macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Student448800
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Oct 28th, 2019
    How to change an instrument in an imported MIDI file in Garageband iOS
    I figured out how to import some of my old MIDI files into Garageband but the instrument allocation seems to be a little random. I ended up with my drum track being assigned to a Grand Piano and while I could change to another keyboard I couldn't select a drum kit. There's a good tutorial on how to do this in MacOS but not in iOS where the controls are different. Has anyone else found this problem?
    Reply
  • Joe A
    Posts: 613
    Joined: Oct 1st, 2013
    Re: How to change an instrument in an imported MIDI file in Garageband iOS
    If an imported MIDI file has an embedded (General MIDI) program change message at the beginning of a track (or each track, in the case of a multi-channel file) it should automatically select the correct instrument, but if not you'll have to re-select the appropriate instrument(s) by hand—this is normal. That should be easy enough, though I've not used the iOS version so if there are differences or limitations there I can't say.. To switch the piano instrument that came up when I imported a MIDI drum file, I selected the track, went to Library > DrumKit, and selected a kit. Keep in mind you can't use a Drummer track for a MIDI drum file—that's a different type of track.
    Reply
  • Student448800
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Oct 28th, 2019
    Re: How to change an instrument in an imported MIDI file in Garageband iOS
    Hi Joe, Thanks for the reply. And, sadly yes, there dos seem to be an omission in the iOS version that allows you to select the library. It only allows you select another keyboard in place of the Grand Piano. Obscurely if you select the category 'Other' from the group list it allow you to select a Bass Guitar and some other instruments but no drum kits.
    Reply
  • Joe A
    Posts: 613
    Joined: Oct 1st, 2013
    Re: How to change an instrument in an imported MIDI file in Garageband iOS
    Ok, I don't have GB iOS here to test with, but here's a couple of things to try.. - Drag a [green] drum loop in [from the loop browser] to a blank area below the last track; AFAIK this should create a new track with a suitable MIDI drum instrument; then you should be able to just delete the loop region and copy/drag the already-imported MIDI drum region to that track. [Maybe once you've got a MIDI drum instrument in there accessing the Library with that track selected will point you to other drumkits?] - Create a new drum track via the Instrument Navigator[?] button [see video]; again, drag the already-imported MIDI drum region to that track. Hopefully one of those methods will work..
    Reply
  • Student460985
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Apr 29th, 2020
    Re: How to change an instrument in an imported MIDI file in Garageband iOS
    I found the following to work on iPad-Pro (iOS 13.4): 1. Change single instruments of an imported midi file 2. Adjust volume of a single instrument/track of an imported midi file Preconditions: I imported a midi file from out of my files that I before exported as midi from out of the iOS app iRealPro into a files folder. In iRealPro go to share - send audio - midi and select a folder to save the midi file. It should work the same way with midi files from other sources. In Garageband on iPad (iOS): 1. Change instrument: - create a new song - select audio recorder as instrument - on the top screen symbols menu on the left side change from instrument view to "track view" - on the top screen symbols menu on the right side select the "loops" icon - select "files" tab in the middle - search/locate your previous exported midi file - drag and drop the file icon of your midi file from the list into the tracks area - Note: if you have exported from iRealPro, several tracks are created for each instrument For each instrument you like to change, click on the very left side on the instrument symbol to select the track - on the top screen symbols menu on the left side change from "track view" to single instrument view (small keyboard icon) - in the upper part of the middle of the instrument view you can click on the instrument picture and select another from the library - on the top screen symbols menu on the left side change from instrument view back to "track view" voila, you should have the new selected instrument. 2. Adjust volume of one instrument: To change the volume of a single midi instrument, that you can't using the volume slider, you have to do the following: - in the track view click on the very left side on the instrument symbol - in the upcoming context menu select "Automation" to expand the track to show volume details - move/drag the yellow volume line up or down to adjust the volume of the complete track - Note: to just adjust only part of the track you have to add marker point. To create points you need to slide the top left "pen" icon to the right first, tab on the volume line where to add a point and then push the slider back to the left move the line up or down. Took me hours to figure this out! Very very confusing, why apple made this all so complicated! :-( Hope this helps!
    Reply
  • Joe A
    Posts: 613
    Joined: Oct 1st, 2013
    Re: How to change an instrument in an imported MIDI file in Garageband iOS
    Hi - Thanks for posting your solution(s) ! Hopefully this'll be helpful for any GB iOS users dealing with imported MIDI files..
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Subscribe to receive an email for each new post on this thread. Please login
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: