为一个标志性的效果。但在一般情况下,效果拍摄镜头从它的背景中分离,主题发言,并作为一个半透明的,蓝有色的,发光的形象可见。通常情况下,你会看到扫描线,噪音,和“传输错误”的文物或图像以及毛刺。

在此特征的教程,我要告诉你自己的效果只使用Adobe没有第三方插件或应用程序,这将有助于你开始创建自己的路径的效果,的。我的朋友和邻居约旦 Rudess已足以作为我们的传输问题,提供自己,让我们的开始

创造这种效果,有两个主要部分 - 首先,我们需要隔离的主题,从他的背景,然后我们将需要办理的各种影响和治疗,这将使我们最终全息幻觉。

现在,最简单的方法来屏蔽或隔离录像拍摄你的主题,对一个明亮的绿屏或蓝屏的背景下(确保你的主题不包含任何背景颜色接近的颜色),然后使用After Effects的颜色键控工具,使背景透明。随着进尺的一种权利,它可以是一个简单的点击程序。虽然,我们大多数人没有在蓝屏工作室工作的奢侈品,所以我们将有面具,或手动删除,进尺的背景。幸运的是,After Effects中,有一些自动化工具,将使这远远高于单独绘制每一个帧的口罩更容易。

这里的约旦来说,对在我家的白墙上拍摄的毛片:

[视频ID =“7506”]


你会注意到他的映衬下相当良好的定义。然而,是不是真的够他和墙之间的对比,让我们使用亮度键或删除背景色键效果 - 我知道,因为我尝试过。因此,我们将不得不来掩盖他的手。幸运的是,After Effects中的最新版本


第1步 - 建立项目

鼓式画笔工具的最佳效果,您的画面应该有很好的概述,对一个普通的固体背景,前景和背景之间的高对比度,它的主题。导入后影响您的画面,并拖到“创建一个新的组成按钮,在”项目“窗口的底部:


这将使新的比赛录像的格式相匹配。我打电话的是这个比赛的约旦头鼓式。


第2步 - 选择和应用鼓式画笔工具

点击鼓式画笔工具在工具栏上:


双击它的形象在比赛窗口打开层窗口 - 所有鼓式刷工作中发生的层窗口:


第3步 - 画出你的第一次中风

下一步,步骤或通过您的画面拖动层窗口的底部,找到你的主题是尽可能明确地界定一个帧的时间标记。这就是所谓的基本框架,它的框架,在这里您可以定义您的初始轮廓。它通常在第一帧,但不必须。一旦你找到你的基本框架,借鉴与中风的鼓式画笔工具(该工具将显示为一个绿色圆圈在它加)通过的前景主体的中心:


(相反,你可能首先想到的是什么,你不使用鼓式画笔勾勒出主题 - 所有你需要做的的是定义你想勾勒对象的中心。)

释放鼠标按钮,鼓式画笔工具将概述什么所谓的分割边界的主体 - 主体的边缘周围的洋红色线条:


正如你可以看到,鼓式刷做一个优秀的,甚至有点神奇概述乔丹的身体,工作。因为他的右臂是非常黑暗的,由于在房间内的不均匀的照明,它没有赶上,但还是一个单击并拖动,就不错了。相信我,这远远低于繁琐的手工绘图用钢笔工具的面具。此外,我们可以很容易地解决这个小毛刺。


第4步 - 细化分割边界

现在,让我们修复周围约旦的右臂分割边界需要调整的领域 - 重要的是要得到您的基本框架,作为清洁和尽可能准确,因为鼓式刷将其所有未来的计算基础上此帧。因此,我们要同时添加约旦的裸露的右臂分割边界的选择,但也能消除他的右手臂和他的身体之间的面积。

要添加右臂,只需将通过该地区的中心鼓式刷再度中风:


这将增加该地区的边界:


接下来,按住Option键(鼓式画笔工具,将改变与一个红色的圆圈在它的减号),拖在约旦的手臂和身体之间的领域:


这将删除从边界地区:


正如你可以看到,这也从边界地区的一些乔丹的身体,所以要解决这个问题,我们只需要定期(绿色)鼓式在这一领域刷再次拖动:



这应该这样做。我们可以检查我们刚刚创建的alpha层窗口底部点击“切换阿尔法”按钮:


通过点击在同一地区的切换阿尔法覆盖按钮来检查我们的面具状态:


覆盖到alpha通道的半透明的颜色。


第5步 - 传播分割边界

现在,我们已经定义了我们的基本框架,让我们继续前进屏蔽其余的剪辑。鼓式刷自动执行此所谓传播的过程中,我们定义的基本框架遮罩被复制,并在后续的帧调整。帧的范围内发生的传播,被称为跨度,我们调整的跨度调整的传播范围。

现在,与复杂的课题,你经常要设置一个短短,所以你可以精确地调整分割的边界。不过,在我们的案例中,因为有相对较少,在镜头的运动,我们可以设置跨度涵盖整个剪辑,并调整如有必要,以后。

因此,要调整跨度跨度(灰框下面的时间标尺标记块),点击:


并将它拖到剪辑全长:


我们可以开始只是打空格键开始传播过程。当我们这样做,剪辑将开始播放(慢),你会看到洋红色分割边界的自动奇迹般地跟随乔丹的轮廓,他的动作。还可以,如果你喜欢,只要按下Page Down键(如果你有一个)或Command -右箭头,一步一个通过剪辑的时间框架。当你这样做,你会发现,某些地区可能辍学的边界,在这两个连续帧,取决于主体的议案:


如果出现这种情况,只要停止对这个问题的框架,并像以前一样,要么拖动与在该地区的鼓式画笔工具将它添加到的边界,或Option键删除领域


第6步 - 冷冻分割

一旦你已经分割边界的调整,以自己的喜好,你要冻结的传播。冷冻分割边界缓存到磁盘,并防止进一步细分传播,这将确保调整后的边界停留的地方,这也加快了任何进一步的互动与面具。要冻结分割边界,单击下面的时间标尺的FREEZE按钮:


冻结的边界,将需要一段时间,但它完成时,你会看到在乐淘刷分割冻结层窗口的指示。如果你想调整在日后的分割,你将需要解冻,再次单击FREEZE按钮的边界。


第7步 - 完善面膜

我们在第1部分中的最后一步是改进我们刚刚创建的遮罩与鼓式Brush.There的一些工具,在经过调整口罩的影响,但鼓式画笔工具,在其影响控制其自身缩小磨砂部分,这就是我们将使用


现在,我们并不需要去到很多细节在这一点上的细化磨砂工具,但我们要看看在平滑和羽毛控制。增加平滑将这样做 - 光滑的边缘,我们只是提出,以减少任何锋利的边缘,我们可能会在传播创建的面具。你不想得意忘形这里 - 一个太高的顺利设置将变成一个blob的面具:


一个小小的平滑可以帮助降低表面粗糙度,有时使用鼓式刷。设置为3或4,应该足够了。

另外请注意,如果你看到一个小太多你围绕你的主题的边缘的背景,你可以尝试增加扼流价值,这将带来的面具边缘

最后,也是最重要的一点是,我们要曲柄我们的羽毛财产,也许50%以上。这将软化的alpha通道的边缘,并帮助其融入

背景,这将有助于让我们更柔和,模糊的看,我们最终的全息图像效果 - ,边缘模糊的外观的特点之一。因此,设置你的羽毛说,50%左右,使你的面具看起来像这样:


我们可以随时调整后,当然,当我们开始一起投入的效果,但这是一个良好的开端。

好吧!我们完成了第1部分 - 我们蒙面约旦鼓式画笔工具与他的背景隔离开来,现在,我们正准备第2部分 - 创建全息效果。


想了解更多吗?理查德的捆绑后影响训练影片在这里的优秀!

Richard Lainhart

Richard Lainhart | Articles by this author

Richard Lainhart is an award-winning composer, filmmaker, and author. His compositions have been performed in the US, Europe Asia, and Australia, and recordings of his music have appeared on the Periodic Music, Vacant Lot, XI Records, Airglow Music, Tobira Records, Infrequency, VICMOD, and ExOvo labels. His animations and short films have been shown in festivals in the US, Europe, and Asia, and online at ResFest, The New Venue, The Bitscreen, and Streaming Cinema 2.0. He has authored over a dozen technical manuals for music and video hardware and software, served as Contributing Editor for Interactivity and 3D Design Magazines, and contributed to books on digital media production published by IDG, Peachpit Press, McGraw Hill, and Miller Freeman Books. Previously an Adobe Certified Expert in After Effects and Premiere, a demo artist for Adobe Systems, and co-founder of the official New York City After Effects User Group, he was, from 2000-2009, Technical Director for Total Training Productions, an innovative digital media training company based in New York and California.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2018 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link

(Close)
Forgot password?
AskAudio Magazine
Join Now! Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close

Join macProVideo.com

Access free tutorial videos, premium articles and project files.

Share this article with friends!

Creating the Star Wars Hologram Effect in After Effects, Part 1

Unless you've been living in the Amazonian rain forest for the past 30 years, you're probably familiar with the Star Wars hologram transmission effect, first seen in the first Star Wars film (now known as "Episode IV: A New Hope"). You can see a good example of it here:



There have been many versions and variations of this effect over the years, both in the Star Wars films themselves and elsewhere, so much so that it's become an iconic effect in its own right. But in general, the effect consists of shot footage of a subject speaking, isolated from its background, and seen as a translucent, blue-tinted, glowing image. Often, you'll see scanlines, noise, and "transmission error" artifacts or glitches in the image as well.  

In this Feature Tutorial, I'm going to show you my own take on the effect using just Adobe After Effects, with no third-party plugins or apps, which should help get you started on the path to creating your own. My friend and neighbor Jordan Rudess has been kind enough to offer himself as the subject for our transmission, so let's get started with masking the footage

There are two major parts to creating this effect - first, we'll need to isolate the subject from his background, and then we'll need to apply the various effects and treatments that will give us the final hologram illusion. 

Now, the easiest way to mask or isolate video footage is to shoot your subject against a well-lit greenscreen or bluescreen backdrop (making sure that your subject doesn't contain any colors close to the background color), then use After Effects' Color Keying tools to make the background transparent. With the right kind of footage, it can be a simple one-click procedure. Most of us don't have the luxury of working in a bluescreen studio, though, so we'll have to mask, or remove the background from, the footage manually. Fortunately, After Effects has some automated tools that will make this much easier than individually drawing a mask for every single frame.

Here's the raw footage of Jordan speaking, shot against a white wall in my home:


You'll notice that he's fairly well-defined against the background. However, there isn't really enough contrast between him and the wall to let us use either the Luma Key or Color Key effects to remove the background - I know, because I tried them both. So, we'll have to mask him by hand. Fortunately, though, recent versions of After Effects have included the Roto Brush tool, a semi-automated masking method that will work well for us here. Here's how it works.


Step 1 - Set Up the Project

For best results with the Roto Brush tool, your footage should have its subject well-outlined against a plain solid background, with high contrast between the foreground and background. Import your footage into After Effects, and drag it onto the Create A New Composition button at the bottom of the Project window:


This will make a new Comp that matches the footage's format. I'm calling this Comp Jordan Head Roto. 


Step 2 - Select and Apply the Roto Brush Tool

Click on the Roto Brush tool in the Toolbar:


Double-click with it on the image in the Comp window to open the Layer window - all Roto Brush work happens in the Layer Window:


Step 3 - Draw Your First Stroke

Next, step or drag through your footage with the Time Marker at the bottom of the Layer window to locate a frame where your subject is as clearly defined as possible. This is called the base frame, and it's the frame where you'll define your initial outlines. It's often the first frame, but doesn't have to be. Once you've located your base frame, draw a stroke with the Roto Brush tool (the tool will appear as a green circle with a plus in it) down through the center of your foreground subject:


(Contrary to what you might first think, you don't use the Roto Brush to outline the subject - all you need to do is define the center of the object you want to outline.)

Release the mouse button, and the Roto Brush tool will outline your subject with what's called the segmentation boundary - the magenta line around the subject's edge:


As you can see, the Roto Brush has done an excellent, even somewhat miraculous, job of outlining Jordan's body. Because his lower right arm is pretty dark, due to the uneven lighting in the room, it didn't catch that, but still, for one click and drag, it's pretty good. Believe me, it's much less tedious than drawing the mask by hand with the Pen tool. And we can easily fix that little glitch.


Step 4 - Refine the Segmentation Boundary

Now let's fix the areas around Jordan's right arm where the segmentation boundary needs tweaking - it's important to get your base frame as clean and accurate as possible, because Roto Brush will base all its future calculations on this frame. So, we want to both add Jordan's bare right arm to the segmentation boundary selection, but also remove the area between his right arm and his body.

To add his right arm, just drag another stroke with the Roto Brush through the center of that area:


which will add that area to the boundary:


Next, hold down the Option key (the Roto Brush tool will change to a red circle with a minus sign in it) and drag in the area between Jordan's arm and body:


which will delete that area from the boundary:


As you can see, this also removed some of Jordan's body from the boundary area, so to fix that, we just need to drag again with the regular (green) Roto Brush in that area:


 to add it back again:


And that should do it. We can check the alpha we've just created by clicking the Toggle Alpha button at the bottom of the Layer window:


and check the state of our mask by clicking the Toggle Alpha Overlay button in the same area:


which overlays a translucent color into the alpha channel. 


Step 5 - Propagate the Segmentation Boundary

Now that we've defined our base frame, let's move on to masking the rest of the clip. The Roto Brush does this automatically in a process called propagation, in which the base frame mask we've defined is copied and adjusted on subsequent frames. The range of frames within which the propagation occurs is called the span, and we adjust the span to adjust the propagation range.

Now, with complex subjects, you often want to set a short span, so you can precisely tweak the segmentation boundary. In our case, though, because there's relatively little motion in the footage, we can set the span to cover the entire clip, and tweak later if necessary. 

So, to adjust the span, click on the end of the span (the block of gray frame markers below the Time Ruler):


and drag it out to the full length of the clip:


We can start by just hitting the Space bar to start the propagation process. When we do, the clip will start playing (slowly), and you'll see the magenta segmentation boundary auto-magically follow Jordan's outline as he moves. You can also, if you prefer, just hit the Page Down key (if you have one) or Command-Right Arrow to step through the clip one frame at a time. As you do, you'll notice that certain areas may drop out of the boundary, depending on your subject's motion, as in these two consecutive frames:


If that happens, just stop on the problem frame and, as before, either drag with the Roto Brush tool in the area to add it to the boundary, or option-drag to remove areas from the boundary. Then continue to step or play through the footage, propagating and adjusting as you go, until you get to the end of the clip. You can also step backwards if you like to adjust previous frames as well.


Step 6 - Freeze the Segmentation

Once you have the segmentation boundary adjusted to your liking, you'll want to freeze the propagation. Freezing caches the segmentation boundary to disk and prevents further segmentation propagation, which will ensure that your adjusted boundary stays in place and which also speeds up any further interaction with the mask. To freeze the segmentation boundary, click the Freeze button below the Time Ruler:


Freezing the boundary will take a while, but when it's done you'll see an indication in the Layer window that Roto Brush segmentation is frozen. If you want to adjust the segmentation at a later date, you'll need to unfreeze the boundary by clicking the Freeze button again.


Step 7 - Refine the Mask

Our final step in Part 1 is to refine the mask we've just created with the Roto Brush.There are a number of tools in After Effects for adjusting masks, but the Roto Brush tool has its own Refine Matte section in its Effect Controls, which is what we'll use  here. To view those controls, select the layer you've been working on in the Timeline window and click the Effect Controls tab next to the Project window. You'll see the Refine Matte controls:


Now, we don't need to go into a lot of detail about the Refine Matte tools at this point, but we do want to take a look at the Smooth and Feather controls. Increasing Smooth will do just that - smooth the edges of the mask we just made to reduce any sharp edges we may have created during the propagation. You don't want to get carried away here - a too-high Smooth setting will just turn the mask into a blob:


A little smoothing can help reduce the roughness that sometimes results from using the Roto Brush. A setting of 3 or 4 should be sufficient.

Also note that if you see a little too much of your background around the edges of your subject, you can try increasing the Choke value, which will bring the edges of the mask in tighter around the subject. You'll probably want to do this in Toggle Alpha Overlay mode, so you can see the effect of choking the mask.

Finally, and most importantly, we want to crank our Feather property up to perhaps 50% or more. This will soften the edges of the alpha channel and help blend it into the 

background, which will help give us a softer, fuzzier look to our final Hologram effect - that edge fuzziness is one of the characteristics of the look. So set your Feather to say 50% or so, so that your mask looks something like this:


We can always adjust this later of course, when we start putting the effect together, but this is a good start.

Alright! We're finished with Part 1 - we've masked Jordan with the Roto Brush tool to isolate him from his background, and now we're ready for Part 2 - creating the Hologram Effect.


Want to learn more? Richard has a bundle of excellent After Effects Training videos here!

Richard Lainhart

Richard Lainhart | Articles by this author

Richard Lainhart is an award-winning composer, filmmaker, and author. His compositions have been performed in the US, Europe Asia, and Australia, and recordings of his music have appeared on the Periodic Music, Vacant Lot, XI Records, Airglow Music, Tobira Records, Infrequency, VICMOD, and ExOvo labels. His animations and short films have been shown in festivals in the US, Europe, and Asia, and online at ResFest, The New Venue, The Bitscreen, and Streaming Cinema 2.0. He has authored over a dozen technical manuals for music and video hardware and software, served as Contributing Editor for Interactivity and 3D Design Magazines, and contributed to books on digital media production published by IDG, Peachpit Press, McGraw Hill, and Miller Freeman Books. Previously an Adobe Certified Expert in After Effects and Premiere, a demo artist for Adobe Systems, and co-founder of the official New York City After Effects User Group, he was, from 2000-2009, Technical Director for Total Training Productions, an innovative digital media training company based in New York and California.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2014 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.

About

Our Plans

Tutorials

Community

Help

Legal

Link