macProVideo.com
Forums
  • rudo
    devices...what do i need for logic express 8?
    i'm very new to this and would like some guidance as to what type of equipment would be a good starting place for me to get my music off and running. i heard the saffire le is a good device...also what kind of keyboard should i purchase on a very small budget...$500 or less is my ballpark for both devices. thanks in advance!!!
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: devices...what do i need for logic express 8?
    Hi again! I just googled saffire Le & found this site: [url]http://www.musiciansbuy.com/Focusrite-Saffire-LE-FW-Audio-Interface-with-Free-SAFFIRELEKIT.html[/url] I'm from the UK so don't know whether this is a reputable place in the States or not. Seems like a very good offer though. It really depends what you need... The saffire is a good place to start I think on your budget. Will you possibly be recording more than two inputs simultaneously, for example... As for the keyboard...I assume you mean a MIDI controller keyboard (one that doesn't have any sounds inside but triggers sounds from Logic and soft synths)? How many keys would you prefer? Are you looking for a keyboard with good key action (weighted keys) or an OK one with lots of knobs and faders you can use to control various parameters in Logic with? I use an Oxygen 8, which is very portable with 8 knobs to help me control some parameters within Logic. Other good ones to check out: M-audio keyboards... M-Audio Axiom 49 looks good Yamaha keyboards Edirol have a popular range too If you're more of a drummer you might wanna consider the Korg Pad control. Hope that helps. Buying your first load of equipment can feel scary...it gets more exciting though! Do check out reviews in magazines like SoundonSound and Computer Music. Cheers Rounik
  • rudo