X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close

Accès Premium gratuitement

Accédez à notre bibliothèque complète des articles Hub Premium, les fichiers projet et les premiers 10% de chaque Cours-vidéo de la Bibliothèque Didacticiel en ligne .

Créez votre compte gratuit!

Utilisation de Windows 8 sous VMWare Fusion Partie 1: Installation
Traduit par Google Translate

Même avant Apple a mis de l'utilisation de PowerPC vers les processeurs Intel dans ses Macs, il était possible d'exécuter Windows pratiquement dans OS X, en utilisant VirtualPC. Et quiconque se souvient cela lui permet de savoir que tout cela a fonctionné, il était assez lent et lourd parce que le code de Windows était traduit en permanence pour fonctionner sur un processeur compatible. Avec le passage à Intel, tout cela a changé et tout à coup le cerveau de votre Mac n'était pas si différent dans le cerveau d'un PC, même si le look de votre machine était très différente.

Apple a ce qui était à l'époque une étape assez audacieuse et inattendue et libéré Boot Camp, permettant à n'importe qui avec une licence Windows pour installer Windows nativement sur un Mac Intel. Le seul hic, c'est que vous aviez à démarrer en lui, afin que vous dirigiez efficacement un PC. Cela a positifs et négatifs. D'une part, vous obtenez une expérience PC complète, sans compromis de performance de l'exécution de deux systèmes d'exploitation à la fois sur le même matériel. En revanche, vous n'avez pas accès à vos fichiers et dossiers Mac car la partition Boot Camp est séparée de votre disque de démarrage Mac. Et les utilisateurs de Mac en règle préférer OS X, même si elles ont parfois d'utiliser Windows pour certaines tâches par nécessité.

Les développeurs entreprenants VMWare , ainsi que Parallels, ont commencé à développer des logiciels pour exécuter Windows dans une fenêtre à l'intérieur OS X. L'idée était que vous pourriez lancer Windows uniquement les applications et les sites Web de test et d'autres fichiers dans Windows sans avoir à redémarrer quelque chose. Vous avez accès à vos fichiers Mac facilement, et vous pouvez garder les choses comme Mail, Messages et autres applications en cours d'exécution pendant que vous faites des trucs dans Windows. Ceci est très utile pour beaucoup de gens, vous permettant de travailler avec des fichiers, archives et formats vidéo qui ne coûtent en charge sur le Mac, mais partageant facilement des données entre les machines réelles et virtuelles. Comme le temps a passé, le logiciel est devenu beaucoup plus enclins à utiliser les processeurs multicœurs et des capacités de mémoire vive hausse dans les Mac modernes et fonctionnant sous Windows dans OS X est maintenant une expérience étonnamment lisse. Regardons comment installer Windows 8 sous Fusion 5 .


Etape 1:

Lancez Fusion et sélectionnez Fichier

Pic 1


Etape 2:

Fusion devrait détecter la version Windows à partir de votre disque ou image. Dans l'écran suivant, vous pouvez utiliser Easy Setup. Cela saute plusieurs étapes plus tard en créant automatiquement votre nom d'utilisateur et mot de passe. Vous pouvez choisir de ne pas l'utiliser si vous le souhaitez, et faire ces étapes manuellement plus tard. Entrez votre clé de produit Windows ici si vous en avez un. Si vous avez une licence en volume, vous êtes en mesure de procéder sans clé.

Pic 2


Etape 3:

Les deux écrans suivants vous demandent de choisir une installation plus sûre ou plus partagée, en changeant les paramètres par défaut pour le partage de dossiers entre le client et les systèmes d'exploitation hôtes. Choisissez l'une, sachant que vous pouvez modifier ces paramètres ultérieurement. Vous êtes alors invité à télécharger VMware Tools, le logiciel add-ons qui aident à intégrer OS X et Windows avec des choses comme le glisser-déposer et une meilleure traduction graphique. Lorsque cela est fait, vous êtes redirigé vers un écran de configuration. Cliquez sur Personnaliser les paramètres.

Pic 3

Pic 4


Etape 4:

Choisissez un emplacement pour votre machine virtuelle. Cela peut être sur un disque externe, et depuis il pourrait être jusqu'à 40 ou 50 Go en taille, choisissez un endroit avec beaucoup d'espace libre. Encore une fois, vous pouvez déplacer ce lecteur virtuel tard. Vous êtes alors redirigé vers l'écran des réglages de votre machine. La plupart de ces paramètres seront tordu plus tard, mais d'abord vous devez effectuer quelques réglages matériels virtuels. Aller vers les processeurs et la section de mémoire et d'attribuer autant de noyaux que vous le souhaitez à la machine. On n'est pas vraiment suffisant pour une performance décente, deux est sensible et quatre, c'est très bien, mais peut ralentir OS X lors de l'exécution de Windows. Ceux-ci peuvent être modifiées ultérieurement, et votre choix dépend de votre Mac capacités matérielles. Attribuez une quantité décente de RAM autour de 2 Go si votre Mac dispose de 4 Go, soit environ la moitié de ce que votre Mac a autrement.

Pic 5


Etape 5:

Fermez la fenêtre Paramètres, puis choisissez Machine virtuelle

Pic 6


Etape 6:

Si vous avez choisi l'option de configuration facile plus tôt, Fusion aura créé un compte d'utilisateur et le mot de passe basé sur ce que vous mettez dans l'époque. Après quelques redémarrages votre machine virtuelle devrait démarrer à l'écran de connexion. Si vous avez des bizarreries, essayez de redémarrer la machine virtuelle et vérifient également dans le cadre du menu Machine virtuelle VMware Tools qui ont correctement installé. Sinon, choisissez de les réinstaller.

Pic 7


Etape 7:

Une fois connecté, vous êtes présenté avec l'interface de tuiles mais si vous cliquez sur le carreau Desktop, vous serez redirigé vers un bureau Windows plus familier. Être vraiment assez avancé, Fusion devrait déjà avoir détecté et partager votre connexion sans fil, clavier et souris ou trackpad et vous devriez trouver que Windows est en ligne et en cours d'exécution. Merci de VMware Tools, vous pouvez manuellement la taille de la fenêtre flottante en faisant glisser ses bords et Windows ajuste automatiquement sa résolution d'écran.

Pic 8


A ce stade, et sauf en cas de problèmes, vous devriez être en marche. Dans la deuxième partie, nous allons voir comment aller plus loin, comment modifier votre machine virtuelle pour la performance et la sécurité, comment partager des fichiers et dossiers et comment intégrer davantage de Windows avec Mac OS X.


Hollin Jones

Hollin Jones | Articles by this author

Hollin Jones was classically trained as a piano player but found the lure of blues and jazz too much to resist. Graduating from bands to composition then production, he relishes the chance to play anything with keys. A sometime lecturer in videographics, music production and photography post production, Hollin has been a freelance writer on music technology and Apple topics for well over a decade, along the way publishing several books on audio software. He has been lead writer at a number of prominent music and technology publications. As well as consultancy, full-time journalism, video production and professional photography, he occasionally plays Hammond, Rhodes and other keys for people who ask nicely. Hollin is Contributing Editor at Ask.Audio.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2017 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link

X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close
Using Windows 8 under VMWare Fusion Part 1: Installation

Even before Apple switched from using PowerPC to Intel processors in its Macs, it was possible to run Windows virtually in OS X, using VirtualPC. And anyone who remembers doing so will know that while it worked, it was pretty slow and cumbersome because the Windows code was being continuously translated to run on an incompatible CPU. With the switch to Intel, all that changed and suddenly the brain of your Mac was not all that different to the brain of a PC, even if the look of your machine was very different. 

Apple took what was at the time a fairly bold and unexpected step and released Boot Camp, enabling anyone with a Windows license to install Windows natively on an Intel Mac. The only catch was that you had to boot into it, so you were effectively running a PC. This has upsides and downsides. On the one hand, you get a full PC experience, with no performance compromises from running two operating systems at once on the same hardware. On the downside, you have no access to your Mac’s files and folders because the Boot Camp partition is separate from your Mac boot drive. And Mac users as a rule prefer OS X, even if they sometimes have to use Windows for certain tasks out of necessity. 

Enterprising developers VMWare, as well as Parallels, began to develop software to run Windows in a window inside OS X. The idea was that you could run Windows-only apps and test websites and other files in Windows but without having to reboot anything. You get access to your Mac files easily, and can keep things like Mail, Messages and other apps running while you do stuff in Windows. This is incredibly useful for many people, letting you work with files, archives and video formats which aren’t supported on the Mac but easily sharing data between the real and virtual machines. As time has gone on, the software has become much more adept at using the multicore processors and higher RAM capacities in modern Macs and running Windows inside OS X is now a surprisingly smooth experience. Let’s look at how to install Windows 8 under Fusion 5.


Step 1: Create a virtual machine

Fire up Fusion and select File > New to create a new virtual machine. Insert the Windows disc if you have one, or choose Continue without Disc to use a disk image later, which you may have if installing from a backup of an installation disc. If you have chosen a disk image, select it in the next window then press Continue. 

Pic 1


Step 2: Optionally choose Easy Install

Fusion should detect the Windows version from your disc or image. In the next screen you can use Easy Setup. This skips several stages later on by automatically creating your username and password. You can choose not to use it if you like, and do these steps manually later. Enter your Windows product key here if you have one. If you have a volume license, you are able to proceed without a key.

Pic 2


Step 3: Make basic settings

The next two screens ask you to choose a more secure or more shared install, changing the default settings for folder sharing between guest and host operating systems. Choose one, knowing that you can change these settings later. You are then prompted to download VMWare Tools, software add-ons which help to integrate OS X and Windows with things like drag and drop and better graphics translation. When this is done you are taken to a setup screen. Click Customize Settings. 

Pic 3

Pic 4


Step 4: Make virtual hardware settings

Choose a location for your virtual machine. This can be on an external drive, and since it might be up to 40 or 50 GB in size, choose somewhere with lots of free space. Again, you can move this virtual drive later. You are then taken to the settings screen for your machine. Most of these settings will be tweaked later, but initially you need to make some virtual hardware settings. Go to the Processors and Memory section and assign as many cores as you wish to the machine. One is not really enough for decent performance, two is sensible and four is great but may slow down OS X while running Windows. These can be changed later, and your choice depends on your Mac’s hardware capabilities. Assign a decent amount of RAM – around 2 GB if your Mac has 4 GB, or around half of whatever your Mac has otherwise. 

Pic 5


Step 5: Start the installation

Close the Settings window and then choose Virtual Machine > Start Up. Fusion will boot from your disk or image and should initiate the installation process. This may take a while, so go and make a drink and wait for it to complete. On modern hardware it can actually take under ten minutes, which is pretty speedy. 

Pic 6


Step 6: Log in

If you chose the Easy Setup option earlier, Fusion will have created a user account and password based on what you put in then. After a few restarts your virtual machine should boot to the login screen. If you have any weirdness, try restarting the VM and also check under the Virtual Machine menu that VMWare Tools have installed correctly. If not, choose to reinstall them.

Pic 7


Step 7: Go to the Desktop

Once logged in you are presented with the Tiles interface but if you click on the Desktop tile you will be taken to a more familiar Windows desktop. Being really quite advanced, Fusion should have already detected and shared your wireless connection, keyboard and mouse or trackpad and you should find that Windows is online and running. Thanks to VMWare Tools, you can manually size the floating window by dragging its edges and Windows will adjust its screen resolution automatically.  

Pic 8


At this point and barring any problems you should be up and running. In part two we will look at how to go deeper, how to tweak your virtual machine for performance and security, how to share files and folders and how to further integrate Windows with OS X.


Hollin Jones

Hollin Jones | Articles by this author

Hollin Jones was classically trained as a piano player but found the lure of blues and jazz too much to resist. Graduating from bands to composition then production, he relishes the chance to play anything with keys. Formerly a lecturer in videographics and music production, Hollin has been a freelance writer on music technology and Apple topics for well over a decade, along the way publishing several books on audio software. He has been lead writer at a number of prominent music and technology publications. As well as consultancy, full-time journalism, video production and professional photography, he occasionally plays Hammond, Rhodes and other keys for people who ask nicely. Hollin is Contributing Editor at Ask.Audio.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2017 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link