X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close

الوصول الحر بريميوم

وصول إلى مكتبة والمواد برمتها محور بريميوم ، ملفات المشاريع ، وأول 10 ٪ من كل فيديو تعليمي من دروس المكتبة على الانترنت .

إنشاء حسابك المجاني الآن!

مقابلة الميزة : سكوت Freiman -- الجزء 1
ترجم من قبل مترجم جوجل

أفلام 3D كلها الغضب. ولكن ما كل ما في الأمر أن يؤلف ، أو إعادة خلط مزيج من الموسيقى لفيلم 3D؟ في الواقع ، وليس فقط أي فيلم 3D ، ولكن تم إنشاؤها مؤخرا "وحوش الطائر" من قبل ديفيد أتينبورو الأسطوري ؟ Freiman سكوت والملحن والمهندس وخلط إإكستروردينير المدرب انتهى لتوه من خلطا الوحوش الطائرة واستغرق بعض الوقت التدريجي لتبادل الخبرات حول له سكايب.

في الجزء الأول من هذا نورانية جزئين المقابلة ، وصف سكوت نهجه لتطويق سليمة خلط ويؤلف ، والحصول على تنظيمها خلال هذا المزيج ، وتدفق العمل التحديات التي ينطوي عليها العيش مع الصكوك خلط العينات في بعض الأفلام البارزة. سكوت كما يكشف أسراره لاقتحام السينما وعالم الإعلام المرئي والملحن والمهندس الاختلاط. القراءة لمعرفة المزيد...

الاستماع والقراءة

تريد الجلوس والاستماع إلى مقابلة مع Freiman سكوت؟ لا مشكلة! هنا التسجيلات الأصلية للمتعة الاستماع لديك! اسمحوا لنا أن نعرف في هذه التعليقات إذا كنت تتمتع لديها للاستماع إلى الصوت!

تسجيل 1 : [الصوت معرف = "579"]

تسجيل 2 : [الصوت معرف = "580"]

تسجيل 3 : [الصوت معرف = "581"]

تسجيل 4 : [الصوت معرف = "582"]

تسجيل 5 : [الصوت معرف = "583"]


Hi Scott, thanks for making the time to do this interview (just two days after Christmas!)
No problem! Glad to be a part of it.

كنت أنت معروفة في أوساط الجمهور macProVideo لجهودكم الممتازة Pro أدوات ، الآلات الأصلية والبرامج التعليمية السبب . ما هو التركيز الموسيقية الخاصة بك عندما كنت لا خلق برامج تعليمية للmacProVideo؟

حسنا ، أنا أميل إلى التركيز على الموسيقى للسينما والتلفزيون ، على الرغم من أنني لا أحب كتابة الأغنية في بعض الأحيان وعندما أعمل مع السينما والتلفزيون الأنواع يمكن في جميع أنحاء الخريطة. أستطيع أن أفعل شيئا اوركسترا جدا ، مع الكثير من العينات اوركسترا... في بعض الأحيان مع أوركسترا حية... شيء ما في بعض الأحيان أكثر الإلكترونية ، أكثر 'dancey. انها حقا يتوقف على ما دعا إليه. حتى عندما أكون يؤلف اسمحوا لي حقا الفيديو تملي على غرار ما لي أنني يجب أن تكون الكتابة فيها.

فما هو نهجكم الإبداعي؟ لقد لاحظت أنك وسجل (الموسيقى) ل "الحياة" و "وحوش الطائر" من قبل ديفيد أتينبورو...

لم أكن درجة حوش الطيران ، أنا مختلطة تماما. لم أكن جزءا من الحياة النتيجة ، والتي في امريكا مع أوبرا وينفري. وكانت إعادة لم يسجل كله في أمريكا وهو كيف حصلت على بعض العمل للخروج منه. استأجروا أصلا لي أن أفعل هذا المزيج الموسيقي وجميع يمزج المجسم. كان لديهم الكثير من الملحنين تعمل على ذلك وسجل مشاهد مختلفة.

هناك أزمة وقتا كبيرا والكثير من الملحنين والنشر. لذا كنت جعل الناس يعملون في ابوك ، كان الأداء الرقمي ، Pro أدوات ، المنطق ، ولا أحد باستخدام عينات متناسقة. لم يكن أحد ارسال حقا في الأشياء بطريقة متناسقة. وأصبح ذلك وظيفتي الكثير من تحرير الموسيقى والكثير من خلط للتأكد من أن جميع العينات التي استخدمناها كانت جيدة كما سبر عينات الآخرين. ومن ثم كان علينا أيضا أن تعيش الأوركسترا التي تم تسجيلها في الجمهورية التشيكية (من قبل غاري تشيستر الأسطوري) ، لذلك الكثير من المرات كنا نعيش مع الاوركسترا خلط قرع عينات وغيرها من الأصوات ، ثم أخذ عينات تفعل كل هذا في 5.1. كان الكثير من المرح. عليك أن تكون قادرا على القيام جيدة 5،1 مزيج هذا سيفيد ايضا حسن الصوت في ستيريو.

خلال هذا المشروع طلبوا مني أن يؤلف بعض الموسيقى لأنها لذلك كنت محظوظا بما فيه الكفاية للقيام بذلك. المشروع الأول انتهى لتوه من فيلم لاول مرة هذا بالأمس فقط (26 ديسمبر 2010) في محطة سكاي التلفزيونية 3D ، القناة روبرت مردوخ ، التي يطلق عليها "وحوش الطائر". انها سوف تكون في دور السينما آيماكس الكبيرة وكما هو الحال في أوائل عام 2011. لقد فعلت ذلك لتطويق لهذا المزيج الذي كان رائعا. والنتيجة التي

هل لديك أي نصائح حول كيفية خلط الاوركسترا الحية والصكوك عينات؟ يجب أن يكون تحديا كبيرا!

نعم ، انه هو! الشيء أن تبدأ الذي يعمل بالنسبة لي ، سواء كان ابن المغني وكاتب الاغاني الخلط أو المزج نقاط التلفزيون ، هي الأولى التي تقوم فيها للاستماع إلى الموسيقى ، وكنت بحاجة إلى خلط ننسى للحظة ومجرد الاستماع إلى ما هناك. ثم معرفة ما هي أجزاء من الموسيقى التي تحتاج إلى مساعدة. كيف لهذا الترتيب المكاني والتوازن من الصكوك. وأحاول دائما وتقسيم التحرير والاختلاط.

أجد أنه إذا حاولت تحرير وبينما كنت الاختلاط ، لذلك إذا كنت تأخذ من مذكرة سيئة في منتصف خليط ، انها تقريبا مثل الجانبان انه من الدماغ. لذا أود أن تحرير كل شيء ، وتأكد من أن تصطف كل من بلدي يبدأ وينتهي... عند تسجيل اوركسترا لديك حساب في ال... في نهاية القطعة قد يكون لديك شخص يبدأ الحديث ، ولذا فإنني تقليم جميع هؤلاء. أتأكد إذا كان هناك أي شخص لعبت مذكرة خاطئ يمكنني الحصول عليه من هناك... إذا كان هناك عينات التي تم استخدامها ، وهناك فترات طويلة من الصمت... سأفعل كل ما بوسعي للحصول عليه تنظيف وبعد ذلك سوف نبدأ في المزيج.

للبدء في مزيج سأبدأ مع قليلا من التوازن العام ، والتأكد من الصكوك هي في المواقع الصحيحة ونسبيا في التوازن مع ما أريد منهم. لذا لم يكن لديك سلاسل بلدي بصوت عال جدا ، والنحاس بلدي منخفض جدا والحلقات بي بعيدا في الأمام وهكذا دواليك. ومن ثم يمكن أن أبدأ التغيير والتبديل. بحيث يصبح الجزء التالي في معرفة ذلك (على سبيل المثال) في حلقات قرع أن الملحن وضعت في الجزء التشيلو واشتبكوا في نطاق نفس التردد. قد أحتاج لاقامة قليلا من الطيف الترددي من واحد أو الآخر.

أنا لا تميل إلى استخدام الكثير من الضغط وEQ إلا عند الضرورة. أنا لست واحدا من هؤلاء الرجال الذين يبدأ وضع الاشياء في كل مكان. اذا كان تسجيل جيدة (ولقد كنت محظوظة للعمل مع بعض التسجيلات جيدة) ثم لا يجب أن تفعل الكثير. إذا تم وضع ميكروفون جيدا ، واللاعبين كانت جيدة ، وكنت تستخدم الحلقات جيدة ، ثم انه لا يدعو الى الكثير من مكافئ. وينبغي أن تستخدم بشكل مقتصد EQ وينبغي حقا أن تستخدم حيث توجد صراعات أو حيث كنت حقا بحاجة الى ابراز جزء من الطيف الترددي لتحسين جودة الصوت. ذلك أن هذا النوع من النهج العام وأغتنم.

ذكرتم أنكم كنتم الاختلاط في 5.1 كذلك. كان ذلك عن وحوش الطائر الذي يتم عرضه في دور السينما آيماكس؟

انها في نهاية هذا الاسبوع على شاشة التلفزيون على شاشة التلفزيون 3D السماء. انها المرة الاولى 3D "من صنع لتلفزيون فيلم" . لقد بنيت للتلفزيون قناة سكاي 3D وبعد ذلك سوف يكون في آيماكس المسارح في وقت لاحق. لذلك نحن مزجه لتطويق لكننا أيضا توفير ستيريو يمزج كذلك.

انها مثيرة للاهتمام انه في 3D. عندما كنت أشاهد البرنامج قبل (أو خلال) الاختلاط لم تشاهد في 3D؟

للأسف ، لم أحصل على ذلك. لم يمزج الموسيقى وبعثت إلى لندن حيث كانت مختلطة في الحوار ومع أي آثار أخرى خاصة. انهم يعملون على مسرح الصوت مع جعل 3D الكاملة. كان لدي نسخة أولية ، لذلك رأيت المخططات والرسومات وأطر الكثير من المخلوقات 3D. ولكن العمل 3D (كان) الذي تقوم به بعض الناس أن العمل في نفس الرمزية ، لذلك لا استطيع الانتظار لرؤية ذلك بنفسي!

كما يتم فحص الطائرة في حوش 3D وبالنسبة للتلفزيون وIMAX... ما كان لديك عملية محاكاة ما (المزيج) وتبدو في بيئة مسرح آيماكس؟

كذلك ، فإن حقيقة الأمر هي أن سيفعل ذلك المزيج IMAX في الشهر المقبل أو نحو ذلك. وسوف يأخذون مزيج بلدي الموسيقى ومن ثم سنفعل مزيج IMAX معينة لأن آيماكس المسارح تميل إلى أن تكون أكثر المتكلمين ، وهكذا دواليك. لذا ، فإنني لم تفعل هذا المزيج الموسيقي النهائي لذلك. ما نقوم به عند إعداد هذا المزيج هو بضعة أشياء :

أولا وقبل كل استوديو مهما كنت تعمل في (في هذه الحالة الألغام) لابد من ضبطها بشكل صحيح. لديك للتأكد من أن ما كنت السمع دقيقة. مكبرات الصوت الذي تستخدمه ، موضع المتكلم ، والمحير الصوت في الاستوديو ، وهكذا دواليك. لديك للتأكد من أن ما كنت السمع ستكون دقيقة وسوف تترجم إلى استوديوهات أخرى. أنا دائما التأكد من قبل أن تبدأ مشروعا أنني المزدوج تحقق كل ما عندي من المعايرة.

ثم عندما كنت مزيج لدي مستويات معينة ، وهكذا دواليك لأنني الهدف ، مع العلم أنه عندما يختلط مع الموسيقى في الحوار الذي قد يدفع إلى أسفل الموسيقى ، أنا الخلط كما لو أنها ليست سوى تسجيل الموسيقى.

عندما كنت أعمل على فيلم حيث أقوم به أيضا مؤثرات صوتية ، وغرفة لهجة الحوار الخ ، ثم وأنا مزيج من الموسيقى مع كل شيء آخر. ولكن في هذه الحالة بالذات للحوش الطائر كانت مهمتي لجعل صوت الموسيقى جيدة بقدر الامكان ، والمباراة النهائية إعادة تسجيل خلاط وذلك في مزيج مع كل شيء آخر.

أنا تقديم مزيج خلاط 5.1 ، مزيج ستيريو ثم أقدمها ينبع عدة. لذا فإنني سوف يقدم اوركسترا الجذعية ، وربما آلات النفخ ، وربما من النحاس الأصفر ، وربما الحلقات ، وقرع ربما ، لوحات المفاتيح والعود وهكذا دواليك. انها حقا يتوقف ، ولكن سأحاول وتوحيد لمدة المشروع. أن يعطي خلاط النهائي المرونة اللازمة لتحقيق شيء ما أو الخروج حسب الحاجة. إذا كان الأمر كذلك وجدوا أن يسجل الأصوات اوركسترا كبيرة حتى لديهم انفجارا كبيرا وانهم يريدون ان يرفعه قرع قليلا ، لديهم وقف قرع منفصلة ، ويمكن الحصول على هذا العنصر. لذا تأكد من أن الملفات أعطي للخلاط النهائي منحهم بعض المرونة.

والشيء الأخير ، بغض النظر عما تفعله... اصطلاحات التسمية ، بنية الدليل ، وتنظيم. كل ذلك هو في غاية الأهمية ، لأنه لا يوجد شيء أسوأ من أن يتم في بيئة حيث لا شيء اسمه بشكل صحيح ، لا يمكنك العثور على الملفات وأشياء مفقودة! لديك للتأكد من أن يسمى كل شيء تفعلونه والحق في directorys الحق وهكذا دواليك.

أحد الأشياء التي تحدث مع بعض غربان الزرع مثل أدوات برو هو شخص ما يمنحك القرص مع بعض الملفات عليه ، عليك أن تبدأ التحرير وأدوات برو هو إنقاذ الطفيفة الخاص بك على هذا القرص منفصلة. القرص يذهب بعيدا وفجأة بعض الملفات مفقودة. أفعل دائما حفظ نسخة في الدورة Pro أدوات للتأكد من أنني جمعت ، ليس فقط في الدورة ، ولكن كل الملفات المرتبطة الصوت. عليك أن تفعل الشيء نفسه في المنطق وغيرها من البرامج كذلك. يجب التأكد من أن كل شيء هناك شخص ويجب أن تكون قادرة على إلقاء نظرة على أسماء الملفات ورؤية واضحة جدا في كيفية وضع كل شيء.

ذكرت ذلك لكم خلط إعادة التسجيل. ويمكن لصالح جمهورنا تفسرون ما دور خلاط إعادة تسجيل هو ضد خالط الصوت؟

بالتأكيد. على مشروع فيلم أو التلفزيون -- وهو أكبر مشروع -- سيكون لديك كثيرا من الناس الذين يتحملون المسؤولية لمجرد الحوار الاختلاط ، والناس مسؤولة فقط عن الموسيقى أو غيرهم من المسؤولين لمجرد مؤثرات صوتية وهكذا دواليك. في نهاية سلسلة من شخص ما ان يضع كل ذلك معا. هذا هو عادة دور خلاط إعادة التسجيل. عندما أعمل في أفلام أصغر إيندي أنا كل هؤلاء الناس! أنا مزيج موسيقاي ، ثم وضعها في تحرير ومن ثم الحوار والمؤثرات الصوتية.

ولكن ، على أكبر المشاريع لدينا فرق من الناس. إذا نظرت من أي وقت مضى على اعتمادات على أحد أفلام هوليوود يمكنك ان ترى ان الادارة السليمة هائل في نهاية المطاف وهذا الصوت للحصول على والمختلطة وغير المختلطة عادة في مجموعات مثل التي ذكرتها. ثم يتم وضع هذه المجموعات النهائي معا في الاستوديو لجعل المزيج النهائي للفيلم.

ما هي النصيحة التي تعطيها لمن يريد الشروع في التهديف الوظيفي للفيلم / التلفزيون أو التورط كمهندس للخلط وسائل الإعلام المرئية؟

حسنا ، بضعة أشياء. رقم واحد ، مهما كنت تفعل مع الموسيقى يجب أن يسمع. مشاهدة الأفلام والاستماع إلى الموسيقى أو مشاهدة التلفزيون أو وضعت على أقراص مدمجة والاستماع الى المؤلفين مختلفة. هل تعلم من خلال الاستماع. يمكنك ضبط أذنيك ولكنك أيضا معرفة الأشياء التي تريدها وأنت لا يحبون. وإذا كان هناك مزيج ان كنت حقا لا تحب أن يزعجك... لماذا هو؟ عليك أن تجد أنه من أصل. إذا كان هناك مزيج كنت حقا مثل ، لماذا؟ إذا كان هناك أغنية تريد حقا ، ما جعل ذلك جيدا؟ إذا كان هناك أداة غريبة ، ما هو غريب هذا الصك؟ الاستماع لذلك مهم جدا.

القراءة. البقاء حتى موعد مع شيء من المجلات مثل SoundOnSound إلى محافل مثل سادسا : التحكم الذي هو فيه كل فيلم / التلفزيون الملحنين شنق. هناك أيضا مواضيع كبير من النقاش هناك. أتعلم كم هائل من تلك المحافل.

ربما كان الشيء الثالث هو العثور على معلمه من نوع ما. أنا محظوظ لديهم الكثير من الناس من حولي الذين هم في الأعمال التجارية ، والذين هم على استعداد للغاية للمساعدة ، سواء كان ستيف Horelick الذي يعيش في بلدة المقبل حول من يستطيع مساعدتي مع جميع الأسئلة المنطق جهدي لبعض الملحنين وعظيم فيلم / الشعب التلفزيون. أنا غالبا ما تختار رفع سماعة الهاتف وتطلب منهم سؤالا. أيضا ، عندما كنت بدأت فعلت الكثير من العمل مجانا لمجرد التعلم. دون الذهاب الى المدرسة أو أي شيء ، وأحيانا يمكنك معرفة المزيد من خلال رمي في المشروع.

تثقيف نفسك بذلك ، سواء كان ذلك في الاستماع والقراءة أو التحدث إلى الناس ، الذين يعرفون بيز اذا جاز التعبير ، من المفيد بشكل لا يصدق ، وكذلك مشاهدة أشرطة الفيديو في جميع macProVideo.com !

ولم تجد أنه عندما بدأت كنت يطرق أساسا على الكثير من الأبواب وتحاول ان تفعل العمل مجانا؟

ابن يطرق تزال على الكثير من الأبواب على الرغم من انني لا تفعل الكثير مجانا بعد الآن. لكن نعم ، لقد أخذت على الكثير من المشاريع الطلابية التي كانت كبيرة خبرات التعلم. كان لي بعض المشاريع مع الصوت الرهيب ، وأود فقط أن تفعل شيئا معهم... أو أفلام عادل البشعة التي كان لي أن أكتب عن النتيجة... وأنت تعلم! ولكن ، إذا لم يكن لديك الوصول إلى الجامعة مع الطلاب حول الفيلم ثم هناك الكثير من الاشياء على YouTube أو من على شبكة الإنترنت التي يمكنك اتخاذها للتو ، ولأغراض خاصة بك... مسح الصوت ، ووضع النقاط الخاصة بك على ذلك. (فقط للممارسة). هذا حقا ، حقا يساعد.

هناك جوانب الاتصالات لهذه الأعمال أن الناس غالبا ما تتجاهل. الفكرة التي كنت تعمل مع المخرجين والمنتجين الذين قد لا تكون مألوفة كما هو الحال مع الموسيقى كما كنت. انهم لا يفهمون ما كنت تستخدم التكنولوجيا. انهم لا يفهمون ، كما تعلمون ، الكبرى والصغرى وما هو جسر وأيا كان. عليك أن تجد طريقة للتواصل مع هذا الشخص لأن هذا الشخص هو رئيسك في العمل ، رب عملك. إذا قمت بعمل جيد كنت تريد ان تجعل عملك بشكل أفضل ، سواء كانت درجاتك أو المزيج الخاص بك... من المهم جدا ان كنت أدرك كنت تعمل نيابة عن رؤيتهم.

لذلك فالطريق إلى التحدث مع الناس مهم جدا وتحصل على تلك الممارسة عن طريق القيام بالمشاريع وتكتشف إلى أي مدى يمكنك دفع أفكارك قبل تضطر إلى العودة حالا. تكتشف عندما اقول لكم انهم لا يحبون شيئا... لديك لمعرفة السبل الكفيلة لماذا يطلب منهم أنهم لا يحبون ذلك ، حيث قد لا يكون بنفس اللغة التي لديك لوصف شيء. يصبح من المهم جدا تجربة التعلم على كيفية التواصل مع هؤلاء الناس.

شكرا لك. لذلك أنا لاحظت فيلم آخر قمت به مؤخرا تلقت اشادة من النقاد في جميع أنحاء العالم يسمى "بدرس". هل لك أن تخبرنا قليلا عن هذا المشروع؟

بالتأكيد. لقد طلب مني القيام المزيج ل بدرس . هذا هو حال فعلت هذا المزيج سليمة كاملة ، والحوار ، والآثار -- على الرغم من أنه فيلم وثائقي لذلك لم تكن هناك أي آثار -- وبالطبع من الموسيقى. انها بالعبرية والعربية والانكليزية مما يجعلها صعبة للغاية للقيام مزيج الصوت لأنه لديك للتأكد من أنك لا يقطع شيء مهم في لغة واحدة وهذا ليس المهم في اللغة الإنجليزية.

نظرا لأنه فيلم وثائقي ، لم يكن لديك متسع من وجود العديد من يأخذ على العودة إليها. اذا كان هناك انفجار في الخلفية وكان لديك أكثر من شخص يتحدث أعلى من ذلك كنت قد حصلت على استخدام ذلك وعليك أن تجد طريقة لجعلها العمل. لذلك هو التحدي الحقيقي.

إنه مشروع كبير. بدرس هو فيلم عن الفلسطينيين الذين كانوا يحتجون على الاحتلال الإسرائيلي بطريقة غير عنيفة. انها رسالة رائعة لاظهار أنه لا يمكن أن تكون الاحتجاجات غير العنيفة لأسباب مختلفة أو الصراعات في جميع أنحاء العالم. أنا مؤيد كبير من الاحتجاجات غير العنيفة حتى انه لشيء رائع أن تكون قادرا على القيام بشيء ما أحب لأحد المشاريع التي أهتم كثيرا عنه.

وقد تم الحصول على الفيلم الكثير من المديح. لقد ثبت في الكونغرس ، في الولايات المتحدة. لقد ثبت في جميع أنحاء العالم ، بما في ذلك جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط. أعتقد أنه من الحصول على الكثير من الناس يتحدثون والذي هو أفضل شيء. إذا كنت أتفق مع كل شيء في الفيلم أم لا يحصل الناس مناقشته وأي شيء يعزز اللاعنف أعتقد أنه أمر جيد!

... وسوف تصل إلى الجزء 2 من هذه المقابلة (قريبا) تظهر هنا. من بين أمور أخرى ، سكوت محادثات صريحة حول مرسمه ، والبيتلز والمزيد...

لاكتشاف المزيد حول أدوات سكوت Freiman برو ، الآلات الأصلية والبرامج التعليمية السبب راجع صفحة مدربه .

لمزيد من المعلومات حول Freiman سكوت الملحن والاستماع إلى موسيقاه زيارة هذا الموقع .

Rounik Sethi

Rounik Sethi | Articles by this author

Rounik is the Executive Editor for Ask.Audio & macProVideo. He's built a crack team of professional musicians and writers to create one of the most visited online resources for news, review, tutorials and interviews for modern musician and producer. As an Apple Certified Trainer for Logic Pro Rounik has taught teachers, professional musicians and hobbyists how to get the best out of Apple's creative software. He has been a visiting lecturer at Bath Spa University's Teacher training program, facilitating workshops on using music and digital media tools in the classroom. If you're looking for Rounik, you'll most likely find him (and his articles) on Ask.Audio & macProVideo.com.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2018 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link

Going on Holidays?

TAKE IT WITH YOU!

Get a Library Pass and all Downloads are just $999

JULY ONLY

To learn more, check out our

Plans & Pricing
(Close)
Forgot password?
AskAudio Magazine
Join Now! Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close

Join macProVideo.com

Access free tutorial videos, premium articles and project files.

Share this article with friends!

Feature Interview: Scott Freiman - Part 1

3D Movies are all the rage. But what's it like to compose, mix or re-mix the music for a 3D film? In fact, not just any 3D film, but the recently created "Flying Monsters" by the legendary David Attenborough? Scott Freiman, composer, mixing engineer and trainer extraordinaire just finished up mixing Flying Monsters and took some time-out to share his experiences over Skype.

In the first part of this illuminating two-part interview, Scott describes his approach to surround sound mixing and composing, getting organized during the mix and the work flow challenges involved in mixing live instruments with samples on some high profile films. Scott also reveals his secrets for breaking into the film and visual media world as a composer and mixing engineer. Read on to find out more...

Listen and Read

Want to sit back and listen to the interview with Scott Freiman? No problem! Here are the original recordings for your listening pleasure! Let us know in the comments if you enjoy having the audio to listen to!

Recording 1:

Recording 2:

Recording 3:

Recording 4:

Recording 5:


Hi Scott, thanks for making the time to do this interview (just two days after Christmas!)
No problem! Glad to be a part of it.

You're well known amongst the macProVideo audience for your excellent Pro Tools, Native Instruments and Reason tutorials. What is your musical focus when you're not creating tutorials for macProVideo?

Well, I tend to focus on music for film and television, although I do like writing the occasional song and when I'm working with film and TV the genres can be all over the map. I can do something very orchestral, with a lot of orchestral samples... sometimes with live orchestra... sometimes something more electronic, more 'dancey'. It really depends on what's called for. So when I'm composing I really let the video dictate to me what style I should be writing in.

So what's your creative approach? I noticed that you scored (the music) for "Life" and "Flying Monsters" by David Attenborough...

I didn't score Flying Monsters, I just mixed that. I did score part of Life, which in America is with Oprah Winfrey. And they re-did the whole score in America which is how I got some work out of it. They originally hired me to do the music mix and all the surround mixes. They had a lot of composers working on it and scoring different scenes.

There was a big time crunch and a lot of composers were enlisted. So you were getting people working in Cubase, Digital Performer, Pro Tools, Logic, and no one was using consistent samples. No one was really sending things in in a consistent manner. So my job became a lot of music editing and a lot of mixing to make sure that all the samples we used were sounding as good as other people's samples. And then we also had a live orchestra that was recorded in the Czech Republic (by the legendary Gary Chester), so a lot of times we were mixing live orchestra with sampled percussion and other sampled sounds and then doing this all in 5.1. It was a lot of fun. You need to be able to do a good 5.1 mix that also will sound good in stereo.

During the course of this project they asked me to compose some music for it so I was lucky enough to do that. The project I just completed is a film that just premiered yesterday (26th December 2010) on Sky TV 3D, Rupert Murdoch's channel, it's called "Flying Monsters". It'll be out in the big IMAX cinemas and the like in early 2011. I did a surround mix for that which was just wonderful. The score was by Joel Douek and it was a combined orchestral score with the orchestra recorded in the Czech Republic and sampled instruments: percussion and loops, etc. It was just a blast to mix that.

Do you have any tips on how to mix a live orchestra and sampled instruments? It must be quite a challenge!

Yes, it is! The thing to start with which works for me, whether I'm mixing a singer songwriter or mixing a TV Score, is first you have to listen to the music and you need to forget about mixing for a moment and just listen to what's there. Then figure out what are the parts of the music that need help. How's the spatial arrangement and balance of the instruments. And I always try and divide up editing and mixing.

I find that if you try and edit while you're mixing, so if you're taking out a bad note in the middle of a mix, it's almost like it's two sides of the brain. So I like to edit everything and make sure that all of my starts and ends are lined up... When recording an orchestra you have count in's... at the end of the piece you may have people who start talking, so I trim all those. I make sure if there's anyone who's played a wrong note I get it out of there... If there's samples that have been used and there are long periods of silence... I'll do everything I can to get it cleaned up and then I'll begin to mix.

To begin the mix I'll start with a little bit of overall balance, making sure the instruments are in the right locations and are relatively in balance with where I want them. So I don't have my strings too loud, my brass too low and my loops too far in front and so forth. And then I can start tweaking. So the next part becomes figuring out that (for example) the percussion loops that the composer put in and the cello part are clashing in the same frequency range. I might need to carve out a little of the frequency spectrum from one or the other.

I tend not to use a lot of compression and EQ except where necessary. I'm not one of those guys who starts putting that stuff all over the place. If it's a good recording (and I've been fortunate to work with some good recordings) then you shouldn't have to do a lot. If Mic placement was done well, the players were good, the loops you are using are good, then it doesn't call for a lot of EQ. EQ should be used sparingly and it should really be used where there are conflicts or where you really need to bring out some part of the frequency spectrum to enhance the quality of the sound. So that's the sort of overall approach I take.

You mentioned that you were mixing in 5.1 as well. Was that for Flying Monsters, which is being shown at IMAX cinemas?

It's on TV this weekend on Sky 3D TV. It's the first 3D 'made-for-TV-film'. It's been built for the Sky 3D TV channel and then it will be in IMAX theaters later. So we mixed it for surround but we also provided stereo mixes as well.

It's interesting that it's in 3D. When you were watching the program before (or during) mixing did you watch it in 3D?

Unfortunately, I didn't get to. The music mixes I did were sent to London where it was mixed in with the dialogue and any other special effects. They were working on a sound stage with the full 3D rendering. I had a preliminary version, so I saw the sketches and the schematics and the frameworks of a lot of the 3D creatures. But the 3D work (was) being done by some of the same people that work on Avatar, so I can't wait to see it myself!

As Flying Monsters is being screened in 3D and for TV and for IMAX... what was your process for emulating what it (the mix) would sound like in an IMAX theater environment?

Well, the truth of the matter is that the IMAX mix will do done in the next month or so. They will take my music mix and then we'll do a specific IMAX mix because IMAX theaters tend to have more speakers and so forth. So, I haven't done the final music mix for that. What we did when we prepared the mix is a couple of things:

First of all whatever studio you're working in (in this case mine) has to be tuned properly. You have to make sure that what you're hearing is accurate. The speakers you're using, the speaker placement, the audio baffling in the studio and so forth. You have to make sure that what you're hearing is going to be accurate and is going to translate to other studios. I always make sure before I start a project that I double-check all my calibrations.

Then when I mix I have certain levels and so forth that I aim for, knowing that when the music gets mixed with the dialogue they might push the music down, I'm mixing as if it's only a music score.

When I'm working on a film where I'm also doing sound effects, room tone and dialogue etc, then I will mix the music with everything else. But in this particular case for Flying Monsters my job was to make the music sound as good as possible and the final Re-Recording Mixer would mix that in with everything else.

I provide the Mixer a 5.1 mix, a stereo mix and then I provide several stems. So I'll provide an orchestral stem, maybe a woodwind, maybe a brass, maybe a loops, maybe percussion, keyboards, harp, so forth. It really depends, but I'll try and standardize it for a project. That gives the final Mixer the flexibility to bring something in or out as needed. So if they find that the orchestral score sounds great until they have the big explosion and they want to bump up the percussion a little bit, they have a separate percussion stem and they can get access to that element. So I make sure that the files I give to the final Mixer give them some flexibility.

And the final thing, no matter what you're doing... The naming conventions, the directory structure, the organization. All of that is absolutely critical, because there's nothing worse that being in an environment where things aren't named properly, you can't find files and things are missing! You have to make sure that everything you're doing is named right and in the right directorys and so forth.

One of the things that happens with some DAWs like Pro Tools is someone gives you a disc with some files on it, you start editing and Pro Tools is saving your edits onto that separate disc. The disc goes away and all of a sudden some of your files are missing. I always do a Save Session Copy in Pro Tools to make sure I've gathered, not only the session, but all the associated audio files. You have to do the same thing in Logic and other programs as well. You must make sure that everything is there and someone should be able to look at the file names and see very clearly how everything is laid out.

So you mentioned the re-recording mixing. For the benefit of our audience can you explain what the role of a Re-Recording Mixer is vs a Sound Mixer?

Sure. On a film or TV project - a larger project - you'll often have people who are just responsible for mixing dialogue, and people just responsible for music or others just responsible for sound effects and so forth. At the end of the chain someone has to put it all together. That is typically the role of the Re-Recording Mixer. When I work on smaller Indie films I'm all of those people! I mix my music, then put it in and then edit the dialogue and the sound effects.

But, on bigger projects we have teams of people. If you ever look at the credits on a Hollywood film you can see that the sound department is massive and ultimately that sound has to get mixed and it's usually mixed in groups like I mentioned. Then those final groups are put together in the studio to make the final mix for the film.

What advice would you give to anyone who wants to embark on a career scoring for film/TV or becoming involved as a Mixing Engineer for visual media?

Well, a couple of things. Number one, whatever you're doing with music you must listen. Watch films and listen to the music or watch TV or put on CD's and listen to different composers. You learn by listening. You tune your ears but you also find out things you like and you don't like. And if there's a mix that you really don't like that bothers you... Why is it? You need to find that out. If there's a mix you really like, why is that? If there's a song you really like, what made it so good? If there's a strange instrument, what is that strange instrument? So listening is very important.

Reading. Staying up to date with anything from magazines like SoundOnSound to forums like VI-Control which is where all the film/TV composers hang out. There are also great topics of discussion there. I learn a tremendous amount from those forums.

Probably the third thing is to find a mentor of some kind. I'm fortunate to have a lot of people around me who are in the business, who are very willing to help, whether it's Steve Horelick who lives in the next town over who can help me with all my Logic questions to some great composers and film/TV people. I'll often pick up the phone and ask them a question. Also, when I started out I did a lot of work for free just to learn. Without going to a school or anything, sometimes you can learn more by being thrown into a project.

So educating yourself, whether it's listening, reading or talking to people, who know the biz so to speak, is incredibly helpful as well as watching all the videos at macProVideo.com!

And did you find that when you started out you were basically knocking on a lot of doors and trying to do work for free?

I'm still knocking on a lot of doors although I'm not doing much for free anymore. But yes, I took on a lot of student projects that were great learning experiences. I had some projects with horrible sound and I just had to do something with them... or just atrocious films that I had to write a score for... and you learn! But, if you don't have access to a university with film students around then there's plenty of stuff on YouTube or out on the web that you can just take and for your own purposes... erase the sound and put your own score on it. (Just for practice). That really, really helps.

There's a communication aspect to this business that people often ignore. The idea that you're working with directors and producers who may not be as familiar with music as you are. They don't understand what technology you're using. They don't understand, you know, major and minor and what a bridge is and whatever. You have to find out a way to communicate with that person because that person is your boss, your employer. If you do a good job you're making your work better, whether it's your score or your mix... it's critical that you realize you're working on behalf of their vision.

So the way to talk to people is very important and you get that practice by doing projects and you find out how far you can push your ideas before you have to back-off. You find out when they tell you they don't like something... you have to find out ways of asking them why they don't like it, where they may not have the same language that you have to describe something. It becomes a very important learning experience on how to communicate with these people.

Thank you. So I noticed another film you've done recently has received critical acclaim across the world called "Budrus". Can you tell us a little about that project?

Sure. I was asked to do the mix for Budrus. This is a case where I did the complete sound mix, dialogue, effects - although it's a documentary so there aren't any effects - and of course music. It's in Hebrew, Arabic and English which makes it very tricky to do a sound mix because you have to make sure you're not cutting off something that's important in one language that's not important in English.

Since it's a documentary, you don't have the luxury of having multiple takes to go back to. If there's an explosion in the background and you have someone speaking over the top of it you've got to use that and you have to find a way to make it work. So it's a real challenge.

It's a great project. Budrus is a film about Palestinians who are protesting the Israeli occupation in a non-violent way. It's a great message to show that there can be non-violent protests for various causes or conflicts throughout the world. I'm a big supporter of non-violent protests so it's great to be able to do something I love for a project that I care a lot about.

The film has been getting a lot of acclaim. It's been shown in Congress, in the United States. It's been shown all over the world, including all over the Middle East. I think it's getting a lot of people talking which is the best thing. Whether you agree with everything in the film or not it gets people discussing it and anything that promotes non-violence I think is a good thing!

... Link to Part 2 of this interview (coming soon) will appear here. Amongst other things, Scott candidly talks about his studio, the Beatles and more...

To discover more about Scott Freiman's Pro Tools, Native Instruments and Reason tutorials check out his trainer page.

For more info on Scott Freiman the composer and to hear his music visit this site.

Rounik Sethi

Rounik Sethi | Articles by this author

Rounik is the Executive Editor for AskAudioMag.com & the quarterly print magazine by the same name. As an Apple Certified Trainer for Logic (and a self-confessed Mac fanatic) he's taught teachers, professional musicians and hobbyists how to get the best out of Apple's creative software. He is a Visiting lecturer at Bath Spa University's Teacher training program, facilitating workshops on using music and digital media tools in the classroom. If you're looking for Rounik, you'll most likely find him (and his articles) on AskAudioMag.com & macProVideo.com.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2014 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link