X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close
iTunes的教程:为敏感材料的iTunes
翻译谷歌翻译

iTunes是一个很大的应用,用于管理大量的音乐。但你不能只使用它来管理音乐收藏,但也为其他种类的声音!这也是作为一个口语文字研究数据库,有时甚至PDF文件很大。我发现iTunes将是非常好,我所做的工作的集合管理。

但使用这些地区不属于“标准”,往往呈现出几个潜在的问题:

01 - 你不想要这个坐在旁边,以适当的音乐库,因为它只是不适合有的材料。

对于存在的问题1),有一个简单的解决方案,像iTunes确实是能够管理多个图书馆。当启动iTunes时,只要按住Alt / Option键,iTunes会问你打开一个库文件或创建一个新的。你喜欢和iTunes会使用它在任何位置,然后,您可以创建一个新的图书馆。如果你想切换到另一个库中,只要按住Alt /选项时再重新启动的iTunes。您还可以切换iTunes商店的媒体文件的位置:iTunes中

提示:如果您想您的iTunes资料库移动到一个不同的位置,可以做到以下几点:

  1. Copy the whole iTunes folder to the new location.
  2. Start iTunes while holding Alt/Option.
  3. Instruct iTunes to open the Library at the new location by pointing the file dialog to the correct location.

iTunes将开放图书馆,并保留所有播放次数,收视率等。确保检查的喜好,新的库路径设置正确,你是好去。

02 - 你不想要这个特殊的材料,方便大家,您的计算机上,简单明了的开关,因为它是相当敏感!

这是事情变得更加有趣。对于敏感信息,你当然会想要来保护它。在家中的数据,这样可以节省您大量的头痛,当有人进入你的房子打破的道路上,你可以确信,在你的笔记本电脑或便携式硬盘被盗的情况下,小偷将不能够得到您的数据。此,最好的办法是加密的一切,幸运的是很容易的,但非常安全。 iTunes可以从OSX的Finder中支持任何数量的读写。是的,这意味着它可以写入磁盘映像!反过来,这使得我们有iTunes使用一个加密的磁盘映像,你可以手动安装和卸载。所以,除非你亲自安装映像,您的数据将被安全地隐藏任何人的其他人的眼睛...有很多方式,要创造这样一个加密的形象,但我会处理这里有两个:

一-

每个OSX的安装被称为“磁盘工具 ”的一个工具。这是有驱动器维修,修理磁盘权限等。它可以创建AES加密的磁盘映像。你会发现在工具栏上的图标,你可以创建一个新的形象。

设置图书馆的一个很好的规模和保存的图像,无论你喜欢,并设置为128位或256位加密。后者是更安全,但需要更多的时间来加密和解密!

磁盘工具“,然后将要求您提供密码,并为你检查它的安全性。你应该使用一个安全的密码,这意味着不是你的生日,你的宠物的名字等。不要保存在钥匙串的密码,但类型手在每一次。如果您将它保存到钥匙串,每个人都使用您的计算机将能够装入卷。您已经创建并安装后的图像,指向iTunes对它就像你做的时候创建一个新的库。如果您想将您现有的图书馆图像,你可以使用上面的说明。 iTunes将库文件以及加密卷上的媒体文件。每当您关闭iTunes,下马的形象,没有人将能够访问其内容,除非他或她知道密码的!这种存储iTunes资料库方法是相对安全的,只要你不放弃您的密码。我会建议一个固定的大小,往往是没有改变的库。

B -

第二,更有效的方法是使用一个开源的加密软件TrueCrypt的。一般情况下,它的工作原理,以类似的方式磁盘实用程序方法安装一个加密的磁盘映像。 TrueCrypt的,但有两大优势: - 您可以加密整个分区,这是漂亮的大图书馆

对于本教程,我们将设置一个简单的文件内居住在新的TrueCrypt卷。在下载和启动TrueCrypt的后, 单击“创建卷“。一个看起来像这样的助手窗口将打开:

在这里,你可以选择居住在一个文件中创建一个新卷,或使用硬盘驱动器的分区。

重要事项:如果您使用的硬盘分区,这个分区上的所有数据将会丢失! 因此,仔细检查您使用的是正确的分区。

助理是不言自明的,你应该没有任何困难。不过,这里有一个值得了解的几个关键的东西:

  • For the file name, you can choose anything you like. The file extension does not matter, either.
  • If you want to be ultra-safe, create a hidden container, though this is really paranoid. But, hey, just because you are not paranoid that doesn't mean they are not after you ?
  • It doesn't really matter which encoding algorithm you choose. They are all pretty safe for "normal" use. Beware, however of using more than one encryption algorithm, because it significantly slows your system down! Only use more than one algorithm if your system can handle it and if it is really necessary.
  • I would advice against auto-mounting the image. If people don't know it even exists, they are far less likely to try to search for it. Having your encrypted image mounted by default sort of defeats the whole point. It is important that you do not store the password on your computer. Better don't even write it down, remember it! Keep copies of all keyfiles used somewhere. Without the keyfiles you will not be able to use the encrypted partition. It would also be prudent not to have the TrueCrypt icon in your dock, otherwise anyone will immediately see that you are using it.

03 - 加密库的缺点

使用加密库,我想提的有两个缺点。首先,你总是需要安装的分区或手动包含您的iTunes资料库中的形象。这当然是一个位的可用性问题,但我认为在安全性方面远远超过了一点点的麻烦。不要绝望:如果您忘记了挂载的形象和启动iTunes,它只会抱怨说找不到库。然后你需要做的是关闭iTunes,然后重新打开它。

第二,更重要的问题是速度。 iTunes需要解密和加密所有数据,在访问加密的数据时的速度造成的重大损失。幸运的是,最新版本的iTunes已经大大提高了性能加密的图书馆一样快,因为它在iTunes 7的未加密的地步。在正常操作中,亏损的速度是不是很明显,除非你使用CoverFlow所有时间。当你需要复制文件或写入文件的变化,它变得更加严重,即当导入到您的图书馆的轨道。有一个简单的解决方法,如果你不想等待对进口只需使用另一个iTunes资料库中导入,转换和标签的所有曲目,然后将它们传输到您的加密资料库,当您完成。

一个加密库,确保您的轨道间谍眼睛或失窃,我认为这是非常值得的细微缺点是安全的。希望这会有所帮助 - 如果您有任何疑问,请发表评论,我会尽我所能来回答。

Tobias Escher

Tobias Escher | Articles by this author

Tobias Escher started playing the piano at an early age and was drawn to the pipe organ. He since then works as a freelance organist and choirmaster and as a composer for media projects in his own studio. His love for the Mac platform began in 2005 with a humble mac mini and has since then grown to a serious addiction. He regularly preaches the virtues of Logic and Sibelius and is on a quest to make the world realise iTunes as one of the greatest things that ever left Apple. Learn more about Tobias on his website, novatlan-sound.de/.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2018 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link

(Close)
Forgot password?
AskAudio Magazine
Join Now! Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close

Join macProVideo.com

Access free tutorial videos, premium articles and project files.

Share this article with friends!

iTunes Tutorial: iTunes for sensitive material

iTunes is a great application for managing large amounts of music. But you can not only use it to manage a music collection, but also for other kinds of sounds! It is also great as a research database for spoken text, or sometimes even PDF files. I have found iTunes to be very good at managing a collection of the work I have done.

But those areas of use that are not "standard" often present a couple of potential problems:

01 - You don't want this kind of material sitting next to your proper music Library because it just doesn't fit there.

For problem 1), there is an easy solution, as iTunes is indeed able to manage more than one Library. When starting up iTunes, just hold the Alt/Option key and iTunes will ask you to open a Library file or create a new one. You can then create a new Library in any location you like and iTunes will use it. If you want to switch back to another Library, just hold down Alt/Option again when restarting iTunes. You can also switch the location where iTunes stores the media files in: iTunes > Preferences > Advanced. You can create as many libraries as you like.

Tip: If you want to move your iTunes Library to a different location, you can do the following:

  1. Copy the whole iTunes folder to the new location.
  2. Start iTunes while holding Alt/Option.
  3. Instruct iTunes to open the Library at the new location by pointing the file dialog to the correct location.

iTunes will now open the Library and preserve all play counts, ratings and so on. Make sure to check in the preferences that the new Library path is correctly set and you are good to go.

02 - You don't want this special material readily accessible to everyone that switches on your computer, plain and simple because it is pretty sensitive!

This is where things get a bit more interesting. For sensitive information, you will of course want to protect it. For data at home, this saves you lots of headache when someone breaks into your house and on the road you can be sure that in case your laptop or portable drive gets stolen, the thief will not be able to get to your data. The best solution for this is to encrypt everything, which fortunately is pretty easy but very secure. iTunes can read and write from any volume supported by the OSX Finder. Yes, that means, it can write to disk images! This in turn allows us to have iTunes use an encrypted disk image that you can be mounted and unmounted manually. So unless you personally mount the image, your data will be safely hidden from anyones else's eyes.. There are lots of ways to create such an encrypted image, but I will deal with two here:

A - Using the built-in Disk Utility

Every installation of OSX has a tool called Disk Utility. It is there for drive maintenance, repairing disk permissions and so on. And it can create AES-encrypted disk images. You will find an icon in the toolbar that lets you create a new image.

Set a good size for the Library and save the image wherever you like and set the encryption to 128bit or 256bit. The latter is more secure, but takes more time to encrypt and decrypt!

Disk Utility will then ask you to provide a password and check the security of it for you. You should use a safe password, that means not your birthday, your pet's name and so on. Do not save the password in Keychain, but type it in by hand every time. If you save it to Keychain, everyone using your computer will be able to mount the volume. After you have created and mounted the image, point iTunes to it just like you would do when creating a new Library. If you want to move your existing Library to the image, you can use the instructions above. iTunes will then have both the Library files as well as the media files on the encrypted volume. Whenever you close iTunes, dismount the image and no one will be able to access its content unless he or she knows the password! This method of storing an iTunes Library is relatively secure, as long as you don't give away your password. I would recommend it for libraries with a fixed size that are not changed very often.

B - Using TrueCrypt

The second, more powerful method uses an open source encryption software called TrueCrypt. In general it works in a similar way to the Disk Utility method by mounting an encrypted disk image. But TrueCrypt has two major advantages: - You can encrypt whole partitions, which is nice for big libraries & without TrueCrypt, it is not possible to mount the volume and it is impossible to see that TC is used. While professionals will likely know of TrueCrypt, chances are good that your "average" burglar does not.

For this tutorial, we will setup a new volume in TrueCrypt residing inside a simple file. After downloading and launching TrueCrypt, click Create Volume. An Assistant window looking like this will open:

Here you can choose to create a new volume residing in a file or use a partition of a hard drive.

Important: If you use a hard drive partition, all the data on this partition will be lost! So double check that you are using the correct partition.

The assistant is self-explanatory, you should have no difficulties following it. Nevertheless, here are a few key things worth knowing:

  • For the file name, you can choose anything you like. The file extension does not matter, either.
  • If you want to be ultra-safe, create a hidden container, though this is really paranoid. But, hey, just because you are not paranoid that doesn't mean they are not after you ?
  • It doesn't really matter which encoding algorithm you choose. They are all pretty safe for "normal" use. Beware, however of using more than one encryption algorithm, because it significantly slows your system down! Only use more than one algorithm if your system can handle it and if it is really necessary.
  • I would advice against auto-mounting the image. If people don't know it even exists, they are far less likely to try to search for it. Having your encrypted image mounted by default sort of defeats the whole point. It is important that you do not store the password on your computer. Better don't even write it down, remember it! Keep copies of all keyfiles used somewhere. Without the keyfiles you will not be able to use the encrypted partition. It would also be prudent not to have the TrueCrypt icon in your dock, otherwise anyone will immediately see that you are using it.

03 - Disadvantages of Encrypted Libraries

There are two disadvantages of using an encrypted Library that I wanted to mention. First, you always need to mount the partition or image containing your iTunes Library manually. This of course is a bit of a usability issue, but I think the security aspect far outweighs the little bit of hassle. Do not despair: If you forget to mount the image and start up iTunes, it will just complain that it could not find the Library. All you need to do then is to close iTunes and reopen it.

The second, and more important issue is speed. iTunes needs to decrypt and encrypt all data, resulting in a significant loss of speed when accessing the encrypted data. Fortunately, recent versions of iTunes have dramatically improved performance to a point where an encrypted Library is about as fast as it was on iTunes 7 unencrypted. In normal operation, the loss of speed is not very noticeable, except if you use CoverFlow all time. It gets more serious when you need to copy files or write changes to files, i.e. when importing tracks into your Library. There is a simple workaround if you don't want to wait on importing: Just use another iTunes Library to import, convert and tag all tracks and then transfer them to your encrypted Library when you are done.

An encrypted Library makes sure that your tracks are safe from spying eyes or theft, which I think is very much worth the slight drawbacks. Hope this helps - if you have questions, please post them as a comment below and I will do my best to answer.

Tobias Escher

Tobias Escher | Articles by this author

Tobias Escher started playing the piano at an early age and was drawn to the pipe organ. He since then works as a freelance organist and choirmaster and as a composer for media projects in his own studio. His love for the Mac platform began in 2005 with a humble mac mini and has since then grown to a serious addiction. He regularly preaches the virtues of Logic and Sibelius and is on a quest to make the world realise iTunes as one of the greatest things that ever left Apple. Learn more about Tobias on his website, novatlan-sound.de/.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2014 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.

About

Our Plans

Tutorials

Community

Help

Legal

Link