macProVideo.com
Forums
  • Doug
    filtering keybounce
    My keyboard sometimes bounces. When this happens, Logic records a very short first note with the correct velocity, an off, then a second note, same pitch, with a low velocity and the correct duration. In the best of all worlds, I'd like convert those to a single note with the correct velocity and duration [i]before[/i] any further processing. In the second best world, I'd like to select those in the event list and correct them there. Any suggestions? I understand programming conventions but I'm very new to Logic.
  • Christian L
    Re: filtering keybounce
    If you set up the transformer to delete (or filter out) all notes shorter than 30 ticks, would that do the job ?
  • Doug
    I don't think so. The first (short) note holds the velocity information and the correct start time. What needs to be removed, I suppose, is the first note-off and the second note-on MIDI messages of the pair.
  • Christian L
    That's a tricky one! Maybe you could set up the transform window to select all short notes, then use the glue tool on them by hand. That's a bit awkward... Does this problem occur often ? It could be worth out to fix or change your keyboard...
  • Doug
    They're simple enough to fix by hand--they are quite visible in the piano roll editor. I'll test the glue tool (I have been deleting the second note and extending the first); thanks for the suggestion. [edit: Checked the glue tool; couldn't make it work on notes in the piano roll editor... ???] As to the keyboard, bounce is an occasional problem (maybe one note in fifty) depending on what I'm playing and my own mental state. Trading or fixing the keyboard isn't an option; it's a 20-year-old Kurzweil MIDIBoard and it has generally gorgeous action and polyphonic aftertouch. Not replaceable except by a newer MIDIBoard. Later firmware editions apparently fix the bounce issue but firmware upgrades are either difficult or impossible to come by.