X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close

Свободный доступ Премиум

Доступ всей нашей библиотеке Премиум Статьи концентратор, файлы проекта и первые 10% от каждого Учебник-Video из Интернет библиотека Учебник .

Создайте свой бесплатный аккаунт!

Обзор: Avid Studio для IPad
Перевод Google Translate

Check out our Media Composer: Basic Editing Techniques course!

Соперничество между Apple, Avid и в мире про видео хорошо документированы, и взяла на себя новые измерения, так как Apple, полностью обновленный Final Cut Pro. Его показательным, то, что Avid по-прежнему хочет его программное обеспечение будет доступно для iPad, и что Apple, по-видимому не имеет никаких проблем с этим. Но так как таблетки на данный момент на самом деле просто sketchpads насколько редактирования видео идет, пожалуй, не удивительно. Никто не собирается редактировать фильм на iPad, по крайней мере, на некоторое время. Как и все вещи тем не менее, является отправной точкой, и прибытие iMovie показали, что для редактирования видео на IPad может работать, по крайней мере в базовой форме. И это так, что Avid выпустила Avid Studio , которая требует IOS 5 и работает на IPad 1 или 2. Как раз в 2.99 / $ 4.99 его вряд ли будет обходиться в кругленькую сумму, поэтому мы дали ему дорожные испытания.


Приступая к работе

Прежде чем начать, вы собираетесь нужно некоторое содержание. IPad 2 имеет камеру, и Avid рекомендует это как один из способов получения видео в приложении. Это легко, как и любой чей использовали видео камеры Виль iPads знаю, хотя качество может только действительно можно назвать справедливым, несмотря на камеры, устанавливается в качестве 720p HD.

Подключите IPad к Mac и до этого появляется в Itunes. На вкладке приложения, прокрутите вниз до раздела Общий доступ и Theres Avid Studio. Попробуйте отказаться от видео с вашего компьютера в этой области, и они будут копировать, но они не будут отображаться в само приложение. Оказывается, процесс передачи видео на самом деле довольно запутанным. Вы должны принять файлы (MP4 файлы, кажется, гораздо предпочтительнее) и поместите их в Iphoto альбома. Тогда в ITunes, выберите для синхронизации этого альбома, будучи уверенным, что для проверки включает видео окно. Файлы должны затем передать на и после восстановления библиотек, появляются в приложении доступны как исходные файлы. Мне потребовалось несколько попыток, чтобы получить эту работу, хотя.

Это кажется мне излишне многословно дороге на работу. Im используется для Apple, заставляя меня для синхронизации данных, когда все, что я действительно хочу, чтобы иметь возможность перетащить его как взрослого человека, который не нуждается в его ручной. Но сторонние разработчики, как правило, довольно хорошо позволяя положить вещи, где вы хотите через вкладку Доступ. Если ты читать эту Avid, пожалуйста, измените это обновление. Вы бы сделать приложение гораздо более доступной для новых пользователей.


Движение вперед

Если у вас есть некоторый контент вы можете нажать, чтобы создать новый проект. В верхней части слева выбора средств массовой информации с разделами для видео, фотографий и музыки, и они могут быть просмотрены перед сбрасыванием их в проект. Перетащите на самом деле работает очень хорошо и является более естественным, на мой взгляд, чем iMovie для IPad. Сенсорный интерфейс, является точной и гладкой, и достижение кадр за кадром прокрутки для сбрасывания или сращивания клипов работает хорошо. Theres Storyboard трек, а также одно видео и три аудио дорожки, и вы можете зажать, чтобы увеличить сроки. Что касается изменения идут, вы можете определить и из маркеров, прежде чем упасть аудио и видео клипы в проект, и легко подобрать что-нибудь на временной шкале, чтобы переместить его. Theres бритва инструмент для резки клипов воспроизведения и настройки бутон, которая будет отображать все варианты выбран, в том числе объем клипа и в и

the basic interface


Вы можете добавить переходы, но в настоящее время есть только два: растворяются и исчезают. Монтажи более интересно: эти готовые шаблоны для объединения видео и фото в видеоклипов движения, которые обычно выглядят ОК. Theres титулов вариант, а также с различными шрифтами и в то время как эти Arent будет беспокоить Голливуд в ближайшее время, они реальные на IPad. Еще одна опция позволяет добавлять звуковые эффекты от бортовой библиотеки, которые очень удобно. Переходы, монтажи и текст все необходимо оказание прежде, чем они видны, но это относительно быстро на IPad 2.

Dragging clips is easy


Я не испытывал любой сбой, что некоторые пользователи сообщили, и приложение казался очень стабильным. Кстати Theres полноэкранный вариант для воспроизведения, и приложение работает в портретном, так и ландшафтном режимах, что приятно прикасаться. На главном экране можно присваивать проектам и сделать глобальные настройки по умолчанию, в том числе длительности переходов, фото и титулы, и переключение автоматического перехода.

Adding text effects


Как это там

Как только вы закончите, вы можете экспортировать в различные форматы. Вы можете сделать из в видео файл на 480, 540 или 720p, и это будет размещена в вашем приложении Фотографии (не видео, по некоторым причинам) и доступны для копирования из ITunes, к счастью. Вы также можете сжать в видео по электронной почте или сообщение в Facebook или YouTube. Последний вариант позволяет экспортировать исходные данные проекта Avid Studio для ПК для последующего редактирования, и вы можете получить файл в ITunes Обмен раздел или загрузить его на iCloud. Это не большая помощь для пользователей Mac, но потом iMovie для IPad можно экспортировать только сырье файлы в iMovie для Mac, поэтому, возможно, Theres немного око за око здесь происходит.

Sharing options

Movie Maker?

Avid Studio для IPad никогда не будет заменить настольные системы, но это хорошо для редактирования дюйма шансы вы собираетесь его использовать, чтобы сократить отпуск или музыкальные клипы, а не следующая функция Скорсезе, но так далеко, как идет, оправдал себя хорошо. Единственный крупный тиски бессмысленным образом, вы должны пойти об импорте видео в приложение, которое действительно нуждается в изменении.

Library and settings


А как они соотносятся с iMovie для iPad, Avid Studio жертвует меньше ясности в его интерфейсе ради эстетики. iMovie выглядит продуманной, но, возможно, менее понятно, как использовать его в первую очередь, с ее нестандартной шкале. iMovie имеет диктофон, и это приятно, и имеет больше переходов, хотя они основаны на темы. Avid Studio чувствует себя как обычные программы видео, а некоторые люди предпочитают это. При такой цене, его также стоит проверить.

Узнайте больше о Avid Studio для IPad на Avid сайта.


Check out our Media Composer: Basic Editing Techniques course!

Hollin Jones

Hollin Jones | Articles by this author

Hollin Jones was classically trained as a piano player but found the lure of blues and jazz too much to resist. Graduating from bands to composition then production, he relishes the chance to play anything with keys. A sometime lecturer in videographics, music production and photography post production, Hollin has been a freelance writer on music technology and Apple topics for well over a decade, along the way publishing several books on audio software. He has been lead writer at a number of prominent music and technology publications. As well as consultancy, full-time journalism, video production and professional photography, he occasionally plays Hammond, Rhodes and other keys for people who ask nicely. Hollin is Contributing Editor at Ask.Audio.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2018 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link

(Close)
Forgot password?
AskAudio Magazine
Join Now! Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close

Join macProVideo.com

Access free tutorial videos, premium articles and project files.

Share this article with friends!

Review: Avid Studio for iPad

Check out our Media Composer: Basic Editing Techniques course!

The rivalry between Apple and Avid in the pro video world is well documented, and has taken on new dimensions since Apple completely revamped Final Cut Pro. It’s telling, then, that Avid still wants its software to be available for the iPad, and that Apple apparently has no problem with this. But since tablets are for the moment really just sketchpads as far as video editing goes, perhaps it’s not surprising. Nobody is going to edit a feature film on an iPad, at least not for a while. As with all things however, there is a starting point, and the arrival of iMovie showed that video editing on the iPad could work, at least in a basic form. And so it is that Avid has produced Avid Studio, which requires iOS 5 and runs on an iPad 1 or 2. At just £2.99 / $4.99 it’s hardly going to break the bank, so we gave it a road test. 


Getting started

Before you start, you’re going to need some content. The iPad 2 has a camera, and Avid recommends this as one of the ways of getting video into the app. This is easy, as anyone who’s used the iPad’s video camera wil know, although the quality could only really be described as “fair” despite the camera being specified as 720p HD.  People also look pretty silly holding a tablet up in public and waving it around so that’s something you’ll have to be prepared for. Avid says you can also attach storage devices via the Camera Connection Kit, though as I don’t have one to hand I couldn’t test it. 

Connect your iPad to your Mac and up it pops in iTunes. In the Apps tab, scroll down to the Sharing section and there’s Avid Studio. Try to drop videos from your computer into this area and they will copy over but they will not show up in the app itself. It turns out the process for transferring videos is actually pretty convoluted. You have to take your files (MP4 files seem to be greatly preferred) and drop them into an iPhoto album. Then in iTunes, choose to sync that album, being sure to check the “include videos” box. The files should then transfer over and after a library rebuild, appear in the app as available source files. It took me a couple of tries to get this to work, though. 

This strikes me as an unnecessarily long-winded way to work. I’m used to Apple forcing me to sync data when all I really want is to be able to drag and drop it like an adult who doesn’t need his hand held. But third party developers are generally pretty good at letting you put stuff where you want via the Sharing tab. If you’re reading this Avid, please change this in an update. You would make the app so much more accessible for new users. 


Moving forward

Once you have some content you can tap to create a new project. At the top left is the media selector with sections for video, still images and music, and these can be previewed prior to dropping them into a project. Drag and drop actually works really nicely and is more natural in my opinion than iMovie for iPad. The touch interface is accurate and smooth, and achieving a frame-by-frame scroll for dropping or splicing clips works well. There’s a Storyboard track as well as one video and three audio tracks and you can pinch to zoom the timeline. As far as edits go, you can define in and out markers before dropping audio or video clips into a project, and easily pick up anything in the timeline to move it. There’s a razor tool for cutting clips at the playhead and a settings buton which will display options for whatever is selected, including clip volume and in and out fades. Clips on the timeline can be shortened or lengthened by dragging their edges.

the basic interface


You can add transitions but there are currently only two: dissolve and fade. Montages are more interesting: these are pre-built templates for combining video and stills in video motion clips, which generally look OK. There’s a titling option as well with a range of fonts and while these aren’t going to trouble Hollywood anytime soon, they are workable on the iPad. One further option lets you add sound effects from the onboard library, which is quite handy. Transitions, montages and text all need rendering before they can be seen, but this is relatively quick on an iPad 2. 

Dragging clips is easy


I didn’t experience any of the crashing that some users have reported, and the app seemed very stable. Incidentally there’s a fullscreen option for playback, and the app works in Portrait as well as Landscape modes, which is a nice touch. In the main screen you can retitle projects and make global settings including default durations for transitions, stills and titles, and toggle automatic transitions. 

Adding text effects


Getting it out there

Once you have finished, you can export in a number of formats. You can render out to a video file at 480, 540 or 720p, and this will be placed in your Photos app (not Videos, for some reason) and available to copy from iTunes, thankfully. You can also compress to an email video or post to Facebook or YouTube. The final option lets you export raw project data to Avid Studio for PC for further editing, and you can get the file in iTunes’ Sharing section or upload it to iCloud. This isn’t much help for Mac users, but then iMovie for iPad can only export raw files to iMovie for Mac, so perhaps there’s a little tit for tat going on here. 

Sharing options

 

Movie maker?

Avid Studio for iPad is never going to replace a desktop system, but it is nice to edit in. The chances are you’re going to be using it to cut holiday or music videos rather than the next Scorsese feature but as far as that goes, it acquits itself well. The only major gripe is the nonsensical way you have to go about importing video to the app, which really needs changing. 

Library and settings


As for how it compares to iMovie for iPad, Avid Studio sacrifices less clarity in its interface for the sake of aesthetics. iMovie looks slicker, but it’s perhaps less clear how to use it at first, with its non-standard timeline. iMovie has a voice recorder which is nice, and has more transitions, though they are based on Themes. Avid Studio feels more like a conventional video program, and some people prefer that. At that price, it’s well worth checking out. 

Find out more about Avid Studio for iPad on the Avid site.


Check out our Media Composer: Basic Editing Techniques course!

Hollin Jones

Hollin Jones | Articles by this author

Hollin Jones was classically trained as a piano player but found the lure of blues, jazz and boogie too much to resist. After cutting his teeth producing with Portastudios he graduated to hardware and then computer-based recording, and has remained at the cutting edge of recording technology ever since. Formerly a lecturer in soundtrack composition, videographics and music production, Hollin has been a freelance writer on music technology, multimedia and Mac issues for almost a decade, along the way publishing several books on Reason. As well as consultancy, full-time journalism and the occasional tech support, he still finds time to produce his own music, running a band as well as composing for film and TV. He occasionally plays session keys for people who ask nicely.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2014 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link