X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close

Свободный доступ Премиум

Доступ всей нашей библиотеке Премиум Статьи концентратор, файлы проекта и первые 10% от каждого Учебник-Video из Интернет библиотека Учебник .

Создайте свой бесплатный аккаунт!

After Effects анимации Советы: Ken Burns Effects
Перевод Google Translate

Check out our After Effects: Core After Effects CS5 course!

Вы все знакомы с документальных фильмов Кена Бернса, верно? "Гражданская война", "Бейсбол", "Джаз", и "сухой закон" Среди его наиболее известных работ. Один из распространенных особенность его документы в анимации неподвижных изображений по панорамирования и масштабирования, что стало называться "Ken Burns Effect". Хотя он и не изобретать techniqueit были вокруг в течение многих лет beforehandhe конечно популяризировал его, да так, что он пришел к носят его имя.

Из документальных Бернса так часто об исторических предметов, для которых не кадры фильма движение существует, он всегда сталкивается с той же проблемой, что каждый на его месте еще: как создать движущиеся кадры из неподвижных изображений. Один из распространенных решений является кастрюли вокруг и увеличивать и уменьшать по тем не менее, как следовать повествования (например, в групповой снимок, акцентировать внимание зрителя от группы один из членов группы), а также добавить визуальный интерес для иначе неподвижный образ.

В старые времена чистой пленки, это было сделано с трибуны камеры или анимации стенде. Этот тип камеры, как правило, быть установлен вертикально на плоский стол, на котором изображение будет сделан. Камера была сложной механической управления движением, которые позволили для медленных, точных горизонтальных и вертикальных движений для создания кастрюли и масштабирование.

В настоящее время, конечно, у нас есть программное обеспечение, чтобы сделать это, и на самом деле iMovie от Apple имеет свой собственный автоматический Ken Burns Effect. Но он ограничен в его гибкости. В этой статье мы собираемся показать вам, как создать эффект Кена Бернса в After Effects, которые дадут нам гораздо больший контроль над конечным результатам. Давайте начнем.


Шаг 1 - Настройка вашего проекта

Первая, конечно, вам понадобится предмет изображения. Я собираюсь использовать старую фотографию из Гавайских группа моего деда Сесил Давида, снятый в 1930 году (Cecil является второй слева):

Cecil David photo


Ваше собственное изображение должно быть максимально высоким разрешением насколько это возможно, так как мы собираемся быть масштабирование в нее. After Effects может компенсировать в некоторой степени для размягчения, что происходит при масштабировании изображения последних 100%, но в итоге изображение будет распознаваться, если вы увеличите слишком далеко. Таким образом, большее количество пикселей у вас работать, тем лучше.

Импорт изображения на компьютер После проекта Effects, создать новую композицию из 10 секунд, скажем, в размер кадра вы хотите использовать (у меня это 640x360) и перетащите изображение в комп. Если изображение не на всю длину Комп, перетащите конец его слоя планку так он заполняет длину Timeline.



Шаг 2 - Масштаб изображения

Мы собираемся работать с масштаб и положение свойства для этого изображения, поэтому соло давай те, набрав P к соло Должность, затем ввести Shift-S для соло Шкала наряду с Положением.

В нашем проекте мы хотим показать, вся группа, а затем увеличить на лице Сесил так что в следующий, перетащить на первое значение шкалы масштабирования изображения вниз так, что оно вписывается в кадре, но не показывает черные края. В зависимости от соотношения сторон Вашей компании и Вашего имиджа, часть изображения может быть за кадром, но это нормально, мы это исправим, что в следующем.

Scale the image


Шаг 3 - Расположение изображения

С нашей нынешней масштабирования, руководители постоянных музыкантов срезают немного, так что в следующий мы будем повторно кадр изображения. Чтобы сделать это, либо перетащить изображение в окне Comp прямо или перетащить на значения позиции под слой так, вершины глав музыкантов видны.

Position the image


Мы теряем немного ногами, но лучше это, чем их головы. Вам нужно настроить собственные масштабирования и позиции вместе для лучшего кадрирования.


Шаг 4 - Анимация шкале

Нашим следующим шагом будет увеличение на лице Сесил. Итак, нажмите на секундомер для Шкала собственность включить ключевые кадры и установить первый ключевой кадр, переместите индикатор текущего времени (CTI) в конце временной шкалы, и перетащить на шкале значения, пока мы хорошо увеличенной в лицо. Не волнуйтесь, сейчас, что лицо не по центру. Если лицо вашего субъекта был в точном центре исходное изображение, оно не будет.

Animate the scale


Шаг 5 - Анимация позиции

Затем перетащите CTI вернемся к началу, включите ключевые кадры для позиции, перетащите CTI обратно в конце Comp, и перетащить значения позиции к лицу центр Сесил. Опять же, вы, возможно, потребуется скорректировать масштабирование и положение вместе в этот момент, чтобы получить гранецентрированной и правильно масштабировать.

Animating the position


Быстрый просмотр оперативной памяти, и вот результаты:

[Видео ID = "10694"]


Шаг 6 - легкость движения

Теперь, обратите внимание, что-то существенное об этом оказывают: движение начинается внезапно и заканчивается так же, как резко, давая двигаться весь вид робота чувствовать. Одной из важных характеристик эффект Кена Бернса в том, что "камера" двигаться плавно разгоняется до полной скорости и так же плавно замедляется до полной остановки. Это потому, что в реальном мире, и с реальными камерами, ничто не может мгновенно перейти от тишины к полной движения, или остановиться мгновенно, всегда есть некоторое ускорение и замедление. Мы настолько привыкли к этому, что все остальное выглядит неестественно. Так что это важно, чтобы мы гладкие движения здесь, чтобы создать эффект.

Так, Shift щелкните на масштаб и положение ключевых кадров, чтобы выбрать их все, то управление кнопкой мыши на одном из первых и выберите ключевой кадр помощник

[Видео ID = "10695"]


И там у Вас есть эффект Кена Бернса в After Effects, с помощью всего лишь пару ключевых кадров. Как всегда, я призываю вас, чтобы экспериментировать с тем, что вы узнали сегодня здесь, и как всегда, весело!


Check out our After Effects: Core After Effects CS5 course!

Richard Lainhart

Richard Lainhart | Articles by this author

Richard Lainhart is an award-winning composer, filmmaker, and author. His compositions have been performed in the US, Europe Asia, and Australia, and recordings of his music have appeared on the Periodic Music, Vacant Lot, XI Records, Airglow Music, Tobira Records, Infrequency, VICMOD, and ExOvo labels. His animations and short films have been shown in festivals in the US, Europe, and Asia, and online at ResFest, The New Venue, The Bitscreen, and Streaming Cinema 2.0. He has authored over a dozen technical manuals for music and video hardware and software, served as Contributing Editor for Interactivity and 3D Design Magazines, and contributed to books on digital media production published by IDG, Peachpit Press, McGraw Hill, and Miller Freeman Books. Previously an Adobe Certified Expert in After Effects and Premiere, a demo artist for Adobe Systems, and co-founder of the official New York City After Effects User Group, he was, from 2000-2009, Technical Director for Total Training Productions, an innovative digital media training company based in New York and California.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2018 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link

X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close
After Effects Animation Tips: Ken Burns Effects

Check out our After Effects: Core After Effects CS5 course!

You're all familiar with the documentaries of Ken Burns, right? "The Civil War", "Baseball", "Jazz", and "Prohibition" are among his better-known works. One common feature of his docs is the animation of still images by panning and zooming, what has come to be called the "Ken Burns Effect". Although he didn't invent the technique—it had been around for many years beforehand—he certainly popularized it, so much so that it's come to bear his name.

Because Burns' documentaries are so often about historical subjects for which no motion film footage exists, he's always faced the same problem that everyone in his shoes has: how to create moving footage from still images. One common solution is to pan around and zoom in and out of the still, both to follow the narration (for example, in a group shot, to focus the viewer's attention from the group to a single member of the group), and to add visual interest to an otherwise motionless image. 

In the old days of pure film, this was done with a rostrum camera or animation stand. This type of camera would typically be mounted vertically over a flat table on which the image would be placed. The camera had sophisticated mechanical motion controls that allowed for slow, precise horizontal and vertical motion to create pans and zooms.

Nowadays of course, we have software to do this, and in fact Apple's iMovie has its own automatic Ken Burns Effect. But it's limited in its flexibility. In this article, we're going to show you how to create the Ken Burns Effect in After Effects, which will give us much more control over the final results. Let's get started.


Step 1 - Set Up Your Project

First of course, you'll need a subject image. I'm going to be using an old photo of my grandfather Cecil David's Hawaiian band, shot around 1930 (Cecil is second from the left):

Cecil David photo


Your own image should be as high a resolution as possible, since we're going to be zooming into it. After Effects can compensate to some extent for the softening that happens when you scale an image past 100%, but eventually the image will be unrecognizable if you zoom in too far. So, the more pixels you have to work with, the better.

Import your image into your After Effects project, create a new composition of 10 seconds, say, at the frame size you want to use (mine is 640x360) and drag the image into the comp. If the image isn't the full length of the comp, drag the end of its layer bar so it fills the length of the Timeline.



Step 2 - Scale the Image

We're going to be working with the Scale and Position properties for this image, so let's solo those by typing P to solo Position, then typing Shift-S to solo Scale along with Position.

In our project, we want to show the whole band and then zoom in on Cecil's face so next, drag on the first Scale value to scale your image down so that it fits in the frame but doesn't show any black edges. Depending on the aspect ratio of your comp and of your image, some part of the image may be out of the frame but that's OK, we'll fix that next.

Scale the image


Step 3 - Position the Image

With our current scaling, the standing musicians' heads are cut off a bit, so next we'll re-frame the image. To do that, either drag the image in the Comp window directly, or drag on the Position values under the layer so the tops of the musicians' heads are visible.

Position the image


We do lose a little of their feet, but better that than their heads. You'll need to adjust your own scaling and position together for the best framing.


Step 4 - Animate the Scale

Our next step is to zoom in on Cecil's face. So, click on the stopwatch for the Scale property to enable keyframing and set the first keyframe, move the Current Time Indicator (CTI) to the end of the Timeline, and drag on the Scale values until we're well zoomed into the face. Don't worry right now that the face isn't centered. Unless your subject's face was in the exact center of the original image, it won't be. 

Animate the scale


Step 5 - Animate the Position

Next, drag the CTI back to the beginning, enable keyframing for Position, drag the CTI back to the end of the comp, and drag the Position values to center Cecil's face. Again, you may need to adjust scaling and position together at this point to get the face centered and properly scaled.

Animating the position


A quick RAM Preview, and here are the results:


Step 6 - Ease the Motion

Now, notice something significant about this render: the motion starts abruptly and ends just as abruptly, giving the whole move a kind of robotic feel. One of the important characteristics of the Ken Burns Effect is that the "camera" move smoothly accelerates to full speed and just as smoothly decelerates to a stop. This is because in the real world, and with real cameras, nothing can instantly go from stillness to full motion, or stop instantly; there's always some speed-up and slow-down. We're so used to seeing this that anything else looks unnatural. So it's essential that we smooth the motion here to create the effect.

So, Shift-click on the Scale and Position keyframes to select them all, then control-click on one of the first ones and choose Keyframe Assistant > Easy Ease from the contextual menu. Now do another RAM Preview, and you'll see much smoother, more natural motion:


And there you have the Ken Burns Effect in After Effects, with just a couple of keyframes. As always, I encourage you to experiment with what you've learned here today, and as always, have fun!


Check out our After Effects: Core After Effects CS5 course!

Richard Lainhart

Richard Lainhart | Articles by this author

Richard Lainhart is an award-winning composer, filmmaker, and author. His compositions have been performed in the US, Europe Asia, and Australia, and recordings of his music have appeared on the Periodic Music, Vacant Lot, XI Records, Airglow Music, Tobira Records, Infrequency, VICMOD, and ExOvo labels. His animations and short films have been shown in festivals in the US, Europe, and Asia, and online at ResFest, The New Venue, The Bitscreen, and Streaming Cinema 2.0. He has authored over a dozen technical manuals for music and video hardware and software, served as Contributing Editor for Interactivity and 3D Design Magazines, and contributed to books on digital media production published by IDG, Peachpit Press, McGraw Hill, and Miller Freeman Books. Previously an Adobe Certified Expert in After Effects and Premiere, a demo artist for Adobe Systems, and co-founder of the official New York City After Effects User Group, he was, from 2000-2009, Technical Director for Total Training Productions, an innovative digital media training company based in New York and California.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2018 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link