X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close

Kostenlose Premium-Zugang

Rufen Sie unsere gesamte Bibliothek von Premium-Hub Artikel, Projekt-Dateien und die ersten 10% des jeweiligen Tutorial-Video aus dem Online-Tutorial-Bibliothek .

Erstellen Sie jetzt Ihren kostenlosen Zugang!

Remote Desktop Apps für iPad
Übersetzt von Google Translate

In diesem Artikel werde ich auf zwei Remote-Desktop-Apps für iPad, die auf den ersten Blick ähnlich erscheinen, fast identisch vielleicht suchen, aber sich herausstellt, dass der Teufel im Detail, wenn es um die Entscheidung eine, die Sie verwenden könnten kommt.


TeamViewer

TeamViewer ist eine relativ reife iOS-App und hat auch schon seit einiger Zeit auf anderen Plattformen so dass Sie auf den Desktop jedes Computers, der die TeamViewer Host installiert wurde der Zugriff. So beheben Sie die Tatsache, dass Sie möchten Ihren Mac als Host-und Client verwenden, haben Sie jetzt die Möglichkeit, die Vollversion installieren.

TeamViewer must be running on the host Mac

TeamViewer muss auf dem Host-Mac ausgeführt werden,


Einrichten und Verwenden von

TeamViewer ist einfach zu installieren und einzurichten. Solange die Anwendung auf dem Host-Mac laufen, und Sie haben eine nicht-überwachten Kennwort festlegen können Sie dies dem Client (iPad), solange Sie die Session-ID zu kennen. Dies wird durch die Client gespeichert, wenn Sie eine Sitzung ausgeführt haben machen weitere Verbindung viel einfacher. Ohne eine nicht besucht Passwort, das Sie müssen wissen, und geben Sie den neuen zufälligen Passwort, das vom Host für jede Sitzung generiert wird. Einmal aktiviert man mit einer Hilfe, die eine Reihe von Mehrspur-Gesten (wie Finger-Tippen zu klicken, Prise zu vergrößern und so weiter) zeigt vorgestellt.

TeamViewers Instructions screen

TeamViewers Anleitung Bildschirm


Die Entlassung dieser Bildschirm zeigt dem Mac-Desktop, im Wesentlichen als ein Spiegel der aktuellen Bildschirmauflösung. So das Missverhältnis von Display-Verhältnissen (16:9 auf dem Mac vs 4:3 auf dem iPad) ist mit schwarzen Balken auf dem iPad Bildschirm gefüllt. Die Videoqualität ist dynamisch verändert die Geschwindigkeit der Datenübertragung zu bewahren, so ist nicht unbedingt so lebendig wie Sie vielleicht erwarten.

Controlling der Mac ist leicht genug, wenn Sie begriffen, dass der Mauszeiger auf ein paar Zentimeter Abstand von der Fingerspitze, die, wenn Sie regelmäßig Touchscreen Benutzer braucht ein wenig gewöhnungsbedürftig Reisen haben. Einige Objekte werden klein und schwer zu so den Zugang zum Glück die Zoom-Funktion sehr gut funktioniert, und die Symbolleiste enthält eine praktische Tasten wieder Zoomstufe normal (wie eine Tastatur zur Eingabe von Text). Vielleicht interessiert es diejenigen von Ihnen, um TeamViewer als Fernbedienung verwenden für den Mac zu Demonstrationszwecken, dass es eine Menge lag auf dem Host-Mac beim Update Mauszeiger wollen.

GarageBand on the Mac as viewed using TeamViewer

GarageBand auf dem Mac als eine Anzeige mit TeamViewer


Eines der großartigen Features, die aus TeamViewers Symbolleiste zugegriffen wird Files, mit denen Sie Dateien vom Host zu Ihnen iPad und zurück zu kopieren. Sie können dann die Dateien in Anwendungen, die Open-Unterstützung in (wie TwistedWave).

Browsing files on the Mac using TeamViewer on the iPad

Durchsuchen von Dateien auf dem Mac mit TeamViewer auf dem iPad


Splashtop

Auf den ersten Blick Splashtop scheint weniger die gleichen wie TeamViewer bieten. Die Host-Anwendung - Splashtop Streamer - ist kostenlos, aber es gibt eine Gebühr für die iPad-App (derzeit 1.99 oder $ 2,99 im App Store).

Der erste Unterschied ist, dass die Splashtop Streamer Installation ein kleines app Plätze in der Macs Menüleiste, die kontinuierlich verläuft, so dass Verbindung von einem Client einfacher. Splashtop bietet nur die einzigen Passwort zur Authentifizierung, die einige Nutzer finden weniger sichere, aber einmal aktiviert Sie sehen werden, die gespiegelt video etwas anders ist Splashtop behandelt werden kann. Die Standardeinstellung ist für die Host-Mac, es zu ändern, um die Auflösung auf 1024 x 768 Display mit einem Seitenverhältnis von dann entspricht der des iPad. Optional können Sie diese auf 800 x 600 zu ändern oder die aktuelle Auflösung (die gleiche Einstellung, die TeamViewer verwendet), aber das Standard-Layout macht großen Sinn in den meisten Fällen.

Die Videoqualität ist deutlich besser, ohne Verlust der Farbe, und fast ohne Verzögerungen im Mauszeiger Antwort auf dem Host, so dass Splashtop viel besser geeignet als Fernbedienung für die Steuerung Ihres Mac an Demonstrationen.

Logic Pro viewed via SplashTop

Logic Pro über Splashtop angesehen


Eine weitere subtile, aber vielleicht überzeugender Unterschied ist, dass der Zeiger auf dem iPad unter der Fingerspitze (nicht in einem Abstand), die Touchscreen-Benutzer gibt einen weitaus natürlicher Erfahrung folgt. Der einzige Nachteil dabei ist, dass man nicht sehen kann den Zeiger zu allen Zeiten, wie es unter Ihren Fingerspitzen so ist, kann nicht immer sagen, ob es Veränderungen (die Schleife Werkzeug in Logic Pro, zum Beispiel).

Allerdings SplashTops Killer-Feature ist, dass Ton sowie Video wird automatisch gestreamt vom Host auf das iPad. SoundFlower (die inter-Anwendung Verkabelung utility) muss auf dem Host-Mac installiert werden, aber wenn es ist, es wird automatisch als Audio-Ausgang, wenn ein Splashtop-Sitzung gestartet wird gewählt werden. Wie durch ein Wunder Audio-und Video kommen zu dem iPad zu synchronisieren, so dass beide das Ansehen von Videos und Audio-Anwendungen demonstrieren über das iPad möglich ist. Auf der negativen Seite Splashtop lässt Sie nicht Kopieren von Dateien vom Host-Mac oder wieder aus dem iPad.

Zum Schluss, wie Sie vielleicht aus den oben erwarten, bietet Splashtop die beste Nutzer-Erfahrung so weit wie Fernbedienung und Anzeige angeht, aber es lohnt sich das Herunterladen und Installieren TeamViewer wenn auch nur für die Remote-Dateizugriff Funktionen.

Besuchen Sie die offizielle

Besuchen Sie die offizielle


Mike Watkinson

Mike Watkinson | Articles by this author

Mike has been obsessed with music software since he first saw Fairlight's Page-R, and has tracked its development through his work as a performer, composer and producer. As a writer he has contributed articles to Sound On Sound since 1999, and currently writes their Apple Notes column. As well as being a certified Logic Pro and Pro Tools trainer he is also an Apple Distinguished Educator.

Comments

Jun 30, 2014
matthewhaden
Hey, you forgot to mention one more very good alternative: RHUB remote support servers. It works well.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2018 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link

(Close)
Forgot password?
AskAudio Magazine
Join Now! Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close

Join macProVideo.com

Access free tutorial videos, premium articles and project files.

Share this article with friends!

Remote Desktop Apps for iPad

In this article I will be looking at two remote desktop apps for iPad, that on the face of it appear similar, almost identical perhaps, but it transpires that the devil is in the detail when it comes to deciding one which you might use.


TeamViewer

TeamViewer is a relatively mature iOS app and has also been around for some time on other platforms allowing you to access the desktop of any machine that has the TeamViewer host installed. To resolve the fact that you may wish to use your Mac as a host and client, you now have the option to install the ‘full version’.  To access your Mac from your iPad install the iOS app, ensuring that it is the same version. One of TeamViewer’s attractions is that it is free for non-commercial use, with a ‘fair play price for commercial use of $99 – let your conscience decide! 

TeamViewer must be running on the host Mac

TeamViewer must be running on the host Mac


Set Up and Use

TeamViewer is easy to install and set up. As long as the application is running on the host Mac and you have set up a ‘non-attended’ password you can enter this the client (iPad) as long as you know the session ID. This is stored by the client once you have run one session making further connection much easier. Without a ‘non-attended’ password you will need to know and enter the new random password which is generated by the host for each session. Once activated you are presented with a help screen that shows a set of multitrack gestures (such as finger tap to click, pinch to zoom and so on). 

TeamViewer’s Instructions screen

TeamViewer’s Instructions screen


Dismissing this screen reveals your Mac desktop, essentially as a mirror of your current display resolution. So the mismatch of display ratios (16:9 on the Mac vs. 4:3 on the iPad) is filled in with black bars on the iPad screen. The video quality is dynamically altered to preserve speed of data transfer so is not necessarily as vibrant as you might expect. 

Controlling the Mac is easy enough once you have grasped that the mouse cursor travels at a few centimeters distance from the fingertip, which if you are regular touchscreen user takes a bit of getting used to. Some objects will be small and hard to access so luckily the zoom feature works very well, and the toolbar contains a handy buttons returning zoom level to normal (as well as a keyboard for entering text). It may interest those of you who wish to use TeamViewer as a remote control for the Mac for demonstration purposes that there is a lot of lag on the host Mac when updating mouse pointer position.

GarageBand on the Mac as viewed using TeamViewer

GarageBand on the Mac as viewed using TeamViewer


One of the great features that is accessed from TeamViewer’s toolbar is ‘Files’, which allows you to copy files from the host to you iPad and back. You can then open the files in apps that support ‘Open in’ (such as TwistedWave).

Browsing files on the Mac using TeamViewer on the iPad

Browsing files on the Mac using TeamViewer on the iPad


SplashTop

At first glance SplashTop appears to offer much the same as TeamViewer. The host application - SplashTop Streamer - is free but there is a charge for the iPad app (currently £1.99 or $2.99 on the App Store). 

The first difference is that the SplashTop Streamer installation places a small app in the Mac’s menu bar which runs continuously, making connection from a client more straightforward. SplashTop only offers the single password method of authentication, which some users may find less secure but once activated you will see that mirrored video is handled slightly differently on SplashTop. The default setting is for the host Mac to change it to display resolution to 1024 x 768 whose aspect ratio then matches that of the iPad. Optionally you can change this to 800 x 600 or to use the current resolution (the same setting that TeamViewer uses) but the default layout makes great sense in most cases. This of course changes the layout of some applications of Mac (for example Logic Pro’s transport will lose some of its buttons) but in general this is a much more usable approach for the client. 

Video quality is markedly better with no loss of colour, and almost no lag in mouse pointer response on the host, making SplashTop much more suitable as a remote control for controlling your Mac in demonstrations. 

Logic Pro viewed via SplashTop

Logic Pro viewed via SplashTop


Another subtle but perhaps persuasive difference is that the pointer on the iPad follows under the fingertip (not at a distance) which gives touchscreen users a far more natural experience. The only drawback here is that you can't see the pointer at all times as it is under your fingertip so can't always tell if it changes (to the loop tool in Logic Pro, for example). 

However SplashTop’s killer feature is that sound as well as video is automatically streamed from the host to the iPad. SoundFlower (the inter-application cabling utility) must be installed on the host Mac, but once it is, it will be selected automatically as the audio output when a SplashTop session is started. Miraculously audio and video arrive at the iPad in sync so both watching videos and demonstrating audio applications via the iPad is possible. On the negative side SplashTop does not let you copy files from the host Mac or back from the iPad.

In conclusion, as you might expect from the above, SplashTop offers the best user experience as far as remote control and viewing is concerned, but it is well worth downloading and installing TeamViewer if only for the remote file access features.

Visit the official SplashTop website.

Visit the official TeamViewer website.


Mike Watkinson

Mike Watkinson | Articles by this author

Mike has been obsessed with music software since he first saw Fairlight's Page-R, and has tracked its development through his work as a performer, composer and producer. As a writer he has contributed articles to Sound On Sound since 1999, and currently writes their Apple Notes column. As well as being a certified Logic Pro and Pro Tools trainer he is also an Apple Distinguished Educator.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2014 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.

About

Our Plans

Tutorials

Community

Help

Legal

Link