X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close

Kostenlose Premium-Zugang

Rufen Sie unsere gesamte Bibliothek von Premium-Hub Artikel, Projekt-Dateien und die ersten 10% des jeweiligen Tutorial-Video aus dem Online-Tutorial-Bibliothek .

Erstellen Sie jetzt Ihren kostenlosen Zugang!

Feature Interview: Scott Freiman - Teil 2
Übersetzt von Google Translate

Im zweiten Teil dieses exklusiven zweiteiligen Interview, Scott Freiman spricht über seine Studio (entworfen von dem legendären John Storyk ), seine Lieblings-go-to-Plug-Ins

Sie können Teil 1 des Interviews lesen Sie hier , wenn Sie nicht bereits ausgecheckt haben ...

Hören und Lesen

Wollen Sie Ihr Frühstück ohne Scrollen genießen durch den Artikel auf Ihrem Computer / iPad / iPhone? Kein Problem, lehnen Sie sich zurück und lauschen Sie den Original-Audio aus dem Interview mit Scott Freiman.

Audio für Q 1-2:

[Audio-id = "601"]


Audio für Q 3-5:

[Audio-id = "602"]


Audio für Q 6-7:

[Audio-id = "603"]


Audio für Q 8-9:

[Audio-id = "604"]


Audio für Q 10-11:

[Audio-id = "605"]


1. Scott, teilen Sie uns Ihre Studio-Setups.

Also, ich habe ein Studio, das von entworfen wurde John Storyk . John das erste Studioalbum war Jimi Hendrix Electric Ladyland. Er Studios für Whitney Huston und der Basketballspieler Shaquille O'Neal und der Schauspieler Richard Gere und Kirchen, Schulen und Hörsäle in der ganzen Welt entwickelt. Ich wusste gar nicht wissen, was seine Herkunft war, als ich ihn angeheuert. Ich wusste gar nicht in zu tief. Als ich herausfand, fragte ich ihn, warum er auf meinem Atelier, das im dritten Stock eines 100 Jahre alten Hauses befindet sich unter. Er sagte, es war eine echte Herausforderung. "Können Sie ein professionelles Studio in einen Raum, wo man nicht die vollständige Kontrolle über das Layout und du bist das, was Sie tun können, begrenzt?"

Aber er machte es klingt fantastisch! Also ich habe drei Zimmer. Mein Haupt-Steuerzentrale verfügt über eine Tastatur und einen Schreibtisch und meine Monitore und das ist, wo ich alle meine Komponieren und Mischen. Ich habe einen Stand, ein Schlagzeug passen. Es ist ein Raum im Raum: Decken, Böden und Wände sind alle von den Außenwänden getrennt. Ich habe ein drittes Zimmer, die meine Office-Bereich ist, ist es auch wie ein Lounge-Bereich. Das Zimmer und mein Haupt Mischsaal sind beide Setup für Surround-Sound. Also, wenn ein Regisseur hier kommt, können wir in meinem Wohnzimmer sitzen und einen Film in Surround oder rechts in meinem Mischsaal.

Ich habe einige großartige Spieler registriert sich in diesem Raum. Und es ist wirklich gut gearbeitet. Dann die Treppe hinunter Ich habe ein Wohnzimmer, das einen Flügel hat und die ich benutzt habe, die große Streicher-Ensembles und Dinge aufzunehmen. Also, mein Haus ist so etwas wie die Quintessenz Heimstudio in die ich schob es bin, soweit ich kann. Aber es ist sehr, sehr wenig Hardware im Studio. Ich laufe alles auf Apple (Computer) zum größten Teil. Ich habe eine Reihe von laufenden Proben Mac Mini ist und dann eine Haupt-Mac Pro. Ich habe Audio-Interfaces und Pre-und so weiter, aber ich strikt alles in der Box, so dass alle meine Effekte sind in der Box. So gut wie alle meine virtuellen Instrumente sind in der Box so, wenn ich mir viel von meinem Studio auf meinem Laptop und arbeiten auf der Straße annehmen kann.

2. Haben Sie Ihrer liebsten während auf der Straße arbeiten - für Inspiration?

No, I like my studio. I like being here and having room to move around. I have two screens and a nice big 88-key keyboard to work on. It's a nice setup so I really enjoy working here. But in a pinch if I'm on the road and I'm working on something I know I can a certain amount on my laptop. I can certainly sketch out ideas and do some composing. I'm probably not going to be mixing on my laptop but I can certainly do some editing on my laptop.


I was saying to someone the other day when I built this studio, which was 2003, the amount of money that I had to spend was a small percentage of what I would have had to spend a few years earlier. Now if I had to do it again it would probably be another huge drop because everything has gotten cheaper and more powerful, in terms of what you're capable of doing with much less hardware.

Zum Beispiel. Ich habe ein Yamaha 02R96 Mixer, die ich als einen großen Lautstärkeregler. Ich mache nichts anderes mit dem Mixer, außer es verwenden, um Route der Ein-und Ausgänge um das Studio. Das war also etwa $ 10.000-20.000 als ich ihn gekauft, das ist völlig unnötig. Man könnte es mit einem Gerät, das ungefähr die Größe eines Buches gerade jetzt zu ersetzen! (Lacht). Es ist ziemlich unglaublich, und ich oft darüber, was mein nächstes Studio aussehen Traum.

3. Was sind Ihre Go-to DAWs? Ich weiß, du bist ein Meister Pro Tools-Anwender, aber ich glaube, du bist ein Logic Anwender als auch?

Ja, nutze ich Logic. Ich bin sehr schnell in Pro Tools und ich finde, Komponieren und bewegen und Mischen in Pro Tools passt mir ganz gut. Ich habe alles organisiert (die Art und Weise Ich mag es). Ich liebe mit dem TDM-Plug-Ins, die tatsächlich nutzen Rechenleistung auf Brettern auf Ihrem Computer. Es gibt andere Wege, das zu tun, aber für mich zu tun, die auf einem Pro Tools Bord heißt, ich kann viel stärker Plugins auf einer Sitzung ohne daß uns der CPU-Leistung bringen. Und ich bin einfach sehr vertraut mit Pro Tools und es ist so ziemlich der Standard - sicher, wenn du tust Arbeit für Film und Fernsehen und du tust Mischen Arbeit.

Ich benutze Logic für die Aufnahme meiner Erzählung für macProVideo (Tutorials) . Genau das ist, was ich benutze. Ich weiß nicht, warum! Ich verwende es zum Komponieren am Anlass. Und ich versuche, und bleiben Sie up-to-date mit Logic. Aber ich ziemlich Stick mit Pro Tools vor allem weil ich sehr, sehr schnell mit ihm bin. Neben Pro Tools Ich habe ein wenig Arbeit in Ableton Live und Propellerheads Reason, die ich auf gelegentlich nenne getan.

Ich habe ein paar von anderen Software-Produkten, die ich verwende in meinem Studio. Ich benutze Bias Peak , einen Audio-Editor. Ich kann es für die Bearbeitung von Audio-Dateien zu verwenden, zur Herstellung von CDs, dafür Batch-Verarbeitung von Audio. Das ist sehr nützlich. Ich benutze Audio-Finder, die eine Form der Organisation jeder Audio auf Ihrem Computer. Sie können es Vorsprechen, können Sie copy / paste es rechts in Logic oder Pro Tools können Sie verarbeiten. Es gibt eine Menge von Fähigkeiten gibt und es ist nicht teuer! Es gibt viel teureren Lösungen, um das Gleiche zu tun, aber ich bin sehr komfortabel mit Audio Finder.

So kann man tatsächlich es so einrichten, dass, wenn Sie auf eine Audio-Datei (wave, rex, aiff, etc) auf Audio Finder auftaucht mit einem Bild von der Wellenform und fängt an, die Datei wiederzugeben. Also von genau dort können Sie ein Segment, das Ihnen gefällt, und fügen Sie ihn direkt in Pro Tools auf Ihren Cursor oder in Logic. Das ist wirklich nett! Darüber hinaus können Sie tun suchen, so, wenn ich nach oben ziehen alle meine Autos, Schließen der Tür (Samples) will, kann ich für diese und Audio Finder zeigt search mir all diese Dateien in meinem System. Ich kann schnell audition sie und finde das Ich mag, greifen ein Segment und fügen Sie ihn in eine Datei. Also das ist sehr nützlich. Es ist eine großartige Möglichkeit, all Ihre Proben organisiert.

4. Was ist mit allen 3rd-Party-Plugins, die Sie auf einer regulären Basis. Welches sind Ihre Go-to-Instrument-und Effekt-Plugins und warum?

Nun sind die beiden wichtigsten Plugins, die ich benutze Kontakt für die Wiedergabe von Samples und ich habe eine große Anzahl von Sample-Bibliotheken, damit ich, dass eine Menge, und Vienna Ensemble verwenden.

Vienna Ensemble produziert nicht nur eine erstaunliche orchestrale Bibliothek, aber sie haben einen Host namens Ensemble Pro, die Sie betreiben ihre Proben sowie andere virtuelle Instrumente in Ihrem Netzwerk ermöglicht. So, ohne Audio-oder MIDI-Kabel kann ich Proben zu anderen Computern in meinem Netzwerk entlasten und senden Sie eine MIDI-Befehl über das Netzwerk, und erhalten Sie Ton wieder über das Netzwerk.

Ich werde verschiedene Teile meiner Orchester-Bibliotheken (die dazu neigen, die reale Erinnerung intensive diejenigen sein) zum Ausführen von Wien Mac Mini Ensemble Pro setzen. Dann von Pro Tools werde ich zu den Mac Mini legen und darüber hinaus, dass ich sie behandeln, als ob sie auf der gleichen CPU ausgeführt wurden. Alles funktioniert recht problemlos. So arbeiten alle meine Probe bin ich mit dabei Kontakt und oft mit Kontakt läuft im Vienna Ensemble Pro.

Dann kein Studio sollte ohne sein Spectrasonics Stylus RMX for-Schleife Verarbeitung und Drum-Loops, Gitarren-Loops, nichts: Produkte! Und Omnisphere ist einfach hervorragend in Bezug auf die oben ziehen alles aus Pads Keyboard-Sounds und so weiter.

Ich liebe auch eine Menge von dem Zeug in die ( Native Instruments ) Komplete Paket. Hmmm ... Das sind wahrscheinlich einige der wichtigsten Dinge, die ich benutze.

Und natürlich habe ich komplett ausgelassen Sibelius . Wenn ich arbeite, neige ich dazu, wie zu schreiben, komplexere Sachen, anstatt nur zu gehen und beginnen Komponieren oder mit dem Schreiben beginnen innerhalb der DAW. Ich werde tatsächlich auf dem Papier zu komponieren auf in Sibelius und verwenden Sie dann, dass die Arbeit aus einer Anordnung, bevor ich es Datensatz in der DAW, so Sibelius ist einfach toll! Ich liebe es einfach, finde ich es sehr, sehr einfach zu bedienen und wirklich schnell für mich, zu arbeiten und es gibt so viel Fähigkeit.

Ich habe Freunde, Finale verwenden, die durch das schwöre ... Es ist irgendwie wie Pro Tools vs Logic. Sie haben Leute, die was auch immer ist bequem (für sie) zu verwenden.

5. So interessant, dass Sie Vienna Ensemble Pro erwähnen, weil ich Sie fragen, ob Sie sich auf jede neue Tutorials für macProVideo.com, dass Sie in der Lage, uns zu sagen haben arbeiten wollte.

Ha! Es gibt ein paar Ideen in die Werke, die wir reden. Im Moment bin ich auf meine Konzentration Native Instruments Komplete Tipps

Dann gibt es noch einige Anrufe für andere erweiterte Tutorials von anderen Produkten, die ich habe gesprochen ... und so sehen wir weiter.

OK. Sie sind also nicht lassen die Katze aus dem Sack, dann ...

Noch nicht! Ich muss den Chef zuerst sprechen! (Lacht)

6. Ich habe auch von Ihrem letzten Blogeintrag entdeckten auf die Kontrolle Keynote mit einem iPhone ... das durch die Art und Weise große ...

Vielen Dank!

Sie erwähnen die Vorträge über Dekonstruktion der Beatles . Also, was hat Sie an der Erstellung dieser

Nun, es ist interessant. Ich habe ein Beatles-Fan meiste Zeit meines Lebens und ich bin ziemlich vertraut mit ihrer Geschichte und ihrer Musik. Durch die Web-Ich erwischte einige der 4-Spur-Aufnahmen aus dem Sargent Pfeffer-Sitzungen, die schwimmende hatte herum. Und wie es der Zufall wollte, rief ich über Steve H eine anzuhören. Wir hörten es und Steve vorgeschlagen, ich sollte ein paar Freunden zusammen und wir sollten diese mit anderen Menschen teilen. Ich habe eine große Präsentation aus ihm heraus, wo ich wirklich über den Aufnahmeprozess gesprochen. Ich habe eine Menge Forschung zu verstehen, wie jede entwickelt und wie sich die Dinge im Studio arbeiten und welche Ausrüstung sie verwendet zu nehmen - es gibt einige gute Bücher darüber.

Und ich habe eine Präsentation in meinem Wohnzimmer für ca. 30 Personen, es glauben oder nicht. Es war ein großer Erfolg. Von diesem, begannen die Leute fragen mich, es zu tun an anderen Orten. Also in diesem Jahr habe ich vielleicht zu tun 20 Vorträgen nach oben und unten an der Ostküste der Vereinigten Staaten . In das neue Jahr habe ich ein paar Möglichkeiten kommen in der Mid-West und einige mehr auf der Nord-Ost. Ich habe Leute fragen mich um andere Arten von Präsentationen zu tun.

So viele Leute reden über die Beatles und ihre ganze Geschichte und die, die gehaßt, und all das Zeug (lacht ..) Natürlich bin ich von der Musik fasziniert und wie sie es gemacht, und gerade weil wir so viel Zugang um virtuelle Instrumente und Effekte und Auto-Tuning ... Doch die Beatles waren in der Lage, diese Songs zu machen, die zuletzt immer mit sehr begrenzten Technologie. Also, wie haben sie das getan? Und was hat ihre Songs so lange?

So ist das, was ich versuche zu erklären, dass das Publikum zu legen. Die meisten der Leute, die meine Vorlesungen zu besuchen sind nicht Produzenten und Komponisten. Ich versuche, in Englisch zu erklären, was die Ausrüstung war, dass sie genutzt werden und wie sie im Studio gearbeitet und was war George Martin, ihr Produzent Rolle. Und ich zeige den Songs und es ist ziemlich lustig zu beobachten und zu hören.

7. So in Ihrer Meinung, wenn du könntest es zusammenzufassen, was ist Ihrer Meinung nach das Besondere an den Beatles und wie wollen Sie vermitteln, dass in Ihren Vorträgen?

Richtig, es ist eine gute Frage und ich glaube nicht, dass ich die definitive Antwort. Aber ich denke, es ist eine Kombination von sehr, sehr talentierte Musiker, die nicht nur sich selbst, sondern geschoben und wollte immer besser machen, aber sie waren genau das, was wir sprachen früher zu tun: Sie waren zu dem, was um sie herum hören. Paul McCartney war es, moderne klassische Musik hören und Konzertbesuche. Er war einer der frühesten Förderer von Jimi Hendrix. Sie wurden auf die Byrds hören, die Folk-Szene an der Westküste, die Beach Boys, Bob Dylan.

Alle Gruppen waren damals einander zuhören und versuchen, herauszufinden, was sie wollten und wie sie könnte, dass top.

So war es dieses Team von Menschen, die diese großartige Musik aktiviert. Ich denke, eine Menge davon ist eine Funktion der Zeit, weil sie so innovativ wie eine kreative Zeit, dass sie wirklich ändern Popmusik waren. Aber ich glaube, es war ein Zusammenfluss von wirklich interessanten und talentierten Menschen, die das Recht Arbeitsmoral hatte.

Danke.

8. Auf Fragen eines mehr persönlicher Natur, wenn es Ihnen nichts ausmacht!

Sure!

Scott. Was macht Sie lächeln oder was macht tick?

Ha! Mmm ... Große Musik. Arbeiten mit großartigen Menschen ... und meine Familie. Ich habe eine schöne Frau und drei Kinder, und sie sind alle sehr Besonderes für mich, und sie machen mich zum Lächeln mehr als alles andere, denke ich.

9. OK. Also bist du auf eine einsame Insel stecken können 3 Alben haben. Was würden sie und warum?

Ich war noch nie sehr gut in diesem Spiel, nur weil alles auf meine Stimmungen und Gefühle abhängt. Also, ich weiß, ich werde meine Escape-Klausel hier verwenden, aber es hängt wirklich davon ab. Du weißt, ich habe Tage, an denen ich einfach nur sitzen und lauschen Sie den Beatles kann und ich habe Tage, an denen ich eine Bjork oder Frank Zappa oder wissen Sie, Abba! (Lacht) Es könnte alles sein ... und großer Filmmusik, wissen Sie, John Cogliani - Red Violin ... Große klassische Musik, von Beethoven bis Debussy zu Copland ... und dann Jazz. Also habe ich alles hören und es ist sehr schwer für mich Favoriten zu holen. Es tut mir leid ich nicht so gut, dass ich!

Aber sollte ich erwähnen, ich bin definitiv ein Album Zuhörer. Ich bin in diesem Modus fest. So viel wie ich iTunes und das Herunterladen Sachen Liebe, die ich noch kaufen Alben.

10. Mit Pro Tools 9 Coming Out ​​vor kurzem. Ich meine, es haben einige seismische Veränderungen auf diese Weise funktioniert es schon. Gibt es etwas, über Pro Tools 9 Sie gerne mit uns teilen möchten?

Nun habe ich ein Tutorial, das macProVideo kostenlos Angebot basiert auf , was in Pro Tools 9 neue . Die beiden Hauptunterschiede sind, dass es allen Menschen, die laufen LE und M-Powered nimmt ab und bringt sie bis zu so ziemlich das gleiche Fähigkeit wie die HD folks. So ist jeder mit dem gleichen Satz von Werkzeugen ausgeführt, und Sie können nun auf jeder Hardware, nicht nur Pro Tools-Hardware. Das ist eine große Sache.

So, es senkt die Eintrittsbarriere in eine Pro Tools-System, das ist großartig. Es gibt Dinge, die ich getroffen für selbstverständlich zu einem HD-Benutzer wie Automatic Delay Compensation, die nun alle Pro Tools-Anwender haben würde. Und das ist die Idee, dass jedes Mal, wenn Sie stellen ein Plug-in oder ein Effekt oder etwas auf einer Strecke, die Sie hinzufügen ein wenig verzögern. Der Computer hat ein wenig von der Verarbeitung für das Plugin zu tun, so gibt es Mikro-Sekunden Verzögerung - aber das kann addieren. Ziemlich bald haben Sie Dinge, die nicht synchron sind, weil es Verzögerungen in Ihre Verarbeitung zugesetzt. Was die automatische Delay-Kompensation tut, ist es kompensiert, dass so bleibt alles perfekt synchron. Ich habe ein Beispiel in meinem Tutorial, wo man absolut hören kann (die Gleise) geht out of sync ohne dass es aktiviert ist.

Die mehrspurige Beat Detective, wo Sie Drum-Kits nehmen können und alles bekommen, was bis in sync mit gesäumten Beat Detective ... etwas, das wir hatten in HD, die nicht in den anderen Versionen. Das ist eine große Sache.

Es gibt ein paar andere Dinge, die sehr nützlich sind: MP3-Export und OMF zu importieren. Also habe ich Menschen zu ermutigen, check out my Tutorial, weil ich durch die meisten, was es Neues zu gehen. Es ist eine große Sache für die Nicht-HD Anwender, weil es ihnen bringt, mit allen Top-Studio in der Welt speed!

11. Excellent! So, glauben Sie, wird dazu beitragen, Pro Tools zu erhalten ist es Industriestandard-Spitznamen?

Ich denke schon. Ich glaube, sie musste etwas tun, weil (Computer-) Hardware wird immer so mächtig, dass nun den Vorteil, dass Pro Tools dedizierter Hardware im Laufe der Jahre hat sich abgeschwächt. Die Menschen sind mit Logic-Systeme, tut massiven Verarbeitung sind, und sie kann oder auch nicht mit jedem dedizierter Hardware zu, so dass. Also ich glaube, das war ein großer Schritt in die richtige Richtung für Avid. Ich denke, es war ein Weg, der ihnen zeigt, dass nach dem Erwerb Digi Gestaltung waren sie nicht aufgeben Pro Tools, aber sie waren wirklich in sie zu investieren. Ich denke, das macht es viel einfacher zu erlernen, wie man ein Pro Tools-System verwenden und haben es in ihren Ateliers, ohne einen lächerlichen Geldbetrag Kauf der Digi Design-Ausstattung und Plugins zu verbringen und so weiter.

Nun, ich danke Ihnen sehr Scott sich die Zeit nehmen, um dieses Interview zu machen!

Sie sind herzlich willkommen!

Hit den Kommentaren unten mit Fragen oder Anregungen! Danke fürs Lesen ...

Rounik Sethi

Rounik Sethi | Articles by this author

Rounik is the Executive Editor for Ask.Audio & the macProVideo Hub. As an Apple Certified Trainer for Logic (and a self-confessed Mac fanatic) he's taught teachers, professional musicians and hobbyists how to get the best out of Apple's creative software. He has been a visiting lecturer at Bath Spa University's Teacher training program, facilitating workshops on using music and digital media tools in the classroom. If you're looking for Rounik, you'll most likely find him (and his articles) on Ask.Audio & macProVideo.com.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2018 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link

X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close
Feature Interview: Scott Freiman - Part 2

In the second part of this exclusive two-part interview, Scott Freiman talks about his Studio (designed by the legendary John Storyk), his favorite go-to plug-ins & audio software, and his preference when it comes to the age old question of 'Pro Tools vs Logic'. Furthermore we chatted about his highly innovative lectures on the Beatles, why their music is timeless, and how the changes in the recently released Pro Tools 9 will affect more than just Pro Tools based studios.

You can read Part 1 of this interview here if you haven't already checked it out...

Listen and Read

Want to enjoy your breakfast without scrolling through the article on your computer / iPad / iPhone? No problem, sit back and listen to the original audio from the interview with Scott Freiman.

Audio for Q's 1-2:


Audio for Q's 3-5:


Audio for Q's 6-7:


Audio for Q's 8-9:


Audio for Q's 10-11:


1. Scott, tell us about your studio setup.

So, I have a studio that was designed by John Storyk. John's first studio was Jimi Hendrix's Electric Ladyland. He's designed studios for Whitney Huston and the basketball player Shaquille O'Neal and the actor Richard Gere and churches, schools and auditoriums all over the world. I did not even know what his background was when I hired him. I didn't even delve in too deeply. When I found out, I asked him why he was taking on my studio, which is located on the third floor of a 100 year old house. He said it was a real challenge. "Can you make a professional studio in a space where you don't have complete control over the layout and you're limited to what you can do?"

But he made it sound amazing! So I have three rooms. My main control room has a keyboard and a desk and my monitors and that's where I do all my composing and mixing. I have a booth that can fit a drum set. It's a room within a room: ceilings, floors and walls are all detached from the outer walls. I have a third room which is my office area, it's also like a lounge area. That room and my main mixing room are both setup for surround sound. So when a director comes here we can sit in my lounge and watch a film in surround or right in my mixing room.

I've recorded some great players up in this space. And it's worked out really well. Then down stairs I've got a living room which has a grand piano and I've used that to record large string ensembles and things. So, my house is sort of the quintessential home studio in that I'm pushing it as far as I can. Yet there's very, very little hardware in the studio. I run everything on Apple (computers) for the most part. I have a bunch of Mac Mini's running samples and then a main Mac Pro. I have audio interfaces and Pre's and so forth but I strictly do everything in the box, so all of my effects are in the box. Just about all of my virtual instruments are in the box so if I need to I can take a lot of my studio on my laptop and work on the road.

2. Do you find you prefer working while on the road - for inspiration?

No, I like my studio. I like being here and having room to move around. I have two screens and a nice big 88-key keyboard to work on. It's a nice setup so I really enjoy working here. But in a pinch if I'm on the road and I'm working on something I know I can a certain amount on my laptop. I can certainly sketch out ideas and do some composing. I'm probably not going to be mixing on my laptop but I can certainly do some editing on my laptop.


I was saying to someone the other day when I built this studio, which was 2003, the amount of money that I had to spend was a small percentage of what I would have had to spend a few years earlier. Now if I had to do it again it would probably be another huge drop because everything has gotten cheaper and more powerful, in terms of what you're capable of doing with much less hardware.

For example. I have a Yamaha 02R96 Mixer that I use as a big volume control. I don't do anything else with the mixer except use it to route the inputs and outputs around the studio. So that was about $10,000-20,000 when I bought it that's completely unnecessary. You could replace it with a device that's about the size of a book right now! (laughs). It's pretty incredible and I often dream about what my next studio will look like.

3. What are your go-to DAWs? I know you're a master Pro Tools user, but I believe you're a Logic user as well?

Yes, I do use Logic. I'm very quick in Pro Tools and I find composing and moving around and mixing in Pro Tools suits me just fine. I have everything organized (the way I like it). I love using the TDM plug-ins, which actually use processing power on boards on your computer. There are other ways of doing that, but for me doing that on a Pro Tools board means I can put a lot more powerful plugins on a session without running out of CPU power. And I'm just very familiar with Pro Tools and it is pretty much the standard - certainly when you're doing work for film and TV and you're doing mixing work.

I use Logic for recording my narration for macProVideo (tutorials). Just that's what I use. I don't know why! I do use it for composing on occasion. And I try and stay up-to-date with Logic. But I pretty much stick with Pro Tools mainly because I'm very, very fast with it. Beyond Pro Tools I've done a little work in Ableton Live and Propellerheads Reason, which I'll call on occasionally.

I have a couple of other software products that I use in my studio. I use Bias Peak, an audio editor. I can use it for editing audio files, for preparing CD's, for doing batch processing of audio. That's very useful. I use Audio Finder, which is a way of organizing any audio on your computer. You can audition it, you can copy/paste it right into Logic or Pro Tools, you can do process it. There's an awful lot of capability there and it's not expensive! There are much more expensive solutions to do the same thing, but I'm very comfortable with Audio Finder.

So you can actually set it up so that whenever you click on an audio file (wave, rex, aiff, etc) Audio Finder pops up with a picture of the waveform and starts to play the file. So from right there you can select a segment that you like and paste it right into Pro Tools at your cursor, or into Logic. That's really nice! Plus you can do searching, so if I want to pull up all my automobile, door closing (samples), I can search for that and Audio Finder shows me all of those files throughout my system. I can quickly audition them and find the one I like, grab a segment of it and paste it in a file. So that's very useful. It's a great way of keeping all your samples organized.

4. What about any 3rd party plugins that you use on a regular basis. Which are your go-to instrument and effect plugins and why?

Well, the main two plugins that I use are Kontakt for playing back samples and I have a large number of sample libraries so I use that a lot, and Vienna Ensemble.

Vienna Ensemble not only produces an amazing orchestral library but they have a host called Ensemble Pro which lets you run their samples as well as other virtual instruments across your network. So, without any audio or MIDI cables I can offload samples to other computers in my network and send a MIDI command over the network, and get audio back over the network.

I will put different parts of my orchestral libraries (which tend to be the real memory intensive ones) on Mac Mini's running Vienna Ensemble Pro. Then from Pro Tools I'll attach to those Mac Mini's and beyond that I treat it as if they were running on the same CPU. Everything works pretty seamlessly. So, all of my sample work I'm doing with Kontakt and often with Kontakt running within Vienna Ensemble Pro.

Then no studio should be without the Spectrasonics products: Stylus RMX for loop processing and drum loops, guitar loops, anything! And Omnisphere is just outstanding in terms of pulling up everything from pads to keyboard sounds and so forth.

I also love a lot of the stuff in the (Native Instruments) Komplete package. Hmmm... Those are probably some of the main things that I use.

And of course I completely left out Sibelius. When I work I tend to like to write out more complex stuff rather than just go and start composing or start writing inside the DAW. I will actually compose on paper on in Sibelius and then use that to work out an arrangement before I record it in the DAW, so Sibelius is just great! I just love it, I find it very, very easy to use and really quick for me to work in and there's so much capability.

I have friends who use Finale who swear by that... It's sort of like Pro Tools vs Logic. You have people who use what ever is comfortable (for them).

5. So, interesting that you mention Vienna Ensemble Pro because I wanted to ask you if you're working on any new tutorials for macProVideo.com that you're able to tell us about.

Ha! There are a couple of ideas in the works that we're talking about. Right now I'm concentrating on my Native Instruments Komplete Tips & Tricks tutorial. I'm working on the January edition which is going to be really neat. It's going to be.... (pauses)... I can leak this! It's going to be about organizing your sample library in Kontakt. Since GigaStudio has died a painful death, almost everyone is using Kontakt and I want to spend some time on how to easily organize samples. So I'm going to show some of the things that I do.

Then there's some calls for other advanced tutorials of other products that I've talked about... and so we'll see.

OK. So you're not letting the cat out of the bag then...

Not yet! I have to talk to the boss first! (laughs)

6. I've also been discovering from your recent blog post on controlling Keynote using an iPhone... which was great by the way...

Thank you!

You mention the lectures on Deconstructing the Beatles. So what attracted you to creating these  lectures on the Beatles?

Well, it's interesting. I've been a Beatles fan most of my life and I'm pretty familiar with their history and their music. Through the web I got hold of some of the 4-track recordings from the Sargent Pepper sessions that had been floating around. And as luck would have it I called over Steve H to have a listen. We listened to it and Steve suggested I should get some friends together and we should share this with other people. I made a big presentation out of it where I really talked about the recording process. I did a lot of research to understand how each take developed and how things were working in the studio and what equipment they used - there are some great books on that.

And I did a presentation in my living room for about 30 people, believe it or not. It was a great success. From that, people started asking me to do it other places. So this year I've done maybe about 20 lectures up and down the East Coast of the United States. In the new year I've got some opportunities coming up in the Mid-West and some more on the North East. I've got people asking me to do other types of presentations.

So many people talk about the Beatles and their whole history and who hated who, and all that stuff (laughs...) Of course, I'm fascinated by the music and how they made it, and especially since we have so much access to virtual instruments and effects and auto-tuning... Yet the Beatles were able to make these songs that last forever with very limited technology. So how did they do it? And what made their songs last so long?

So, what I do is try to explain that to lay audiences. Most of the people who attend my lectures aren't producers and composers. I try to explain in English what the equipment was that they used and how they worked in the studio and what was George Martin, their producer's role. And I show the songs and it's quite fun to watch and listen to.

7. So in your opinion, if you could sum it up, what do you feel is so special about the Beatles and how do you convey that in your lectures?

Right, It's a great question and I don't think I have the definitive answer. But I do think it's a combination of very, very talented musicians who not only pushed themselves and but always wanted to do better but they were doing exactly what we were talking about earlier: they were listening to what was going on around them. Paul McCartney was listening to modern classical music and attending concerts. He was one of the earliest promoters of Jimi Hendrix. They were listening to the Byrds, the folk scene on the West Coast, the Beach Boys, Bob Dylan.

All the groups of that time were listening to each other and trying to figure out what they liked and how they could top that.  So, a combination of being very talented, wanting to continually hone your craft and do better than the last thing (they) did, and having an enabler like George Martin and engineers like Geoff Emerick... who were able to take the Beatle's ideas and translate them into an orchestral score. Or Geoff Emerick knowing how to place a microphone so that John Lennon could get the effect on his voice that he wanted. John Lennon couldn't have done that by himself. He needed Geoff Emerick. And Paul McCartney couldn't have written out the score to Eleanor Rigby. He could hear it in his head, but he needed George Martin to write that out.

So, it was this team of people that enabled this great music. I think a lot of it is a function of the times, because they were so innovative in such a creative time that they really did change popular music. But I think it was a confluence of really interesting and talented people who had the right work ethic.

Thank you.

8. On to questions of a more personal nature if you don't mind!

Sure!

Scott. What makes you smile or what makes tick?

Ha! Mmm... Great music. Working with great people... and my family. I have a lovely wife and three kids and they're all very special to me and they make me smile more than anything I think.

9. OK. So you're stuck on a desert island you can have 3 albums. What would they be and why?

I've never been very good at this game, just because everything depends on my moods and feelings. So, I know I'm going to use my escape clause here but it really depends. You know I have days where I can just sit and listen to the Beatles and I have days where I need a Bjork or Frank Zappa or, you know, Abba! (laughs) It could be anything... and great film scores, you know John Cogliani - Red Violin... Great classical music, from Beethoven to Debussy to Copland... and then Jazz. So I listen to everything and it's very hard for me to pick favorites. I'm sorry I'm not so good at that!

But I should mention I'm definitely an album listener. I'm stuck in that mode. As much as I love iTunes and downloading stuff I still buy albums.

10. With Pro Tools 9 coming out recently. I mean there have been some seismic changes in that way it works. Is there anything about Pro Tools 9 you'd like to share?

Well I did a tutorial which macProVideo is offering for free on what's new in Pro Tools 9. The two major differences are that it takes all the people who are running LE and M-Powered and brings them up to pretty much the same capability as the HD folks. So everyone is running with the same set of tools and you can now run it on any hardware, not just Pro Tools hardware. That's a huge thing.

So, it lowers the barrier to entry into a Pro Tools system which is great. There are things that I'd taken for-granted being an HD user like Automatic Delay Compensation, which now all Pro Tools user have. And that's the idea that every time you put a plug-in or an effect or something on a track, you're adding a little bit of delay. The computer has to do a little bit of processing for that plugin, so there's micro-seconds of delay - but that can add up. Pretty soon you have things that aren't in sync because there's delay added into your processing. What automatic delay compensation does is it compensates for that so everything stays perfectly in sync. I have an example in my tutorial where you can absolutely hear (the tracks) going out of sync without it enabled.

The multiple track beat detective where you can take drum kits and get everything lined up in sync using Beat Detective... something we had in HD which was not in the other versions. That's a big thing.

There are a couple of other things that are very useful: MP3 export and OMF import. So I encourage people to check out my tutorial because I go through most of what's new. It's a big deal for the non-HD users because it brings them up to speed with all the top studio in the world!

11. Excellent! So, do you think this will help Pro Tools maintain it's industry-standard moniker?

I think so. I think they needed to do something because (computer) hardware is getting so powerful now that the advantage of having Pro Tools dedicated hardware has been lessened over the years. People are running Logic systems that are doing massive processing and they may or may not be using any dedicated hardware to so that. So I think this was a great step in the right direction for Avid. I think it was a way of them showing that after acquiring Digi Design they weren't going to give up on Pro Tools, but they were really going to invest in it. I think this makes it a lot easier to learn how to use a Pro Tools system and have it in their studios without having to spend a ridiculous amount of money buying all the Digi Design equipment and plugins and so forth.

Well, thank you very much Scott for taking the time to do this interview!

You're welcome!

Hit the comments below with any questions or suggestions! Thanks for reading...

Rounik Sethi

Rounik Sethi | Articles by this author

Rounik is the Executive Editor for Ask.Audio & the macProVideo Hub. As an Apple Certified Trainer for Logic (and a self-confessed Mac fanatic) he's taught teachers, professional musicians and hobbyists how to get the best out of Apple's creative software. He has been a visiting lecturer at Bath Spa University's Teacher training program, facilitating workshops on using music and digital media tools in the classroom. If you're looking for Rounik, you'll most likely find him (and his articles) on Ask.Audio & macProVideo.com.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2018 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link