X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close
点评:为iPad的Avid工作室
翻译谷歌翻译

Check out our Media Composer: Basic Editing Techniques course!

苹果和Avid专业视频世界之间的竞争是有据可查的,因为苹果彻底更新Final Cut Pro中,已采取新的层面。 ,那么,它告诉看到Avid仍然希望其软件是为iPad,苹果显然没有这个问题。但片是真的只是暂时画板尽可能视频编辑,也许它并不奇怪。没有人会至少不会一段时间,编辑在iPad上的故事片。但是所有的东西,是一个起点,和iMovie的到来表明,在iPad上的视频编辑工作的基本形式,至少在。因此它是Avid已经产生的Avid Studio中 ,需要的iOS 5和运行在iPad上的1或2。 2.99 / $ 4.99,它几乎要打破银行,所以我们给它的道路试验。


入门

在你开始之前,你会需要一些内容。在iPad 2有一个摄像头,和Avid建议进入应用程序的视频的方式之一。这是容易的,因为人用ipad公司视频相机WIL卫生组织知道,虽然质量真的只能形容为公平,尽管被指定为720p高清摄像头。

你的iPad连接到您的Mac和最多的iTunes弹出。在应用程序“选项卡上,向下滚动到”共享“部分,一路Avid的演播室。尝试从您的计算机下降影片进入这一领域,他们将复制,但他们将不会出现在应用程序本身。原来,视频传输的过程实际上是非常令人费解。你必须把你的文件(MP4文件似乎被大大首选),并拖放到iPhoto相簿。然后在iTunes中,选择要同步的专辑,一定要检查,包括视频框。文件,然后转移和库后重建,出现在可用的源文件的应用程序。我花了一对夫妇试图得到这个工作,虽然。

我作为一个不必要的冗长的工作方式。 IM用于苹果迫使我当我真正想要的是能够拖放它像一个成年人并不需要他的手里拿着同步数据。但是,第三方开发商一般都相当不错,让你把东西你想通过“共享”选项卡。如果你读这个狂热的,请在更新改变。你的应用程序,使更多的新用户访问。


前进

一旦你有一些内容,你可以点击“创建一个新项目。在左上角是媒体选择与视频,静止图像和音乐节,并可以预览拖放到一个项目之前。拖放实际工作真的很好,在我看来更自然比为iPad的iMovie。触摸界面是准确,流畅,实现了掉落或拼接剪辑的帧帧滚动运作良好。那里一个Storyboard轨道以及一个视频和音频轨道,你可以捏来放大时间轴。至于编辑去,你可以定义和标记音频或视频剪辑拖放到一个项目之前,很容易拿起任何时间轴移动。 。这个世界的切割片段在播放头的剃刀工具和设置布顿将显示,无论是选择方案,包括剪辑和输出的数量和

the basic interface


您可以添加过渡,但目前只有两种:溶解和褪色。蒙太奇更有趣:这是预建的模板相结合的视频和视频动画剪辑的剧照,其中一般看确定。那里1字幕选项以及一系列字体,而这些arent麻烦好莱坞很快,他们是在iPad上可行。一个进一步的选择,让你添加板载库,这是很方便的声音效果。转换,剪辑和文字都需要渲染,才可以看出,但是这是一个iPad 2相对快速。

Dragging clips is easy


我没有遇到任何崩溃,一些用户已经报告,以及应用程序似乎非常稳定。顺便说那里全屏播放的选项,肖像以及风景模式,这是一个很好的接触和应用程序。在主屏幕上,你可以改称为项目,使全局设置,包括默认持续时间为过渡,剧照和职称,并切换自动转换。

Adding text effects


在那里得到它

一旦你完成,你可以导出的格式。可以呈现出480,540或720p视频文件,这将被放置在您的照片应用程序(不画,出于某种原因),可从iTunes复制,令人欣慰。你也可以压缩到一封电子邮件,视频或邮寄至Facebook或YouTube。最后的选择,让你出口原料的项目数据的Avid Studio的电脑进行进一步的编辑,你可以在iTunes的文件共享部分或上传到icloud的。这是没有多大帮助Mac用户,但为iPad的iMovie可以仅导出原始文件适用于Mac的iMovie,所以可能。这个世界为达小山雀怎么回事。

Sharing options

电影制作?

热衷于为iPad的工作室永远不会取代桌面系统,但它是好的编辑英寸的机会,你将要使用它的削减,而不是未来斯科塞斯功能节假日或音乐录影带,但作为去,它acquits本身。唯一的主要抱怨是荒谬的方式,你必须去导入视频的应用程序,这确实需要改变。

Library and settings


至于如何比较到iMovie为iPad,Avid的演播室牺牲美学的缘故,在其界面清晰。 iMovie中看起来油滑,但它也许不太清楚如何使用非标准的时间表,在第一。 iMovie中有一个录音机,这是很好的,并有更多的转变,虽然他们对主题的基础。狂热的工作室感觉更像是一个传统的视频节目,一些人喜欢。在这个价格,它也值得检查。

找出更多的Avid Studio中的Avid网站上的iPad。


Check out our Media Composer: Basic Editing Techniques course!

Hollin Jones

Hollin Jones | Articles by this author

Hollin Jones was classically trained as a piano player but found the lure of blues and jazz too much to resist. Graduating from bands to composition then production, he relishes the chance to play anything with keys. A sometime lecturer in videographics, music production and photography post production, Hollin has been a freelance writer on music technology and Apple topics for well over a decade, along the way publishing several books on audio software. He has been lead writer at a number of prominent music and technology publications. As well as consultancy, full-time journalism, video production and professional photography, he occasionally plays Hammond, Rhodes and other keys for people who ask nicely. Hollin is Contributing Editor at Ask.Audio.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2018 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link

(Close)
Forgot password?
AskAudio Magazine
Join Now! Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close

Join macProVideo.com

Access free tutorial videos, premium articles and project files.

Share this article with friends!

Review: Avid Studio for iPad

Check out our Media Composer: Basic Editing Techniques course!

The rivalry between Apple and Avid in the pro video world is well documented, and has taken on new dimensions since Apple completely revamped Final Cut Pro. It’s telling, then, that Avid still wants its software to be available for the iPad, and that Apple apparently has no problem with this. But since tablets are for the moment really just sketchpads as far as video editing goes, perhaps it’s not surprising. Nobody is going to edit a feature film on an iPad, at least not for a while. As with all things however, there is a starting point, and the arrival of iMovie showed that video editing on the iPad could work, at least in a basic form. And so it is that Avid has produced Avid Studio, which requires iOS 5 and runs on an iPad 1 or 2. At just £2.99 / $4.99 it’s hardly going to break the bank, so we gave it a road test. 


Getting started

Before you start, you’re going to need some content. The iPad 2 has a camera, and Avid recommends this as one of the ways of getting video into the app. This is easy, as anyone who’s used the iPad’s video camera wil know, although the quality could only really be described as “fair” despite the camera being specified as 720p HD.  People also look pretty silly holding a tablet up in public and waving it around so that’s something you’ll have to be prepared for. Avid says you can also attach storage devices via the Camera Connection Kit, though as I don’t have one to hand I couldn’t test it. 

Connect your iPad to your Mac and up it pops in iTunes. In the Apps tab, scroll down to the Sharing section and there’s Avid Studio. Try to drop videos from your computer into this area and they will copy over but they will not show up in the app itself. It turns out the process for transferring videos is actually pretty convoluted. You have to take your files (MP4 files seem to be greatly preferred) and drop them into an iPhoto album. Then in iTunes, choose to sync that album, being sure to check the “include videos” box. The files should then transfer over and after a library rebuild, appear in the app as available source files. It took me a couple of tries to get this to work, though. 

This strikes me as an unnecessarily long-winded way to work. I’m used to Apple forcing me to sync data when all I really want is to be able to drag and drop it like an adult who doesn’t need his hand held. But third party developers are generally pretty good at letting you put stuff where you want via the Sharing tab. If you’re reading this Avid, please change this in an update. You would make the app so much more accessible for new users. 


Moving forward

Once you have some content you can tap to create a new project. At the top left is the media selector with sections for video, still images and music, and these can be previewed prior to dropping them into a project. Drag and drop actually works really nicely and is more natural in my opinion than iMovie for iPad. The touch interface is accurate and smooth, and achieving a frame-by-frame scroll for dropping or splicing clips works well. There’s a Storyboard track as well as one video and three audio tracks and you can pinch to zoom the timeline. As far as edits go, you can define in and out markers before dropping audio or video clips into a project, and easily pick up anything in the timeline to move it. There’s a razor tool for cutting clips at the playhead and a settings buton which will display options for whatever is selected, including clip volume and in and out fades. Clips on the timeline can be shortened or lengthened by dragging their edges.

the basic interface


You can add transitions but there are currently only two: dissolve and fade. Montages are more interesting: these are pre-built templates for combining video and stills in video motion clips, which generally look OK. There’s a titling option as well with a range of fonts and while these aren’t going to trouble Hollywood anytime soon, they are workable on the iPad. One further option lets you add sound effects from the onboard library, which is quite handy. Transitions, montages and text all need rendering before they can be seen, but this is relatively quick on an iPad 2. 

Dragging clips is easy


I didn’t experience any of the crashing that some users have reported, and the app seemed very stable. Incidentally there’s a fullscreen option for playback, and the app works in Portrait as well as Landscape modes, which is a nice touch. In the main screen you can retitle projects and make global settings including default durations for transitions, stills and titles, and toggle automatic transitions. 

Adding text effects


Getting it out there

Once you have finished, you can export in a number of formats. You can render out to a video file at 480, 540 or 720p, and this will be placed in your Photos app (not Videos, for some reason) and available to copy from iTunes, thankfully. You can also compress to an email video or post to Facebook or YouTube. The final option lets you export raw project data to Avid Studio for PC for further editing, and you can get the file in iTunes’ Sharing section or upload it to iCloud. This isn’t much help for Mac users, but then iMovie for iPad can only export raw files to iMovie for Mac, so perhaps there’s a little tit for tat going on here. 

Sharing options

 

Movie maker?

Avid Studio for iPad is never going to replace a desktop system, but it is nice to edit in. The chances are you’re going to be using it to cut holiday or music videos rather than the next Scorsese feature but as far as that goes, it acquits itself well. The only major gripe is the nonsensical way you have to go about importing video to the app, which really needs changing. 

Library and settings


As for how it compares to iMovie for iPad, Avid Studio sacrifices less clarity in its interface for the sake of aesthetics. iMovie looks slicker, but it’s perhaps less clear how to use it at first, with its non-standard timeline. iMovie has a voice recorder which is nice, and has more transitions, though they are based on Themes. Avid Studio feels more like a conventional video program, and some people prefer that. At that price, it’s well worth checking out. 

Find out more about Avid Studio for iPad on the Avid site.


Check out our Media Composer: Basic Editing Techniques course!

Hollin Jones

Hollin Jones | Articles by this author

Hollin Jones was classically trained as a piano player but found the lure of blues, jazz and boogie too much to resist. After cutting his teeth producing with Portastudios he graduated to hardware and then computer-based recording, and has remained at the cutting edge of recording technology ever since. Formerly a lecturer in soundtrack composition, videographics and music production, Hollin has been a freelance writer on music technology, multimedia and Mac issues for almost a decade, along the way publishing several books on Reason. As well as consultancy, full-time journalism and the occasional tech support, he still finds time to produce his own music, running a band as well as composing for film and TV. He occasionally plays session keys for people who ask nicely.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2014 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link