X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close

Accès Premium gratuitement

Accédez à notre bibliothèque complète des articles Hub Premium, les fichiers projet et les premiers 10% de chaque Cours-vidéo de la Bibliothèque Didacticiel en ligne .

Créez votre compte gratuit!

Apps Remote Desktop for iPad
Traduit par Google Translate

Dans cet article je vais être à la recherche de deux applications de bureau à distance pour l'iPad, que sur le visage de celui-ci paraissent semblables, presque identique peut-être, mais il s'avère que le diable est dans les détails quand il s'agit de décider celle qui vous pourriez utiliser.


TeamViewer

TeamViewer est une application iOS relativement mature et a également été autour depuis quelque temps sur d'autres plateformes qui vous permet d'accéder au bureau de n'importe quelle machine qui a l'hôte installé TeamViewer. Pour résoudre le fait que vous pouvez utiliser votre Mac comme un hôte et le client, vous avez maintenant la possibilité d'installer la version complète.

TeamViewer must be running on the host Mac

TeamViewer doit être exécuté sur le Mac hôte


Configuration et utilisation

TeamViewer est facile à installer et à configurer. Tant que l'application s'exécute sur le Mac hôte et que vous avez défini un mot de passe non-assisté, vous pouvez entrer dans ce que le client (iPad) aussi longtemps que vous connaissez l'ID de session. Il est stocké par le client une fois que vous avez exécuté une session de connexion faisant encore plus facile. Sans un mot de passe non-assisté, vous aurez besoin de connaître et de saisir le nouveau mot de passe aléatoire qui est généré par le serveur pour chaque session. Une fois activé, vous sont présentés avec un écran d'aide qui représente un ensemble de gestes multipiste (tel que du robinet doigt pour cliquer, pincer pour zoomer et ainsi de suite).

TeamViewers Instructions screen

TeamViewers instructions à l'écran


Rejetant cet écran révèle votre bureau Mac, essentiellement comme un miroir de votre résolution d'affichage actuelle. Ainsi, la disparité des ratios d'affichage (16:9 sur le Mac vs 4h03 sur l'iPad) est rempli avec des barres noires sur l'écran iPad. La qualité vidéo est dynamiquement modifié pour préserver la vitesse de transfert de données n'est donc pas forcément aussi dynamique que vous pourriez vous attendre.

Contrôler le Mac est assez facile une fois que vous avez compris que le curseur de la souris se déplace à une distance de quelques centimètres du bout du doigt, qui, si vous êtes un utilisateur régulier tactile prend un peu de temps pour s'y habituer. Certains objets seront petites et difficiles d'accès afin heureusement, la fonction de zoom fonctionne très bien, et la barre d'outils contient un boutons pratiques retour à la normale le niveau de zoom (ainsi que d'un clavier pour la saisie de texte). Il peut intéresser ceux d'entre vous qui souhaitent utiliser TeamViewer comme une télécommande pour le Mac à des fins de démonstration qui, il ya beaucoup de lag sur le Mac hôte lorsque la mise à jour la position du pointeur de la souris.

GarageBand on the Mac as viewed using TeamViewer

GarageBand sur Mac que visualisées à l'aide de TeamViewer


Une des fonctionnalités qui est accessible depuis la barre d'outils est TeamViewers fichiers, qui vous permet de copier des fichiers de l'hôte qui vous iPad et le dos. Vous pouvez ensuite ouvrir les fichiers dans les applications qui supportent Open in (comme TwistedWave).

Browsing files on the Mac using TeamViewer on the iPad

Exploration des fichiers sur le Mac en utilisant TeamViewer sur l'iPad


Splashtop

À première vue, Splashtop semble offrir beaucoup plus les mêmes que TeamViewer. L'application hôte - Streamer Splashtop - est gratuite, mais il ya une charge pour l'application iPad (actuellement 1,99 ou 2,99 $ sur l'App Store).

La première différence est que l'installation Streamer Splashtop place une petite application dans la barre de menu Mac qui fonctionne en permanence, ce qui rend la connexion d'un client plus simple. Splashtop ne propose que la méthode de mot de passe d'authentification unique, que certains utilisateurs peuvent trouver moins sécurisé, mais une fois activée, vous verrez que la vidéo en miroir est traitée de façon légèrement différente sur le Splashtop. Le réglage par défaut est pour le Mac hôte pour le changement de résolution d'affichage de 1024 x 768, dont l'aspect ratio correspond alors celle de l'iPad. En option, vous pouvez changer cela en 800 x 600 ou d'utiliser la résolution actuelle (la même configuration que TeamViewer utilise) mais la configuration par défaut fait grand sens dans la plupart des cas.

La qualité vidéo est nettement meilleure, sans perte de couleur, et presque pas de lag en réponse pointeur de la souris sur l'hôte, ce qui rend beaucoup plus approprié Splashtop comme une télécommande pour contrôler votre Mac à des manifestations.

Logic Pro viewed via SplashTop

Logic Pro consultés via Splashtop


Une autre différence subtile mais peut-être persuasive, c'est que le pointeur sur l'iPad suit sous les doigts (pas à distance) qui donne aux utilisateurs une expérience tactile plus naturelle. Le seul inconvénient est que vous ne pouvez pas voir le pointeur à tout moment, car il est sous votre doigt ne peut donc pas toujours dire si elle change (à l'outil en boucle dans Logic Pro, par exemple).

Cependant killer feature SplashTops est que le son ainsi que la vidéo est automatiquement diffusée à partir de l'hôte à l'IPAD. Soundflower (l'inter-application utilitaire de câblage) doit être installé sur le Mac hôte, mais une fois qu'il est, il sera automatiquement sélectionnée comme sortie audio lors d'une séance Splashtop est démarré. Miraculeusement audio et vidéo arrivent à l'iPad en synchronisation afin que les deux regarder des vidéos et la démonstration d'applications audio via l'iPad est possible. Sur le côté négatif Splashtop ne vous permet pas de copier des fichiers depuis le Mac hôte ou de retour de l'IPAD.

En conclusion, comme vous vous en doutez de ce qui précède, Splashtop offre la meilleure expérience utilisateur aussi loin que la télécommande et l'affichage est concerné, mais il vaut bien télécharger et installer TeamViewer si ce n'est que pour les fonctions à distance l'accès aux fichiers.

Visitez le site officiel

Visitez le site officiel


Mike Watkinson

Mike Watkinson | Articles by this author

Mike has been obsessed with music software since he first saw Fairlight's Page-R, and has tracked its development through his work as a performer, composer and producer. As a writer he has contributed articles to Sound On Sound since 1999, and currently writes their Apple Notes column. As well as being a certified Logic Pro and Pro Tools trainer he is also an Apple Distinguished Educator.

Comments

Jun 30, 2014
matthewhaden
Hey, you forgot to mention one more very good alternative: RHUB remote support servers. It works well.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2018 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link

(Close)
Forgot password?
AskAudio Magazine
Join Now! Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close

Join macProVideo.com

Access free tutorial videos, premium articles and project files.

Share this article with friends!

Remote Desktop Apps for iPad

In this article I will be looking at two remote desktop apps for iPad, that on the face of it appear similar, almost identical perhaps, but it transpires that the devil is in the detail when it comes to deciding one which you might use.


TeamViewer

TeamViewer is a relatively mature iOS app and has also been around for some time on other platforms allowing you to access the desktop of any machine that has the TeamViewer host installed. To resolve the fact that you may wish to use your Mac as a host and client, you now have the option to install the ‘full version’.  To access your Mac from your iPad install the iOS app, ensuring that it is the same version. One of TeamViewer’s attractions is that it is free for non-commercial use, with a ‘fair play price for commercial use of $99 – let your conscience decide! 

TeamViewer must be running on the host Mac

TeamViewer must be running on the host Mac


Set Up and Use

TeamViewer is easy to install and set up. As long as the application is running on the host Mac and you have set up a ‘non-attended’ password you can enter this the client (iPad) as long as you know the session ID. This is stored by the client once you have run one session making further connection much easier. Without a ‘non-attended’ password you will need to know and enter the new random password which is generated by the host for each session. Once activated you are presented with a help screen that shows a set of multitrack gestures (such as finger tap to click, pinch to zoom and so on). 

TeamViewer’s Instructions screen

TeamViewer’s Instructions screen


Dismissing this screen reveals your Mac desktop, essentially as a mirror of your current display resolution. So the mismatch of display ratios (16:9 on the Mac vs. 4:3 on the iPad) is filled in with black bars on the iPad screen. The video quality is dynamically altered to preserve speed of data transfer so is not necessarily as vibrant as you might expect. 

Controlling the Mac is easy enough once you have grasped that the mouse cursor travels at a few centimeters distance from the fingertip, which if you are regular touchscreen user takes a bit of getting used to. Some objects will be small and hard to access so luckily the zoom feature works very well, and the toolbar contains a handy buttons returning zoom level to normal (as well as a keyboard for entering text). It may interest those of you who wish to use TeamViewer as a remote control for the Mac for demonstration purposes that there is a lot of lag on the host Mac when updating mouse pointer position.

GarageBand on the Mac as viewed using TeamViewer

GarageBand on the Mac as viewed using TeamViewer


One of the great features that is accessed from TeamViewer’s toolbar is ‘Files’, which allows you to copy files from the host to you iPad and back. You can then open the files in apps that support ‘Open in’ (such as TwistedWave).

Browsing files on the Mac using TeamViewer on the iPad

Browsing files on the Mac using TeamViewer on the iPad


SplashTop

At first glance SplashTop appears to offer much the same as TeamViewer. The host application - SplashTop Streamer - is free but there is a charge for the iPad app (currently £1.99 or $2.99 on the App Store). 

The first difference is that the SplashTop Streamer installation places a small app in the Mac’s menu bar which runs continuously, making connection from a client more straightforward. SplashTop only offers the single password method of authentication, which some users may find less secure but once activated you will see that mirrored video is handled slightly differently on SplashTop. The default setting is for the host Mac to change it to display resolution to 1024 x 768 whose aspect ratio then matches that of the iPad. Optionally you can change this to 800 x 600 or to use the current resolution (the same setting that TeamViewer uses) but the default layout makes great sense in most cases. This of course changes the layout of some applications of Mac (for example Logic Pro’s transport will lose some of its buttons) but in general this is a much more usable approach for the client. 

Video quality is markedly better with no loss of colour, and almost no lag in mouse pointer response on the host, making SplashTop much more suitable as a remote control for controlling your Mac in demonstrations. 

Logic Pro viewed via SplashTop

Logic Pro viewed via SplashTop


Another subtle but perhaps persuasive difference is that the pointer on the iPad follows under the fingertip (not at a distance) which gives touchscreen users a far more natural experience. The only drawback here is that you can't see the pointer at all times as it is under your fingertip so can't always tell if it changes (to the loop tool in Logic Pro, for example). 

However SplashTop’s killer feature is that sound as well as video is automatically streamed from the host to the iPad. SoundFlower (the inter-application cabling utility) must be installed on the host Mac, but once it is, it will be selected automatically as the audio output when a SplashTop session is started. Miraculously audio and video arrive at the iPad in sync so both watching videos and demonstrating audio applications via the iPad is possible. On the negative side SplashTop does not let you copy files from the host Mac or back from the iPad.

In conclusion, as you might expect from the above, SplashTop offers the best user experience as far as remote control and viewing is concerned, but it is well worth downloading and installing TeamViewer if only for the remote file access features.

Visit the official SplashTop website.

Visit the official TeamViewer website.


Mike Watkinson

Mike Watkinson | Articles by this author

Mike has been obsessed with music software since he first saw Fairlight's Page-R, and has tracked its development through his work as a performer, composer and producer. As a writer he has contributed articles to Sound On Sound since 1999, and currently writes their Apple Notes column. As well as being a certified Logic Pro and Pro Tools trainer he is also an Apple Distinguished Educator.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2014 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.

About

Our Plans

Tutorials

Community

Help

Legal

Link