macProVideo.com
Forums
This thread relates to...
GarageBand 101
Absolute Beginner's Guide
by: Vanacoro
More Info
  • Student469162
    Posts: 328
    Joined: Sep 20th, 2020
    Master track and groove track
    Hi. I don't understand, when I need to use a master track. Is it only for mixing (automation) and I will use it after song is ready? Or is it anything like for example groove track, what I have to use during the song making.. ? Do the groove track may be only 1 track, for example drums, or do the groove track may be multiple tracks at the same time at the same song? I tried to search an educational video about master track here, but I didn't find it. Also groove track video would be good, too... Thanks!
    Reply
  • Joe A
    Posts: 1423
    Joined: Oct 1st, 2013
    Re: Master track and groove track
    In the attached course, check out video #26 on Groove Tracks in GB, and video #43 on the Master Track in GB.
    Reply
  • Student469162
    Posts: 328
    Joined: Sep 20th, 2020
    Re: Master track and groove track
    Thanks. The video showed I can select a match for a groove track. Well. He selected one match, but he didn't say, can I also select multiple matches? Or will only one match could be involved with groove track? I understand, groove track can be only a one track?
    Reply
  • Joe A
    Posts: 1423
    Joined: Oct 1st, 2013
    Re: Master track and groove track
    There can only be one Groove Track, but multiple tracks can be synced to it.
    Reply
  • Student469162
    Posts: 328
    Joined: Sep 20th, 2020
    Re: Master track and groove track
    Well. I selected track-configure track header-groove track, and then on the track list I was able to choose a yellow star. Then I shut down gb, opened again and my selection of groove track had gone. I mean, I have again set it up. Is it possible to set the groove track option as default? I mean, I may shut down gb, make a new projects in gb, but I will always have the groove track option already ready for me, not to choose it again every time. Or how it works?
    Reply
  • Joe A
    Posts: 1423
    Joined: Oct 1st, 2013
    Re: Master track and groove track
    The selection of a Groove Track and which other tracks will follow it is saved with the particular song. If you want to use it, just enable the Groove Track option in the Track headers when you create a new Project. I guess you could create a new blank Project, enable the Groove Track option in the Track headers, name that blank song My Groove Track Template [or whatever name you want], save it, and then start each new Project by opening that user Template and immediately doing Save As with the name of the new Project. But it only takes a second to enable the Groove Track header option in the default Empty Project, so this seems like more trouble than it's worth..
    Reply
  • Student469162
    Posts: 328
    Joined: Sep 20th, 2020
    Re: Master track and groove track
    What means timing of matched track with groove track? I mean, if one is a groove track and other tracks are not matched, they still play in the same time as groove track and that matched track. I understand groove track synchronizes a whole melody, but what matched track does... ? Why I need to select a matched track of groove track.. ?
    Reply
  • Joe A
    Posts: 1423
    Joined: Oct 1st, 2013
    Re: Master track and groove track
    When there's a Groove Track selected in a Project then any other Tracks checked will automatically be quantized to match the timing of the Groove Track.
    Reply
  • Student469162
    Posts: 328
    Joined: Sep 20th, 2020
    Re: Master track and groove track
    You wrote that the selection of a groove track and which other tracks will follow it is saved with the particular song. That I wrote, I selected a groove track on settings and then selected a yellow star in a song then shut down the song and when I opened it again, the groove track settings and with that a yellow star opportunity, both were gone. The groove track wasn't saved to the song. Why? How to save it?
    Reply
  • Joe A
    Posts: 1423
    Joined: Oct 1st, 2013
    Re: Master track and groove track
    Just remember to hit Save before you shut down the song -- unlike some iOS apps Mac applications don't automatically save the current state when you shut down, you have to do it by hand [from the File menu or with Command-S].
    Reply
You must be logged in to post a reply
Subscribe to receive an email for each new post on this thread. Please login
Recent Threads
Recent Posts
Feedback
Course Advisor
Don't Know Where To Start?
Ask A Course Advisor
Ask Us!
Copy the link below and paste it into an email, forum, or Facebook to share this with your friends.
Make money when you share our links
Become a macProVideo.com Affiliate!
The current affiliate rate is: 50%
Classes Start Next Week!
Live 8-week Online Certification Classes for: