X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close
斯科特Freiman - 专题专访:第1部分
翻译谷歌翻译

3D电影都风靡一时。但是,什么是它想撰写,组合或重新组合为3D电影的音乐吗?其实,不只是3D电影,但最近创建的“飞天怪兽”传说中的 大卫阿滕伯勒斯科特Freiman,作曲,混音工程师和培训师非凡刚刚完成了混合飞行怪兽,并花了一些时间,来分享他的经验Skype软件。

在这种照明两部分组成的采访的第一部分,斯科特描述他的做法,环绕声混音和作曲,在混合组织和工作流程,混合与一些高调片样品的生活文书所涉及的挑战。斯科特还透露他的秘密,打破成电影和视觉媒体作为一个作曲家和混合工程师的世界。继续阅读,以了解更多... ...

听读

想坐下来听斯科特Freiman采访吗?没问题!这里有您的聆听乐趣的原始录音!让我们在评论中知道,如果你喜欢听音频的!

录音1:[音频ID =“579”]

录音2:[音频ID =“580”]

录音3:[音频ID =“581”]

录音4:[音频ID =“582”]

记录5:[音频ID =“583”]


Hi Scott, thanks for making the time to do this interview (just two days after Christmas!)
No problem! Glad to be a part of it.

你众所周知之间为您的优秀macProVideo观众的Pro Tools,Native Instruments公司和Reason教程 。什么是你的音乐的重点,当你不创造macProVideo教程?

好吧,我倾向于把重点放在电影和电视音乐,虽然我喜欢偶尔写的歌曲,当我与电影和电视工作的类型,可以在地图上。我可以做一些非常管弦乐,大量管弦乐样品... ...有时与现场乐团...有时更多电子的东西,更多“dancey”。这真的取决于什么叫做。所以当我撰写我真的让视频对我发号施令,我应该是什么风格的来信。

那么,什么是你的创作手法我注意到,你取得了“生命”和“飞天怪兽”大卫阿滕伯勒(音乐)...

我没有得分飞行怪物 ,我只是混合。我没有得分的生命的一部分,这在美国是奥普拉。他们重新在美国是如何,我得到了一些工作,它的整体得分。最初,他们聘请我做的音乐组合,所有的环绕声混音。他们有很多作曲家的工作,并取得了不同的场景。

有一个大的时间紧缩,很多士兵的作曲家。所以你在Cubase工作的人,数位演员,Pro Tools的,逻辑,没有人使用一致的样本。没有人真正发送的东西,以一致的方式。所以我的工作,成为了很多音乐编辑和很多混合,以确保我们使用的所有样品听起来好其他人的样本。然后,我们也有现场的乐队,在捷克共和国(由传奇人物加里切斯特),所以很多的时候我们混在一起现场乐团打击乐采样和其他采样的声音,然后在5.1。这是一个很多的乐趣。您需要能够做好的5.1组合也将好声音在立体声。

在这个项目的过程中,他们问我撰写的一些音乐,所以我很幸运地做到这一点。我刚刚完成的项目是一部电影,只是首演昨日(2010年12月26日)对天空电视台3D,鲁珀特默多克的渠道,这就是所谓的“飞行​​怪兽”。这将是在大的IMAX电影院,像在2011年年初。我做了,这是美妙的环绕声混音。得分是由

你有什么秘诀,如何搭配现场乐队和采样乐器吗? 它必须是相当大的挑战!

是的,它是!的东西,开始为我工作,我是否混合一名歌手词曲作者或混合电视分数,首先你要听的音乐,你需要忘记搅拌片刻,只听那里的东西。然后找出有什么需要帮助的音乐部分。如何文书的空间安排和平衡。我总是试图瓜分了编辑和混音。

我觉得,如果您尝试和编辑,而你混合,所以,如果你在组合中的一个坏注意,它几乎像它的两个大脑的两侧。因此,我希望编辑的一切,并确保所有,我的开始和结束一字排开... ...当你有一个乐团录制计数的...的一块,你可能有的人开始谈论结束,所以我修剪所有这些。我做出确定是否有任何人起到了错误的说明,我把它弄出来那里... ...如果有样品已经使用并有长时间的沉默... ...我会尽我所能得到清理,然后我就开始混合。

要开始我就开始有点与总体平衡,确保仪器是在正确的位置和相对的平衡,我希望他们的组合。所以,我没有我的字符串太大,我黄铜太低,太远了我在前面循环等等。然后,我就可以开始调整。因此,接下来的部分变得搞清楚,(例如)打击乐循环,作曲家把大提琴的部分是在同一频率范围的冲突。我可能需要开拓出一方或另一方的频谱。

我倾向于不使用,除非在必要的压缩和均衡的很多。我不是那些家伙开始把所有这些东西的地方之一。如果它是一个很好的的记录(和我很幸运能与一些好的录音),那么你不应该做了很多。麦克风的位置,如果做得好,队员们好,您正在使用的循环是好的,那么它不要求很多的EQ。情商应谨慎使用,它确实应该使用有冲突,或你真的需要带出一些频谱的一部分,以提高音质。所以,我采取的总体方针。

你刚才提到,你是在5.1混合以及。这是飞行怪物,这是显示在IMAX影院?

这是本周末在天空3D电视在电视上,它的第一款3D“为电视电影 “ 。这是已建成的天空3D电视频道,然后它会在IMAX影院。因此,我们对环绕混合,但我们还提供了立体声混音以及。

有趣的是,它在3D的。当你看之前(或期间)的混合方案,你看它在3D?

不幸的是,我没有去。音乐混音我没有被送往伦敦,在那里,它是混合对话和任何其他特殊效果。一个健全的舞台上,他们正在与全面的3D渲染。我有一个初步的版本,所以我看到的草图和原理图和大量的3D生物的框架。但一些相同的人的头像正在做的3D工作(),所以我不能迫不及待地想看到自己!

由于飞行怪兽被甄别和3D技术的电视和为IMAX ...什么是模拟(组合)将在IMAX影院环境声音,像你的过程吗?

那么,事情的真相是,IMAX组合将在未来一个月左右完成。他们将我的音乐组合,然后我们将做一个具体的IMAX组合,因为IMAX影院往往有更多的扬声器等等。所以,我没有这样做,最终的音乐组合。我们所做的,当我们准备的混合是两件事情:

首先所有无论你在工作室(在这种情况下矿),要适当调整。你必须确保你听到的是准确的。你使用的扬声器,扬声器的位置,在演播室的音频莫名其妙等等。你必须确保你听到的是要准确,是要转化为其他的工作室。我始终确保之前,我开始一个项目,我仔细检查所有我校准。

然后,当我混我有一定的水平,等等,我的目标是,知道,当音乐变得与对话,他们可能会推动音乐向下混合,我是混合的,如果它只是一个乐谱。

当我在电影里,我也做声音效果,房间色调和对话等工作,那么我将一切混合的音乐。但在这个特定飞行怪物的情况下,我的工作就是使尽可能好的音乐声中,并最终重新录制调音台会混淆一切。

我提供的混合机混合5.1,立体声混音,然后我提供几茎。因此,我将提供一个管弦乐干,也许一个木管乐器,也许黄铜,也许一个循环,也许打击乐,键盘,竖琴,等等。这真的取决于,但我会尽力和规范项目。这让最后的调音台的灵活性,使或需要的东西。因此,如果他们发现,管弦乐配乐听起来不错,直到他们的大爆炸,他们希望碰到一点点敲击,他们有一个单独的锣鼓干的,和他们可以得到该元素的访问。所以我要确保我给最终搅拌机文件给他们一定的灵活性。

和最后的事情,不管你做什么... ...命名约定,目录结构,组织。绝对是至关重要的,因为有没有更糟糕,在事情没有正确命名的环境,你无法找到的文件和事情都不见了!你必须确保你正在做的一切是命名的权利,在权利directorys等等。

像一些Pro Tools的数字音频工作站中发生的事情之一是有人给你一些文件的光盘,你开始编辑和Pro Tools是,单独的光盘上保存您的修改。某些文件丢失突然消失,所有光盘。我总是在Pro Tools中保存会话复制,以确保我已经收集,不仅是会议,但所有相关的音频文件。你必须做同样的事情在逻辑上和其他程序以及。您必须确保这一切都是那里的人应该能够看文件名,看得很清楚,一切都奠定。

所以,你提到的重新录制混合。对于我们的观众受益,你能解释一下VS一个混音器重新混音的作用是什么?

当然可以。你会经常在电影或电视项目 - 一个大项目 - 的人,只是混合的对话,而仅仅只是负责音效等等音乐或其他负责人负责。在连锁有人把它一起。这是典型的重新混音的作用。当我工作在较小的独立电影,我所有的人!我混我的音乐,然后把它和编辑的对话和声音效果。

但是,更大的项目上,我们有团队的人。如果你看好莱坞电影的学分,你可以看到,声部是巨大的,最终的声音已经得到混合,它通常是像我所提到的混合组。然后,那些最终群体在工作室一起,使影片的最后组合。

你给谁想要走上职业生涯的得分为电影/电视或卷入作为视觉媒体的混合工程师有什么建议吗

那么,几件事情。数之一,无论你做音乐,你一定要听。看电影,听音乐或看电视或CD和听取不同作曲家。您学习听。你调你的耳朵,但您还可以找到自己喜欢的事,你不喜欢。而且,如果有一个组合,你真的不喜欢你烦恼... ...为什么呢?你需要回答这个问题。如果有一个组合,你真的很喜欢,这是为什么呢?如果你真的很喜欢的一首歌曲,是什么让这么好?如果有一个奇怪的仪器,那是什么奇怪的仪器?所以听是非常重要的的。

读。熬夜到日期从像SoundOnSound杂志什么像VI控制,这是所有电影/电视作曲家挂出论坛。那里也有很大的讨论主题。从这些论坛中,我学到了巨大的金额。

第三件事情可能是找到某种形式的良师益友。我很幸运有很多业务,他们是很愿意帮助身边的人,无论是史蒂夫Horelick在未来城市生活,谁可以帮助我一些伟大的作曲家和我所有的逻辑问题电影/电视的人。我经常拿起电话,问他们一个问题。此外,当我开始我也只是学习了很多工作。没有去一所学校或任何,有时你可以学习到一个项目掷。

因此,教育自己,无论是听,读或说话的人,谁知道这么说BIZ,是难以置信的帮助以及观看视频 macProVideo.com !

你发现了,当你开始的时候,你基本上是敲了很多门,并试图做免费的工作?

我还是敲了很多门,虽然我不是免费做多了。但是,我参加了很多很好的学习经验的学生项目。我曾与可怕的声音有些项目,我刚跟他们的东西... ...或只是残暴的电影,我不得不写一个分数... ...和您学习!但是,如果你没有左右,然后进入到与电影专业的学生大学有大量的YouTube或出的东西在网络上,你可以采取自己的目的... ...擦除的声音,并把它你自己的得分。 (实践)。真的,确实有帮助。

有一个通信方面人们往往忽视这项业务。你的想法,与导演和制片人可能无法与音乐的熟悉你的工作。他们不明白你使用什么样的技术。他们不明白,你知道,主要和次要的桥梁和其他。你必须找出一种方法,与人沟通,因为那个人是你的老板,你的雇主。如果你做好了,你使你的工作更好,不管是你的分数或你的混音...它的关键是你意识到你代表他们的视野工作。

因此,与人交谈的方式是非常重要的的,你这种做法,由做项目,你会发现有多远,你可以把你的想法之前,你有回退。你发现时,他们会告诉你他们不喜欢的东西... ...你必须找出办法问他们为什么他们不喜欢它,在那里他们可能不具有相同的语言来形容的东西。它成为一个非常重要的学习经验,就如何与这些人沟通。

谢谢。所以,我看到另一个你做了最近收到跨越被称为“Budrus”世界上备受好评的电影你能告诉我们一点关于该项目的吗?

当然可以。有人问我做的混合Budrus 。这是一个完整的音响组合,对话,效果的情况下我 - 尽管这是一个纪录片,所以没有任何影响 - 当然音乐。这是因为你要确保你不切断这是很重要的东西,在一个语言不是英语的重要,这使得它非常棘手做混音,希伯来语,阿拉伯语和英语。

由于它的纪录片,你不必有多个需要回去的奢侈品。如果有一个在后台的爆炸,你必须在它上面,你就必须使用该发言的人,你必须找到一种方法,使其工作。所以这是一个真正的挑战。

这是一个伟大的项目。 Budrus是关于那些在非暴力的方式抗议以色列占领的巴勒斯坦电影。这是一个伟大的消息表明,可用于各种原因引起的或世界各地的冲突的非暴力抗议。我是一个非暴力的抗议活动的支持者,因此我们非常高兴能够照顾了约一个项目,我做我喜欢的东西。

这部电影已经得到了不少的好评。它在国会中已经表明,在美国。这表明世界各地,包括在中东。我认为这是很多人谈论这是最好的事情。无论您在影片中的一切同意或不获取人们讨论和任何促进非暴力,我认为是一件好事!

... ...链接到本次访谈(即将推出)的第2部分将出现在这里。 除其他事项外,斯科特坦率地谈自己的工作室,披头士乐队和更多 ...

要发现更多的斯科特Freiman的Pro Tools,Native Instruments公司和原因的教程,检查出他的教练。

对于更多信息斯科特Freiman作曲家,听到他的音乐,浏览本网站。

Rounik Sethi

Rounik Sethi | Articles by this author

Rounik is the Executive Editor for Ask.Audio & the macProVideo Hub. As an Apple Certified Trainer for Logic (and a self-confessed Mac fanatic) he's taught teachers, professional musicians and hobbyists how to get the best out of Apple's creative software. He has been a visiting lecturer at Bath Spa University's Teacher training program, facilitating workshops on using music and digital media tools in the classroom. If you're looking for Rounik, you'll most likely find him (and his articles) on Ask.Audio & macProVideo.com.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2018 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link

Going on Holidays?

TAKE IT WITH YOU!

Get a Library Pass and all Downloads are just $999

JULY ONLY

To learn more, check out our

Plans & Pricing
(Close)
Forgot password?
AskAudio Magazine
Join Now! Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close

Join macProVideo.com

Access free tutorial videos, premium articles and project files.

Share this article with friends!

Feature Interview: Scott Freiman - Part 1

3D Movies are all the rage. But what's it like to compose, mix or re-mix the music for a 3D film? In fact, not just any 3D film, but the recently created "Flying Monsters" by the legendary David Attenborough? Scott Freiman, composer, mixing engineer and trainer extraordinaire just finished up mixing Flying Monsters and took some time-out to share his experiences over Skype.

In the first part of this illuminating two-part interview, Scott describes his approach to surround sound mixing and composing, getting organized during the mix and the work flow challenges involved in mixing live instruments with samples on some high profile films. Scott also reveals his secrets for breaking into the film and visual media world as a composer and mixing engineer. Read on to find out more...

Listen and Read

Want to sit back and listen to the interview with Scott Freiman? No problem! Here are the original recordings for your listening pleasure! Let us know in the comments if you enjoy having the audio to listen to!

Recording 1:

Recording 2:

Recording 3:

Recording 4:

Recording 5:


Hi Scott, thanks for making the time to do this interview (just two days after Christmas!)
No problem! Glad to be a part of it.

You're well known amongst the macProVideo audience for your excellent Pro Tools, Native Instruments and Reason tutorials. What is your musical focus when you're not creating tutorials for macProVideo?

Well, I tend to focus on music for film and television, although I do like writing the occasional song and when I'm working with film and TV the genres can be all over the map. I can do something very orchestral, with a lot of orchestral samples... sometimes with live orchestra... sometimes something more electronic, more 'dancey'. It really depends on what's called for. So when I'm composing I really let the video dictate to me what style I should be writing in.

So what's your creative approach? I noticed that you scored (the music) for "Life" and "Flying Monsters" by David Attenborough...

I didn't score Flying Monsters, I just mixed that. I did score part of Life, which in America is with Oprah Winfrey. And they re-did the whole score in America which is how I got some work out of it. They originally hired me to do the music mix and all the surround mixes. They had a lot of composers working on it and scoring different scenes.

There was a big time crunch and a lot of composers were enlisted. So you were getting people working in Cubase, Digital Performer, Pro Tools, Logic, and no one was using consistent samples. No one was really sending things in in a consistent manner. So my job became a lot of music editing and a lot of mixing to make sure that all the samples we used were sounding as good as other people's samples. And then we also had a live orchestra that was recorded in the Czech Republic (by the legendary Gary Chester), so a lot of times we were mixing live orchestra with sampled percussion and other sampled sounds and then doing this all in 5.1. It was a lot of fun. You need to be able to do a good 5.1 mix that also will sound good in stereo.

During the course of this project they asked me to compose some music for it so I was lucky enough to do that. The project I just completed is a film that just premiered yesterday (26th December 2010) on Sky TV 3D, Rupert Murdoch's channel, it's called "Flying Monsters". It'll be out in the big IMAX cinemas and the like in early 2011. I did a surround mix for that which was just wonderful. The score was by Joel Douek and it was a combined orchestral score with the orchestra recorded in the Czech Republic and sampled instruments: percussion and loops, etc. It was just a blast to mix that.

Do you have any tips on how to mix a live orchestra and sampled instruments? It must be quite a challenge!

Yes, it is! The thing to start with which works for me, whether I'm mixing a singer songwriter or mixing a TV Score, is first you have to listen to the music and you need to forget about mixing for a moment and just listen to what's there. Then figure out what are the parts of the music that need help. How's the spatial arrangement and balance of the instruments. And I always try and divide up editing and mixing.

I find that if you try and edit while you're mixing, so if you're taking out a bad note in the middle of a mix, it's almost like it's two sides of the brain. So I like to edit everything and make sure that all of my starts and ends are lined up... When recording an orchestra you have count in's... at the end of the piece you may have people who start talking, so I trim all those. I make sure if there's anyone who's played a wrong note I get it out of there... If there's samples that have been used and there are long periods of silence... I'll do everything I can to get it cleaned up and then I'll begin to mix.

To begin the mix I'll start with a little bit of overall balance, making sure the instruments are in the right locations and are relatively in balance with where I want them. So I don't have my strings too loud, my brass too low and my loops too far in front and so forth. And then I can start tweaking. So the next part becomes figuring out that (for example) the percussion loops that the composer put in and the cello part are clashing in the same frequency range. I might need to carve out a little of the frequency spectrum from one or the other.

I tend not to use a lot of compression and EQ except where necessary. I'm not one of those guys who starts putting that stuff all over the place. If it's a good recording (and I've been fortunate to work with some good recordings) then you shouldn't have to do a lot. If Mic placement was done well, the players were good, the loops you are using are good, then it doesn't call for a lot of EQ. EQ should be used sparingly and it should really be used where there are conflicts or where you really need to bring out some part of the frequency spectrum to enhance the quality of the sound. So that's the sort of overall approach I take.

You mentioned that you were mixing in 5.1 as well. Was that for Flying Monsters, which is being shown at IMAX cinemas?

It's on TV this weekend on Sky 3D TV. It's the first 3D 'made-for-TV-film'. It's been built for the Sky 3D TV channel and then it will be in IMAX theaters later. So we mixed it for surround but we also provided stereo mixes as well.

It's interesting that it's in 3D. When you were watching the program before (or during) mixing did you watch it in 3D?

Unfortunately, I didn't get to. The music mixes I did were sent to London where it was mixed in with the dialogue and any other special effects. They were working on a sound stage with the full 3D rendering. I had a preliminary version, so I saw the sketches and the schematics and the frameworks of a lot of the 3D creatures. But the 3D work (was) being done by some of the same people that work on Avatar, so I can't wait to see it myself!

As Flying Monsters is being screened in 3D and for TV and for IMAX... what was your process for emulating what it (the mix) would sound like in an IMAX theater environment?

Well, the truth of the matter is that the IMAX mix will do done in the next month or so. They will take my music mix and then we'll do a specific IMAX mix because IMAX theaters tend to have more speakers and so forth. So, I haven't done the final music mix for that. What we did when we prepared the mix is a couple of things:

First of all whatever studio you're working in (in this case mine) has to be tuned properly. You have to make sure that what you're hearing is accurate. The speakers you're using, the speaker placement, the audio baffling in the studio and so forth. You have to make sure that what you're hearing is going to be accurate and is going to translate to other studios. I always make sure before I start a project that I double-check all my calibrations.

Then when I mix I have certain levels and so forth that I aim for, knowing that when the music gets mixed with the dialogue they might push the music down, I'm mixing as if it's only a music score.

When I'm working on a film where I'm also doing sound effects, room tone and dialogue etc, then I will mix the music with everything else. But in this particular case for Flying Monsters my job was to make the music sound as good as possible and the final Re-Recording Mixer would mix that in with everything else.

I provide the Mixer a 5.1 mix, a stereo mix and then I provide several stems. So I'll provide an orchestral stem, maybe a woodwind, maybe a brass, maybe a loops, maybe percussion, keyboards, harp, so forth. It really depends, but I'll try and standardize it for a project. That gives the final Mixer the flexibility to bring something in or out as needed. So if they find that the orchestral score sounds great until they have the big explosion and they want to bump up the percussion a little bit, they have a separate percussion stem and they can get access to that element. So I make sure that the files I give to the final Mixer give them some flexibility.

And the final thing, no matter what you're doing... The naming conventions, the directory structure, the organization. All of that is absolutely critical, because there's nothing worse that being in an environment where things aren't named properly, you can't find files and things are missing! You have to make sure that everything you're doing is named right and in the right directorys and so forth.

One of the things that happens with some DAWs like Pro Tools is someone gives you a disc with some files on it, you start editing and Pro Tools is saving your edits onto that separate disc. The disc goes away and all of a sudden some of your files are missing. I always do a Save Session Copy in Pro Tools to make sure I've gathered, not only the session, but all the associated audio files. You have to do the same thing in Logic and other programs as well. You must make sure that everything is there and someone should be able to look at the file names and see very clearly how everything is laid out.

So you mentioned the re-recording mixing. For the benefit of our audience can you explain what the role of a Re-Recording Mixer is vs a Sound Mixer?

Sure. On a film or TV project - a larger project - you'll often have people who are just responsible for mixing dialogue, and people just responsible for music or others just responsible for sound effects and so forth. At the end of the chain someone has to put it all together. That is typically the role of the Re-Recording Mixer. When I work on smaller Indie films I'm all of those people! I mix my music, then put it in and then edit the dialogue and the sound effects.

But, on bigger projects we have teams of people. If you ever look at the credits on a Hollywood film you can see that the sound department is massive and ultimately that sound has to get mixed and it's usually mixed in groups like I mentioned. Then those final groups are put together in the studio to make the final mix for the film.

What advice would you give to anyone who wants to embark on a career scoring for film/TV or becoming involved as a Mixing Engineer for visual media?

Well, a couple of things. Number one, whatever you're doing with music you must listen. Watch films and listen to the music or watch TV or put on CD's and listen to different composers. You learn by listening. You tune your ears but you also find out things you like and you don't like. And if there's a mix that you really don't like that bothers you... Why is it? You need to find that out. If there's a mix you really like, why is that? If there's a song you really like, what made it so good? If there's a strange instrument, what is that strange instrument? So listening is very important.

Reading. Staying up to date with anything from magazines like SoundOnSound to forums like VI-Control which is where all the film/TV composers hang out. There are also great topics of discussion there. I learn a tremendous amount from those forums.

Probably the third thing is to find a mentor of some kind. I'm fortunate to have a lot of people around me who are in the business, who are very willing to help, whether it's Steve Horelick who lives in the next town over who can help me with all my Logic questions to some great composers and film/TV people. I'll often pick up the phone and ask them a question. Also, when I started out I did a lot of work for free just to learn. Without going to a school or anything, sometimes you can learn more by being thrown into a project.

So educating yourself, whether it's listening, reading or talking to people, who know the biz so to speak, is incredibly helpful as well as watching all the videos at macProVideo.com!

And did you find that when you started out you were basically knocking on a lot of doors and trying to do work for free?

I'm still knocking on a lot of doors although I'm not doing much for free anymore. But yes, I took on a lot of student projects that were great learning experiences. I had some projects with horrible sound and I just had to do something with them... or just atrocious films that I had to write a score for... and you learn! But, if you don't have access to a university with film students around then there's plenty of stuff on YouTube or out on the web that you can just take and for your own purposes... erase the sound and put your own score on it. (Just for practice). That really, really helps.

There's a communication aspect to this business that people often ignore. The idea that you're working with directors and producers who may not be as familiar with music as you are. They don't understand what technology you're using. They don't understand, you know, major and minor and what a bridge is and whatever. You have to find out a way to communicate with that person because that person is your boss, your employer. If you do a good job you're making your work better, whether it's your score or your mix... it's critical that you realize you're working on behalf of their vision.

So the way to talk to people is very important and you get that practice by doing projects and you find out how far you can push your ideas before you have to back-off. You find out when they tell you they don't like something... you have to find out ways of asking them why they don't like it, where they may not have the same language that you have to describe something. It becomes a very important learning experience on how to communicate with these people.

Thank you. So I noticed another film you've done recently has received critical acclaim across the world called "Budrus". Can you tell us a little about that project?

Sure. I was asked to do the mix for Budrus. This is a case where I did the complete sound mix, dialogue, effects - although it's a documentary so there aren't any effects - and of course music. It's in Hebrew, Arabic and English which makes it very tricky to do a sound mix because you have to make sure you're not cutting off something that's important in one language that's not important in English.

Since it's a documentary, you don't have the luxury of having multiple takes to go back to. If there's an explosion in the background and you have someone speaking over the top of it you've got to use that and you have to find a way to make it work. So it's a real challenge.

It's a great project. Budrus is a film about Palestinians who are protesting the Israeli occupation in a non-violent way. It's a great message to show that there can be non-violent protests for various causes or conflicts throughout the world. I'm a big supporter of non-violent protests so it's great to be able to do something I love for a project that I care a lot about.

The film has been getting a lot of acclaim. It's been shown in Congress, in the United States. It's been shown all over the world, including all over the Middle East. I think it's getting a lot of people talking which is the best thing. Whether you agree with everything in the film or not it gets people discussing it and anything that promotes non-violence I think is a good thing!

... Link to Part 2 of this interview (coming soon) will appear here. Amongst other things, Scott candidly talks about his studio, the Beatles and more...

To discover more about Scott Freiman's Pro Tools, Native Instruments and Reason tutorials check out his trainer page.

For more info on Scott Freiman the composer and to hear his music visit this site.

Rounik Sethi

Rounik Sethi | Articles by this author

Rounik is the Executive Editor for AskAudioMag.com & the quarterly print magazine by the same name. As an Apple Certified Trainer for Logic (and a self-confessed Mac fanatic) he's taught teachers, professional musicians and hobbyists how to get the best out of Apple's creative software. He is a Visiting lecturer at Bath Spa University's Teacher training program, facilitating workshops on using music and digital media tools in the classroom. If you're looking for Rounik, you'll most likely find him (and his articles) on AskAudioMag.com & macProVideo.com.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2014 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link