X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close
在After Effects中的卡通动画:木偶脚工具
翻译谷歌翻译

如果你已经检查了我的卡通动画基础知识系列或我的MPV集线器巨蟒口动画在After Effects中的文章,你见过接合动画的一些例子:分成的部分字符(通常是在关节)关节“钉”连同锚点,动画,旋转或重新定位围绕这些锚点四肢(或JAWS)字符。这是一个简单而有效的动画技术,但往往会造成刚性的字符看起来像字符串木偶。

然而,另一个在After Effects的技术提供给我们,让我们创造更有机的,自发的“壁球和拉伸”动画。壁球和伸展液体,胶状的动画风格可以追溯到20世纪20年代,并用很大的影响,壁球和伸展式是超现实主义的极端的贝蒂动画漫画:



使用后效果的木偶脚工具,我们可以在一个高度有机的,自然的壁球和伸展式动画我们自己的角色,甚至在实时记录我们的性格的动作同步时的动作配乐,后影响。在此功能的教程,我会告诉你如何做到这一点的基础。 (我的新系列“ 卡通动画基础知识“,包括详细的木偶 ​​脚工具。)让我们开始吧。


步骤1 - 准备在Photoshop中字符

现在,不像接合动画,在那里你分解成单独的图层在Photoshop中的字符之前导入到After Effects中创建你需要的字符,您木偶引脚字符应该是一个单独的层上所有的一块。事实上,所有你的性格需求是一个alpha通道的轮廓,这将定义的字符的边缘,当你钻机木偶脚工具(这将使有点更有意义。)

对于本教程,我只是将使用一个通用的运动图,黑底白字的一个非常简单的轮廓:

simple exercise figure


您可以使用任何你喜欢的形象,当然,但它的基本图像有alpha通道,概述了它的形状。如果它没有自己的之一,你需要手动面具的图像轮廓。幸运的是,我的形象是一个简单的面膜,这是我选择它的原因之一。如果你有一个类似的形象,这里的快速掩蔽图像的方法之一。抓斗的魔术棒工具(W):

Using the magic wand tool


在较大的白色区域的图像然后点击选择所有的白色像素:

Select all white pixels


我们也希望人物的头木偶引脚动画的一部分,因此我们需要补充的是alpha通道。因此, 按住Shift键单击魔棒工具在头部区域,选择添加像素:

Add pixels to selection


现在选择选择

Create an alpha channel


我们现在有一个alpha通道完全重复的图像。然而,我们需要连接alpha通道的头部,身体,或其他木偶脚工具作为两个不同的对象会看到他们,不将它们连接成一个单一的字符。与此同时,我们不希望创造的数字是一个人造的脖子,我们想要的头部出现脱节。我们解决这个问题,直接画成的alpha通道,RGB通道。

因此,在Photoshop中,单击“通道”选项卡显示通道,关闭RGB通道的知名度,打开Alpha通道上的知名度,并选择编辑:

Alpha Channel visibility enabled


下一步设置你的背景颜色为白色,使用矩形选框工具之间选择的头部和颈部,然后将其删除选择白色:

Delete selection between neck and head


我们仍然有黑色的RGB通道,使头部会出现要分离时,对黑色复合,但alpha通道木偶引脚连接在一起的两个部分。只保存为Photoshop文件的图像保存Alpha通道,我们已经准备好开始工作后的影响。


第2步 - 设置项目后效果

摘录的音乐我要在这里使用的是长22秒,所以这是我的项目将如何长期。我要去工作在一个合理的视频帧大小为640 × 480像素。另外请注意,我的比赛背景颜色为黑色:

Working at 640x480


导入您的音乐和图像文件,将它们添加到你的比赛,我们已经准备好钻机的字符。


第3步 - 开始操纵字符

下一步是操纵木偶脚工具,这意味着,我们将动画设置变形点的字符。木偶脚的方式与工具,设置一个初始PIN点划分成一个三角形的细网的alpha通道的整个characterbased。然后,您可以添加额外的接脚点来定义关节和变形中心。之后,您可以将这些引脚左右(包括关键帧他们),以及下方的网状像素与网格扭曲和弯曲,仿佛你的形象已经印到了橡胶板,和你伸展和拉表。这是一个很酷的效果,但您需要的字符的第一个操纵。

因此,要启动,抢从工具栏上的傀儡脚工具,其设置,现在留在它们的默认值的:

Puppet Pin Tool in the Toolbar


按一下脚地区的图 - 你会看到用网覆盖的数字:

Figure is covered with a mesh


第4步 - 添加更多的控制点

下一步,我们要添加一些额外的引脚点。这些点作为动画控制点和设置限制的网格上的其他点的影响。然而,你并不需要很多点,一个简单的动画。就我而言,我只是去的身影,摇曳的臀部的音乐,同时挥舞着武器的开销,但保持它的脚。所以,我真的只需要两只脚针(让他们在地方),在臀部(这将是我们主要的动画点)和头颈部附近,这将让我们随着头部移动身体,但也有助于保持它在的地方,所以它不是完全同步与身体:

Adding pins to the head, hips and feet


实验,当然,帮助您了解如何引脚相互影响,但现在,我们只需要一对夫妇。现在你有几个地方销,你可以公正的立场上的一个点你的光标,拖动它,看看会发生什么:你会看到网格,和字符,变形遵循点:

Dragging the Pin points around


第5步 - 舞蹈!

现在到了有趣的部分:字舞。我们可以通过关键帧以通常的方式随时间字符,但它更有趣,实时记录动画,一边听配乐。这是木偶脚的最酷的功能之一。

首先,我们需要一个配乐,当然,我用我的一个旧帐的摘录。只需添加字符的比赛和时间,你想它来启动它的位置。然后,选定与木偶脚工具,按住Command键和位置超过你的一个针脚点工具,你会看到光标添加一个小的时钟图标。只要你按一下记录,引脚上的光标,将开始录制,所以为此做好准备。您可能需要一些练习来感受如何开始录制,但你总是可以撤消任何虚假启动您。

所以,请单击“开始跳舞!下面的屏幕捕获了自己的努力之一,喜欢你会看到当你自己做的东西:

[视频ID =“9196”]


而这里的结果:

[视频ID =“9195”]


基本上,这就是你需要知道木偶脚工具,在美妙的,但鲜为人知的功能开始后的效果。与往常一样,实验,并享受乐趣。

Richard Lainhart

Richard Lainhart | Articles by this author

Richard Lainhart is an award-winning composer, filmmaker, and author. His compositions have been performed in the US, Europe Asia, and Australia, and recordings of his music have appeared on the Periodic Music, Vacant Lot, XI Records, Airglow Music, Tobira Records, Infrequency, VICMOD, and ExOvo labels. His animations and short films have been shown in festivals in the US, Europe, and Asia, and online at ResFest, The New Venue, The Bitscreen, and Streaming Cinema 2.0. He has authored over a dozen technical manuals for music and video hardware and software, served as Contributing Editor for Interactivity and 3D Design Magazines, and contributed to books on digital media production published by IDG, Peachpit Press, McGraw Hill, and Miller Freeman Books. Previously an Adobe Certified Expert in After Effects and Premiere, a demo artist for Adobe Systems, and co-founder of the official New York City After Effects User Group, he was, from 2000-2009, Technical Director for Total Training Productions, an innovative digital media training company based in New York and California.

Comments

Sep 30, 2011
Stash Pro
hahaha
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2018 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link

X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close
Cartoon Animation in After Effects: The Puppet Pin Tool

If you've checked out my Cartoon Animation Basics series or my MPV Hub article on Monty Python Mouth Animation in After Effects, you've seen some examples of jointed animation: where the character is broken up into the sections (usually at the joints), the joints are "pinned" together with anchor points, and you animate the character by rotating or re-positioning the limbs (or jaws) around those anchor points. It's a simple and effective animation technique, but tends to create rigid characters that look like marionettes on strings.

However, there's another technique available to us in After Effects that lets us create much more organic, spontaneous "squash-and-stretch" animation. Squash-and-stretch was a fluid, rubbery animation style dating back to the 1920s, and used to great effect in cartoons like Betty Boop animations, where the squash-and-stretch style is taken to surreal extremes:



Using After Effect's Puppet Pin Tool, we can animate our own characters in a highly organic, natural squash-and-stretch style, and even record our character's movements in realtime while syncing the movements to a soundtrack, all in After Effects. And in this feature tutorial, I'll show you the basics of how to do just that. (My new series "More Cartoon Animation Basics" covers the Puppet Pin Tool in detail.) Let's get started.


Step 1 - Prepare the Character in Photoshop

Now, unlike the characters you need to create for jointed animation, where you have to break the character up into separate layers in Photoshop before importing it into After Effects, your Puppet Pin character should be all one piece on a single layer. In fact, all your character needs is an alpha channel outline, which will define the character's edges when you rig it with the Puppet Pin Tool (this will make more sense in a bit.)

For this tutorial, I'm just going to use a very simple outline of a generic exercise figure, white on black: 

simple exercise figure


You can use whatever image you like, of course, but it's essential that the image has an alpha channel that outlines its shape. If it doesn't have one of its own, you'll need to mask the outline of the image manually. Fortunately, my image is an easy one to mask, which is one of the reasons I chose it. If you have a similar image, here's one method for quickly masking an image. Grab the Magic Wand Tool (W):

Using the magic wand tool


Then click with it in the larger white area of the image to select all the white pixels:

Select all white pixels


We also want the character's head to be part of the Puppet Pin animation, so we need to add that to the alpha channel. So, Shift-click with the Magic Wand in the head area to add its pixels to the selection:

Add pixels to selection


Now choose Select > Save Selection... and save the selection as a New Channel to create an alpha channel:

Create an alpha channel


We now have an alpha channel that exactly duplicates the image. However, we need to connect the head part of the alpha channel to the body, or else the Puppet Pin Tool will see them as two separate objects and won't connect them into a single character. At the same time, we don't want to create an artificial neck for the figure that is, we want the head to appear detached. We solve that problem by painting directly into the alpha channel, not the RGB channels.

So, in Photoshop, click the Channels tab to show the channels, turn off the visibility for the RGB channels, turn on the visibility for the Alpha channel, and select it for editing:

Alpha Channel visibility enabled


Next set your background color to white and use the Rectangular Marquee tool to make a selection between the head and neck, then delete the selection to white:

Delete selection between neck and head


We still have black in the RGB channels, so the head will appear to be detached when composited against black, but the alpha channel connects the two sections together for the Puppet Pin. Just save the image as a Photoshop file to preserve the alpha channel, and we're ready to start working in After Effects.


Step 2 - Set Up the After Effects Project

The music excerpt I'm going to use here is 22 seconds long, so that's how long my project will be. And I'm going to work at 640 x 480 pixels for a reasonable video frame size. Also note that my comp background color is black:

Working at 640x480


Import your music and image files, add them to your comp, and we're ready to rig the character.


Step 3 - Start Rigging the Character

The next step is to rig the character with the Puppet Pin Tool, which means to set the deformation points that we'll be animating. The way that Puppet Pin works is that setting an initial Pin point with the tool divides the entire character—based on its alpha channel— into a fine mesh of triangles. You can then add additional Pin points to define joints and deformation centers. After that, you can move those Pins around (including keyframing them), and the pixels underneath the mesh will warp and bend with the mesh, almost as if your image has been printed onto a sheet of rubber, and you're stretching and pulling the sheet. It's a cool effect, but you need to rig the character first.

So, to start, grab the Puppet Pin Tool from the toolbar, leaving its settings at their defaults for now:

Puppet Pin Tool in the Toolbar


Click with it in the foot region of the figure - you'll see the figure covered with the mesh:

Figure is covered with a mesh


Step 4 - Add More Control Points

Next we want to add some additional Pin points. These points serve as animation control points and set limits for the influence of other points on the mesh. However, you don't need very many points for a simple animation. In my case, I'm just going to have the figure swaying its hips to the music while waving its arms overhead, but keeping its feet in place. So, I really only need Pins in both feet (to keep them in place), one at the hips (which will be our main animation point), and one on the head near the neck, which will let the head move along with the body but also help keep it in place, so it isn't completely in sync with the body:

Adding pins to the head, hips and feet


Experimentation will, of course, help you understand how the Pins affect each other, but for now, we only need a couple. Now that you have a couple of Pins in place, you can just position your cursor on one of the points and drag it around to see what happens: you'll see that the mesh, and the character, deform to follow the point:

Dragging the Pin points around


Step 5 - Dance!

Now comes the fun part: making the character dance. We could do this by keyframing the character over time in the usual way, but it's much more entertaining to record an animation in realtime while listening to a soundtrack. This is one of the Puppet Pin's coolest features. 

To start with, we need a soundtrack, of course; I'm using an excerpt of one of my old scores. Just add that to the character's comp and position it in time where you'd like it to start. Then, with the Puppet Pin Tool selected, hold down the Command key and position the tool over one of your Pin points; you'll see the cursor add a small clock icon. As soon as you click with that Record cursor on the Pin, the recording will start, so be prepared for that. You might need some practice to get a feel for how the recording begins, but you can always undo any false starts you make.

So, click and start dancing! Here's a screen capture of one of my own efforts, something like what you'll see when you do it yourself:


And here's the result:


And basically, that's what you need to know to get started with the Puppet Pin Tool, a wonderful but lesser-known feature in After Effects. And as always, experiment, and have fun.

Richard Lainhart

Richard Lainhart | Articles by this author

Richard Lainhart is an award-winning composer, filmmaker, and author. His compositions have been performed in the US, Europe Asia, and Australia, and recordings of his music have appeared on the Periodic Music, Vacant Lot, XI Records, Airglow Music, Tobira Records, Infrequency, VICMOD, and ExOvo labels. His animations and short films have been shown in festivals in the US, Europe, and Asia, and online at ResFest, The New Venue, The Bitscreen, and Streaming Cinema 2.0. He has authored over a dozen technical manuals for music and video hardware and software, served as Contributing Editor for Interactivity and 3D Design Magazines, and contributed to books on digital media production published by IDG, Peachpit Press, McGraw Hill, and Miller Freeman Books. Previously an Adobe Certified Expert in After Effects and Premiere, a demo artist for Adobe Systems, and co-founder of the official New York City After Effects User Group, he was, from 2000-2009, Technical Director for Total Training Productions, an innovative digital media training company based in New York and California.

Comments

Sep 30, 2011
Stash Pro
hahaha
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2018 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link