macProVideo.com
Forums
This thread relates to...
Final Cut Pro 205
Pro Audio Techniques
by: benbalser
More Info
  • Student486766
    Record audio from different device (not from camera)
    Hello all, I hope this is not a total newbie question or FAQ. I want to make a piano recording from a digital piano with the piano sound being generated on the computer (Pianoteq). In order to achieve best audio quality I would like to route the Pianoteq output directly into FCP using a tool called Loopback. However, I cannot find a setting for the audio input in FCP. I can only select a camera and use its builtin microphone. Previously, I recorded the music separately as MIDI, then converted it to WAV and added it as a new track to the video, synchronized using a cue. But I would rather like to skip this step. Am I overlooking something or ist it just not possible? -Heinrich
  • Joe A
    Re: Record audio from different device (not from camera)
    Hi Heinrich - I'm not a FCPX user myself (I'm an audio guy), but it looks like there's a menu where you can select an audio Input as shown in this Apple support page: https://support.apple.com/guide/final-cut-pro/record-voiceovers-verc1faa9c5/mac I would expect Loopback (or another internal audio routing utility like Soundflower) to be available in the audio Input menu, as shown. In case it helps, I've also attached a FCPX course on audio to this thread -- Video #3 seems to touch on this setting..
  • Student486766