macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Student468368
    Can Izotope Neutron 3 or Ozone 9 emulate an SSL Bus Compressor?
    I am trying to emulate an SSL bus compressor using Neutron 3 or Ozone 9. As an example, let's say it's this one (https://www.ikmultimedia.com/products/trbuscomp/). I notice one of the parameters on that particular model is a sidechain highpass. I see equivalents for setting the threshold, attack, release, makeup, ratio. However I do not see anything about a sidechain high pass. How would I reconstruct this using only Neutron 3 or Ozone 9 components? Do I need to have a separate EQ module with a hpf and sidechain it with a compressor module? Do I just mess with the threshold line and create a hpf there? Is there some other way I'm not thinking of? Is Neutron or Ozone better than the other for this type of thing? I am a beginner and just learning the ropes so any help would be appreciated.
  • Joe A
    Re: Can Izotope Neutron 3 or Ozone 9 emulate an SSL Bus Compressor?
    Hi - While Ozone doesn't seem to offer a sidechain option, Neutron 3 does [in both the main plug-in and the separate Compressor] so that should do it -- if you want to apply a HPF to the sidechain signal you would have to route that signal through a separate EQ/filter, probably via an extra Aux [depending on the DAW you're working in]. Keep in mind though that the original SSL Master Buss Compressor [being emulated in all those plug-in models] was strapped across the [4000G] console's main stereo outs, and if you want to emulate the basic operation of the original you don't *have* to use sidechain processing [or the HPF'd sidechain trick that some espouse], you can just run the plug-in inline on the main stereo outs.
  • Student468368
    Thanks for your quick and detailed reply! I use Reaper v6 as my DAW. I'm not 100% clear on how to wire everything together with respect to the Neutron 3 compressor and routing via an extra Aux (I'm still new at this).
  • Student468368