macProVideo.com
Forums
  • digitalmdsmooth
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Sep 6th, 2012
    Tempo Jump Tutorial Not Working
    Hey, I followed the tutorial step by step. The concept and set-up seems very simple however, I can't get past step 3. When I enter Midi Map Mode, there is no CC1 that shows up. In fact the window is blank. I went through the set-up over and over again with no luck. Is there a step that I'm missing, or that was left out of the tutorial? I'm Running: OSX 10.7.5 Live 8.3.4 APC 40 on a macbook pro 2.8ghz Intel core II duo
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007
    Re: Tempo Jump Tutorial Not Working
    Hi digitalmdsmooth, Is this the tutorial you're talking about: [url]http://www.macprovideo.com/hub/ableton-live/tempo-transitions-in-ableton[/url] Have you got any controllers connected to your system? When you assign the tempo to a external MID control that is where it picks up up the CC1 MIDI control. If you don't come right, let me know and I can send you the Ableton file that I used for the tutorial.
    Reply
  • digitalmdsmooth1
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Dec 9th, 2012
    Re: Tempo Jump Tutorial Not Working
    Yes that's the tutorial. I have a few Midi devices hooked up that ableton is seeing, the APC40, Traktor S4 (only using as a sound card for this project), and of course the IAC driver. Here's a shot of my Ableton set-up for the tempo jump project based on your tutorial. Do I have my Midi Controllers set-up incorrectly for this to work properly? [url=http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/upload/upload/server/php/savedfiles/files/mpv_40871_221430_Ableton_Set-up.png] [img]http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/upload/upload/server/php/savedfiles/thumbnails/mpv_40871_221430_Ableton_Set-up.png[/img] [/url]
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007
    Re: Tempo Jump Tutorial Not Working
    It looks all right. Maybe try set your APC40 Input to [b]On[/b] for [b]Track[/b]. If you don't come right download my Ableton project: [url]http://www.mediafire.com/?yyllcwu86feb05d[/url] Just place your audio items into the Session View. Let me know if this works.
    Reply
  • digitalmdsmooth1
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Dec 9th, 2012
    Re: Tempo Jump Tutorial Not Working
    Cool thanks man. Your project has the CC1 Midi Map Mode, but for the life of me, I still can't figure out how to duplicate your results on my end. Here's the project file I'm having trouble with. If you can have a look and see what I'm doing wrong, that'd be awesome. [url]https://www.dropbox.com/sh/r5janprp1nqwwjq/K0saLqLJVU[/url]
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007
    Re: Tempo Jump Tutorial Not Working
    Hi digitalmdsmooth1, Do you have a MIDI controller with a Mod wheel at all. All I did was make sure that my controller's Input and Output were ticked for On for the Track and Remote in the MIDI settings. Click I enabled MIDI Mode, clicked on the Tempo and then moved my Mod Wheel. This assigned it to CC! (which is my Mod wheel). If not then maybe you can try with your S$. Make sure the Input and Output are set to On for the Track and Remote in the MIDI settings. Then enable MIDI Mode, click on the tempo and then move one of the knobs/faders on your S4. This should assign the Tempo to a CC number. Check what number it assigns it to. Then choose that CC number as your MIDI Ctrl under the Envelope of your of your Dummy Clip. Hope this helps
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007
    Re: Tempo Jump Tutorial Not Working
    Also your IAC Bus was greyed out on the MIDI Track. To get it enabled again. I chose another device as the MIDI To, then Jumped back and chose the IAC Bus and then it worked.
    Reply
  • digitalmdsmooth1
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Dec 9th, 2012
    Re: Tempo Jump Tutorial Not Working
    Nice, it's working. It was the Track and Remote for the In and Out of my controller that needed to be ON. Thanks for helping me figure that out! MD
    Reply
  • GaryHiebner
    Posts: 1434
    Joined: May 6th, 2007
    Re: Tempo Jump Tutorial Not Working
    Great MD, Glad we eventually got to the bottom of it. Enjoy the tempo transitions!
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Subscribe to receive an email for each new post on this thread. Please login
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: