macProVideo.com
Forums
  • MineHead
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Sep 13th, 2008
    using plugins on multi-outs (Stylus RMX)
    I've got a nice little template that I use for Stylus RMX (to use 8 outputs) in Ableton Live but I cannot use individual plugins on the separate MIDI tracks, can someone help me get this reorganized so I can make this work ? there must be a way. thanks very much. Stylus RMX 1.9.6e Live 8.2 OSX 10.7.2
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007
    Re: using plugins on multi-outs (Stylus RMX)
    Hi Minehead, Are you trying to use MIDI effects or Audio effects on the channels?
    Reply
  • MineHead
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Sep 13th, 2008
    Re: using plugins on multi-outs (Stylus RMX)
    hey Gary, I'm familiar with using MIDI FX in Logic, but because of the odd nature of Stylus RMX, I like to use Live for Stylus and hopefully with 3rd party plugins. That's the rub, in Logic you can use 3rd party plug-ins as MIDI FX, but Live seems to be different. Maybe I'm missing something, I'd appreciate your help very much, thanks for the quick reply. Earl
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007
    Re: using plugins on multi-outs (Stylus RMX)
    Hi Minehead, I have Stylus installed on my G5 which doesn't have Ableton, and then my Macbook has Ableton, and not Stylus. Let me install Stylus on my Macbook and test with Ableton to see how to get the correct results I'll report back in a few hours with the results.
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007
    Re: using plugins on multi-outs (Stylus RMX)
    Hi Minehead, I think I have figured out how to do the multi-out you require in Ableton with Stylus. So first add Stylus to a MIDI channel as an instrument. You can assign a different Stylus groove to the 8 different channels. Then under the Mixer tab in Stylus you can assign each to a different out (OUT A, OUT B etc...) Then in Ableton on another Audio Track make sure Stylus is chosen under the Audio From tab, and then underneath that you can choose which channel (OUT B will be 3/4 Stylus RMX, OUT C will be 5/6 Stylus RMX). You can create more Audio tracks for the additional Stylus channels. Make sure that under monitor on the Audio track it is set to IN or else you will not hear any audio. No you can process the channels individually in Ableton to your desire. Hope this is correct in what you were meaning.
    Reply
  • MineHead
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Sep 13th, 2008
    Re: using plugins on multi-outs (Stylus RMX)
    u r a genius ! looks/sounds great !! thx very much !
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Subscribe to receive an email for each new post on this thread. Please login
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: