X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close
评论:Blackmagic的电影摄影机
翻译谷歌翻译

Check out our Premiere: The Premiere Pro Workflow course!

如果我是用五个词来形容这台相机,它们将是:预期的,优质的,专业的,简单的,原始的。


预计

最后。

Yes, it’s real. Sometimes I can’t believe it either.

是的,是真的。有时候,我不能相信。


宣布,由于本相机从蓝色,早在2012年在NAB,人们一直希望得到它自己的手中。生产问题(最终追踪到在它前面的传感器和玻璃之间的纽带),造成许多延误和交货日期从原先承诺的2012年7月下滑。生产终于憋足了,每个人都在名单上有望获得他们在未来的一个月或两个月。

不过,让我们退一步的公告。说,这电影制作了世界感到惊讶的是低估了形势。怀疑,在几发子弹:

  • 像一个红色的排序,但成本3000美元?
  • 它拍摄的ProRes / DNxHD处理1080p和RAW在2.5K到SSD?
  • 它使用佳能EF系列镜头?
  • 它配备了免费的DaVinci Resolve的​​副本吗?

是的,是的,是的,是的。图像质量出色,而且从Blackmagic,澳大利亚公司,使视频制作齿轮吗?真的吗?其惊人,但在同一时间,只有一个局外人可以革命性地改变一个行业。

下面一个的马可Salorio视频,这将使你想要一个Blackmagic电影摄影机和恨你的佳能5D。

比较电影摄影机


意外发明了佳能数码单反相机的视频革命,几年前,和群众带来了良好的品质,浅景深。不过,低端的摄像机(包括我的5D MKIII在该组中,视频),只是不解决,1080p是能够和多数民众赞成在他们的压缩踢糊状进一步的细节。佳能数码单反相机可以产生一个可爱的形象,但它不会成为一个真正详细的一个。尼康也有相同的问题,,和松下GH2/GH3是稍微好一点。

为了得到显着更好的质量比其入门级数码单反相机,你到五位数个人的预算和许多小型企业客户的一个问题。这些摄像头,C300,1DC等的线跳跃策略使用自己的相机,避免了许多问题,但确实花了不少钱,并有自己的问题。输入的Blackmagic。

Just a screen with a few buttons beneath it.

它下面的几个按钮就在屏幕上。


质量

该传感器是2432x1366像素,以优良的品质有足够的净空高度超过HD的1920×1080。不像大多数的数码单反相机,它使用线跳跃产生的视频图像,Blackmagic的所有像素。但它不只是有关决议。

动态范围,图像,被称为纬度:可衡量的阴影和高光之间的差异。虽然数码单反相机,可能会涵盖10-11站的纬度 ,Blackmagic的权利要求13,小于阿莱Alexas 14只停止。这纬度,让您能够捕捉阴影或高光细节,而不会影响其余的射门,就意味着你可以得到一个伟大的形象,而不光填充的每一个角落。

同样重要的是,你在12位的10位,或2.5K RAW CinemaDNG拍摄1920×1080的ProRes HQ。 ,增加的位深度,为您提供了4或16(!)倍的标准8位的色彩保真度,并减少压缩,使图像保持原始状态,直至交付。这个画面的颜色分级是一个梦想。

Here’s a sample still image, uncorrected, shot in the lower-dynamic-range ProRes HQ Video mode — and it’s still great.

继承人的样本静止图像,裸眼,在低动态范围的ProRes HQ视频模式和其仍有很大拍摄的。


所有这一切都意味着,Blackmagic的电影摄影机可以产生一些出色的图像。但是,也有不可避免的问题。未成年人,他们是如何将取决于你的口味和要求。


专业的

它拿在手中感觉很扎实的,集中的专业金属善良块。比单反更重,有一幅引人注目的,引人注目的设计,手感舒适,但也许过重,长期这样做的。在左侧的插头是由坚固的橡胶瓣覆盖,并在右边的门,涵盖了SSD的海湾和USB端口不够扎实,我采取了我的手指块装载和卸载我的SSD。

The SSD door and miniUSB port (for firmware upgrades) behind a satisfyingly chunky door.

SSD门和令人满意的矮胖门背后的miniUSB接口(固件升级)。


背面是一个大的橡胶边的触摸屏周围的几个轻触式按键:播放控制按钮,菜单和电源的底部,加上光圈和聚焦按钮,在顶部的两侧。更多关于这些更高。

世界上的内部电池为90分钟左右,多数民众赞成好,但它不是热插拔。像iPhone,这显然让更强大的摄像头设计,但要求你必须使用外部电源的任何东西,但最短的芽。功率要求灵活,接受12-30V DC插头通过一个标准的,所以你不被锁定在一个单一的昂贵的解决方案。

All the standard plugs, even some old 1/4” friends.

所有的标准插头,甚至一些老的1/4的朋友。


在可能的情况下,曾尝试使用了Blackmagic标准插头和格式的,虽然他们已平衡的1/4,而不是XLR插孔,以节省空间,而不是HDMI和SDI,因为它更专业的接受。他们的RAW的格式,CinemaDNG,是一个开放的标准,你可以拍摄到的ProRes FCP X或DNxHD处理为Avid。不过,不是每个人都高兴。


简单

在最核心的东西,Blackmagic的是一个简单的摄像头,让你的头周围。只有四个菜单屏幕(相机,音响,录像机和显示设置),而期权是你所需要的,他们可能不是你想要的。白平衡目前仅限于定数的选择,再也没有3200K和4500K之间,例如,没有汽车。您可以选择ISO 200/400/800/1600,但多数民众赞成,没有汽车。你们在做休息后,用精湛的动态范围和可分级图像。

Changing these settings through the touch screen is quite quick and effective.

通过触摸屏更改这些设置是相当快的,有效的。


表示的影院式快门的角度术语 ,所以你需要了解,很高兴为1/200秒的速度最快的快门速度。事实上,为了最大限度地提高动态范围,你会来控制光的针对ISO 800,你需要一个中立的密度过滤器,如果你想控制景深。

Iris on the top left, Focus (for peaking) on the top right.

光圈在左上角,聚焦(峰值)的右上角。


IRIS按钮可以帮助保护图像剪辑,通过调节光圈,可调斑马让你验​​证。您也可以手动调整光圈使用传输控制按钮,,虽然表盘本来是很高兴的。只有最新的固件更新,您可以看到F-停止当前选择,以便更新!

没有自动对焦,专注调峰双击放大功能的按钮和屏幕仍然可以帮助你打钉。它的基本其余的你做在后。如果你使用数码单反相机的自动ISO设置,你需要学习或重新学习一些技巧。它不是太辛苦了,虽然。

Set the zebras to 100%, then get the image as bright as possible (while avoiding zebras) for best results. Did I mention the screen can be a tad reflective?

斑马设置为100%,然后得到尽可能明亮的图像(同时避免斑马)以获得最佳效果。我提一点点反光的屏幕可以吗?


电影摄影机不仅是唯一的,但是从Blackmagic Design的第一台相机。的传感器,从一个科学成像公司,没有被这使用之前,其结果是惊人的。澳大利亚摄影师约翰,布劳利是在第一次投入使用,intercut与阿莱Alexa的镜头和镜头从Blackmagic。的图像质量是没有什么比在这个价格范围内,这么多的主要原因有兴趣。

3000元,但是,它不只是一个摄像头的专业人士。除了离开的画面质量,我需要一个摄像头事件,人们可能会说一个小时或更长时间,摄像机在我的预算范围只是一点都没够好。消费类视频摄像机,我的眼睛,产生过份锐利饱和的,嘈杂的蘑菇一堆。数码单反相机是很不错,但在录音时长的限制,容易产生过热现象,并容易失真和云纹,可以摧毁一个图像。

下面的一小段,我在一个伟大的新的酿酒厂拍摄了Blackmagic。

绿色灯塔酿造有限公司 VIMEO 伊恩·安德森 在澳大利亚国庆日


当然,这一切成为次要的,因为你看到令人吃惊的是如何好这个经济实惠的图像。要看到它是需要它。它有怪癖,但他们可以在很大程度上被绕过。是的,传感器更小,给人一种较高的作物因素和放大的图像,所以你需要一个良好的广角镜头比大多数的大炮。是的,你需要一个电池,如果你想要把它外面。是的,在屏幕上可以反光,但这样可以一个数码单反相机。是的,当前的固件niggles,但有修复的方式。不,它不拍摄高帧速率,30是极限。我们不能拥有一切。


结论

Blackmagic的电影摄影机是很多东西。对于电影的专业人士,一个巨大的收集现有的齿轮,它是一个巨大的B-CAM。考虑微四三分之二的安装版本,如果你有昂贵的电影镜头,你会像适应。

本次个运营商使用数码单反相机的小药盒,其很大的一个摄像头,可以让你产生梦幻般的图像与拓展空间。你可以操纵它,你可以用它单独在三脚架上,你可以去赤身露体,手持一个稳定镜头。它的工作原理与你,鼓励你了解更多关于电影拍摄为你追逐完美的图像。对于每一个微小的事情错了,那里有一个巨大的东西。

不过,如果你想有一个点和拍摄经验,看看其他地方。对于任何人谁想要控制,质量和合理的价格(最低3000元的相机的固态硬盘,200元和200元的外部电池解决方案),这是很好的,因为它得到。看到的却是希望它,使用它,喜欢它。而且,如果你现在,你甚至可能得到一个的到来。

敬请期待更多的工作流程和技巧,使用Blackmagic的文章,如果您有任何要求,请留下他们的意见。


了解更多关于Blackmagic的电影摄影机这里

Check out our Premiere: The Premiere Pro Workflow course!

Iain Anderson

Iain Anderson | Articles by this author

Iain Anderson is an editor, animator, designer, developer and Apple Certified Trainer based in Brisbane, Australia. He has taught privately and in tertiary institutions, and has freelanced for Microsoft and the Queensland Government. Comfortable with anything from Quartz Composer to Second Life and Final Cut Pro to Adobe Creative Suite, he has laid out books, booklets, brochures and business cards; retouched magazine covers and product packaging, shot and edited short films and animated for HD broadcast TV, film festivals and for the web.

Comments

Feb 19, 2013
Mo Volans
Amazing bit of kit, very impressive and great review Iain thanks!! Mo
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2017 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link

Going on Holidays?

TAKE IT WITH YOU!

Get a Library Pass and all Downloads are just $999

JULY ONLY

To learn more, check out our

Plans & Pricing
(Close)
Forgot password?
AskAudio Magazine
Join Now! Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close

Join macProVideo.com

Access free tutorial videos, premium articles and project files.

Share this article with friends!

Review: Blackmagic Cinema Camera

Check out our Premiere: The Premiere Pro Workflow course!

If I was to describe this camera in five words, they would be:
 Anticipated, Quality, Professional, Simple, Original. And so here’s a review based on those five words.


Anticipated

Finally. 

Yes, it’s real. Sometimes I can’t believe it either.

Yes, it’s real. Sometimes I can’t believe it either.


Since this camera was announced, from the blue, way back at NAB in 2012, people have been wanting to get their hands on it. Production issues (eventually traced to the bond between the sensor and the glass in front of it) have caused many delays and slipped delivery dates from the originally promised July 2012. Production has finally ramped up and everyone on the list will hopefully get theirs in the next month or two. 

Still, let’s step back to the announcement. To say that it took the filmmaking world by surprise would be to understate the situation. Incredulity, in a few bullets:

  • It’s sort of like a RED, but costs $3000?
  • It shoots ProRes/DNxHD at 1080p, and RAW at 2.5K to an SSD?
  • It uses Canon EF lenses?
  • It comes with a copy of DaVinci Resolve for free?

Yes, yes, yes, and yes. The image quality is outstanding, and… it’s from Blackmagic, that Australian company that makes video production gear? Really? It’s surprising, but at the same time, only an outsider can truly revolutionize an industry.

Here’s a video by Marco Solorio that will make you want a Blackmagic Cinema Camera and hate your Canon 5D.

Comparing the Cinema Camera & 5D Mk III from OneRiver Media on Vimeo.


Canon invented the DSLR video revolution by accident a few years ago, and brought good-quality, shallow depth of field to the masses. Still, their lower-end video cameras (and I include the 5D MkIII in that group, for video) just don’t resolve the detail that 1080p is capable of — and that’s before their compression kicks in to mush it further. Canon DSLRs can produce a lovely image, but it won’t be a truly detailed one. Nikon has the same issue, and Panasonic’s GH2/GH3 is only slightly better.

To get markedly better quality than their entry level DSLRs, you’re into five figures — a problem for personal budgets and many smaller corporate ones. Those cameras, the C300, 1DC and so on, avoid the many problems of the line-skipping strategy used by most of their cameras, but cost a pretty penny indeed — and have their own issues. Enter the Blackmagic.

Just a screen with a few buttons beneath it.

Just a screen with a few buttons beneath it.


Quality

The sensor is 2432x1366 pixels, with enough headroom over HD’s 1920x1080 to give excellent quality. Unlike most DSLRs, which use line skipping to produce their video image, the Blackmagic uses all its pixels. But it’s not just about the resolution.

Dynamic range, for images, is known as latitude: the difference between the measurable shadows and the highlights. While a DSLR might cover 10-11 stops of latitude, the Blackmagic claims 13, only a stop less than the Arri Alexa’s 14. That latitude allows you to capture shadow or highlight detail without compromising the rest of the shot, and can mean you can get a great image without filling every corner with light.

Also important is that you shoot to 1920x1080 ProRes HQ at 10-bit, or 2.5K RAW CinemaDNG at 12-bit. That increased bit depth gives you 4 or 16(!) times the color fidelity of the standard 8-bit, and the reduced compression means that images remain pristine until delivery. Color grading with this footage is a dream.

Here’s a sample still image, uncorrected, shot in the lower-dynamic-range ProRes HQ Video mode — and it’s still great.

Here’s a sample still image, uncorrected, shot in the lower-dynamic-range ProRes HQ Video mode — and it’s still great.


All of that means that the Blackmagic Cinema Camera can produce some excellent images. However, there are inevitable issues. How minor they are will depend on your tastes and requirements.


Professional

It feels solid in the hand, a concentrated block of professional metal goodness. Heavier than a DSLR and with a striking, attention-grabbing design, it’s comfortable to hold but perhaps too heavy to do so for long. Plugs on the left are covered by sturdy rubber flaps, and the door on the right that covers the SSD bay and USB port is solid enough that I’ve taken chunks off my finger loading and unloading my SSD.

The SSD door and miniUSB port (for firmware upgrades) behind a satisfyingly chunky door.

The SSD door and miniUSB port (for firmware upgrades) behind a satisfyingly chunky door.


The back is a big rubber-edged touchscreen surrounded by several soft-touch buttons: playback controls, a menu and power at the bottom, plus an Iris and Focus button at the top on the sides. More on those later.

There’s an internal battery that’s good for 90 minutes or so, but it’s not swappable. Like an iPhone, this apparently makes the camera design more robust, but demands that you use an external power source for anything but the shortest shoots. The power requirements are flexible, accepting 12-30V through a standard DC plug, so you’re not locked in to a single expensive solution.

All the standard plugs, even some old 1/4” friends.

All the standard plugs, even some old 1/4” friends.


Where possible, Blackmagic have tried to use “standard” plugs and formats, though they’ve used balanced 1/4” jacks instead of XLR to save space, and SDI instead of HDMI because it’s more professionally accepted. Their RAW format, CinemaDNG, is an open standard, and you can shoot to ProRes for FCP X or DNxHD for Avid. Still, not everyone is happy.


Simple

At the core of things, the Blackmagic is a simple camera to get your head around. There are only four menu screens (Camera, Audio, Recorder and Display settings) and while the options are all you need, they might not be all you want. White balance is currently limited to a set number of choices — there’s nothing between 3200K and 4500K, for example — and no auto. You can choose ISO 200/400/800/1600, but that’s all — and no auto. The rest you’ll have to do in post using the superb dynamic range and gradable image.

Changing these settings through the touch screen is quite quick and effective.

Changing these settings through the touch screen is quite quick and effective.


Shutter speed is expressed using the cinema-style shutter angle terminology, so you’ll need to learn about that and be happy with 1/200 second as your fastest. Indeed, to maximise dynamic range you’ll have to control the light to target ISO 800, and you’ll need an neutral density filter if you want to control your depth of field.

Iris on the top left, Focus (for peaking) on the top right.

Iris on the top left, Focus (for peaking) on the top right.


The Iris button can help — it protects the image from clipping by adjusting the aperture, and adjustable zebras let you verify that. You can also tweak aperture manually using the transport control buttons, though a dial would have been nice. Only the most recent firmware update allows you to see the F-stop currently selected — so update!

With no auto-focus, a dedicated Focus peaking button and the screen’s double-tap-zoom-in feature can still help you to nail it. It’s the basics — the rest you do in post. If you’re used to a DSLR set to auto ISO, you’ll need to learn or relearn some skills. It’s not too hard, though.

Set the zebras to 100%, then get the image as bright as possible (while avoiding zebras) for best results. Did I mention the screen can be a tad reflective?

Set the zebras to 100%, then get the image as bright as possible (while avoiding zebras) for best results. Did I mention the screen can be a tad reflective?


Original

The Cinema Camera is not just unique, but the first camera from Blackmagic Design. The sensor, from a scientific imaging company, hasn’t been put to this use before, and the results are amazing. Australian cinematographer John Brawley was the first to put it into use, and footage from the Blackmagic was intercut with footage from the Arri Alexa. The quality of the image is like nothing else in this price range, and the main reason so many are interested.

For $3000, though, it’s not just a camera for professionals. Leaving the picture quality aside, I needed a camera to cover events where people might speak for an hour or more, and video cameras in my price range just weren’t good enough. Consumer video cameras, to my eyes, produce an oversharpened pile of saturated, noisy mush. DSLRs are very good, but limited in recording length, prone to overheating, and susceptible to aliasing and moire that can destroy an image.

Here’s a short piece I shot at a great new brewery on the Blackmagic.

Australia Day at the Green Beacon Brewing Co from Iain Anderson on Vimeo.


Of course, all that becomes secondary as you see how staggeringly good this affordable image is. To see it is to want it. It has quirks, but they can largely be worked around. Yes, the sensor is smaller than most of the Canons, giving a higher crop factor and a more zoomed-in image — so you’ll need a good wide lens. Yes, you’ll need a battery if you want to take it outside. Yes, the screen can be reflective, but so can a DSLR’s. Yes, the current firmware has niggles, but there are fixes on the way. No, it doesn’t shoot high frame rates; 30 is the limit. We can’t have everything.


Conclusion

The Blackmagic Cinema Camera is many things. For a film professional with a huge collection of existing gear, it’s a great B-cam. Consider the Micro-Four-Thirds mount version if you have expensive cinema lenses you’d like to adapt.

For the solo operator using DSLRs with a small kit, it’s a great A-cam, that lets you produce fantastic images with room to expand. You can rig it up, you can use it alone on a tripod, you can go naked and handheld (with a stabilized lens). It works with you, encouraging you to learn more about filmmaking as you chase that perfect image. For every tiny thing wrong, there’s a huge thing right.

Still, if you want a point-and-shoot experience, look elsewhere. For anyone who wants control, quality, and reasonable cost (at minimum $3000 for the camera, $200 for an SSD and $200 for an external battery solution) then this is as good as it gets today. To see it is to want it, to use it is to love it. And if you order now, you might even get one soon.

Stay tuned for more articles on workflows and other tips using the Blackmagic — and if you have any requests, please leave them in the comments.


Learn more about the Blackmagic Cinema Camera here.

Check out our Premiere: The Premiere Pro Workflow course!

Iain Anderson

Iain Anderson | Articles by this author

Iain Anderson is an editor, animator, designer, developer and Apple Certified Trainer based in Brisbane, Australia. He has taught privately and in tertiary institutions, and has freelanced for Microsoft and the Queensland Government. Comfortable with anything from Quartz Composer to Second Life and Final Cut Pro to Adobe Creative Suite, he has laid out books, booklets, brochures and business cards; retouched magazine covers and product packaging, shot and edited short films and animated for HD broadcast TV, film festivals and for the web.

Comments

Feb 19, 2013
Mo Volans
Amazing bit of kit, very impressive and great review Iain thanks!! Mo
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2014 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link