X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close
Macworld Expo
Traduit par Google Translate

Whatever Happened to salons?

Est-ce mon imagination, ou ne l'Macworld Expo arrive la semaine dernière? Ouais ... Google viens de vérifier et il a fait. J'ai raté le tout ... Je n'ai même pas entendu un mot à ce sujet.

Comme une personne qui est axée sur le monde de Apple Computers et logiciels Mac, il me semble étrange que ce qui était autrefois le plus grand salon de notre communauté est désormais un chuchotement silencieux qui va et vient sans faire de bruit dans les portails de nouvelles. Comment est-ce arrivé?

J'avais l'habitude de nous réjouissons de Macworld toute l'année. Il fut un temps où je savais que je voyais de vieux amis du circuit de spectacle, fête un peu, trouver de nouvelles affaires, et ont généralement un bon moment.

En 2009 j'ai fait une conférence projecteurs sur la scène principale du Macworld ... la scène même où le discours liminaire infâme. J'ai parlé pendant une heure sur un sujet que je connais intimement bien ... «Amorcer votre démarrage d'Internet - De 0 $ à 1M $." J'ai été surpris par les 30 bonnes minutes de questions après ma conférence. Les gens étaient heureux et impatients et ayant généralement un bon moment sur le salon.

Où est passé tout ce parti?

Il n'ya aucun doute d'Apple est un innovateur et un trend setter. Ils ont lancé des vagues successives de nouvelles technologies, y compris des choses comme l'iMac tout-en-un, de musique numérique portable avec l'iPod, la révolution du téléphone intelligent avec l'iPhone, maintenant l'iPad ... à bien des égards Apple a toujours été d'abord avec de nouveaux concepts. Quand Apple fait quelque chose, d'autres personnes suivent.

Apple est un innovateur d'autres aiment à copier. Quand Apple ne s'est pas présenté à l'Association nationale des marchands de musique (NAMM) salon en Janvier 2008, l'écriture était sur le mur ... les salons étaient désormais devenir insignifiante. Pomme De même sorti de Tous les salons cette année, y compris la National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) en avril la convention de 2008.

Lors de la Macworld Expo en Janvier 2009, Steve Jobs a refusé de faire la présentation Keynote pour la première fois dans plus de 10 ans, et plus important encore, Apple a annoncé qu'ils ne seraient pas de retour à la Macworld dans le futur. Le dernier clou a été enfoncé dans le cercueil de la méga foires commerciales nous sommes venus à connaître et à aimer. Apple a maintenant disparu, et le reste du monde suivra.

Raison d'Apple pour quitter le circuit salon était simple à la surface: avec plus de 200 magasins Apple transmet par toutes les grandes villes du monde, Apple pourrait désormais atteindre directement leurs clients partout où leurs clients peuvent être, de sorte qu'ils ne sont plus nécessaires pour maintenir un commerce montrent la présence. Mais en parlant avec des amis chez Apple Je suis venu à réaliser qu'il y avait une autre raison aussi ... de l'argent.

Apple stand sont énormes, et ils volent des centaines d'employés à ce stand pour montrer tous et chacun. Beaucoup de ces personnes sont des ingénieurs système de haut et le personnel de marketing des salaires commande élevé. Lorsque ces personnes sont la dotation d'un stand de foire commerciale de parler aux clients? Ils ne sont pas la création de la prochaine vague de technologies novatrices qui produisent des revenus de la société.

Il en coûte des dizaines de millions de dollars pour Apple de faire juste une foire commerciale. Multipliez ce chiffre par dix ou douze salons par an, et vous avez un gros budget dédié à servir les clients voient déjà dans le magasin d'Apple tous les jours. Il ya donc un coût d'opportunité énorme pour une entreprise comme Apple quand il s'agit de foires commerciales. Ils ont besoin de vendre un lot d'ordinateurs pour faire revenir cet argent.

Si vous êtes une foire commerciale, ayant une entreprise comme le congé d'Apple, c'est comme avoir Kmart laisser un centre commercial dans le Midwest. Apple est un locataire d'ancrage dans ces spectacles. La montre dépendent des revenus générés par Apple de facturation avec frais de stand, et ils dépendent aussi les participants que Apple tire à remplir leur salle d'exposition afin qu'ils puissent charger les autres exposants frais de stand encore plus élevé. Quand Apple va, cette micro-économie disparaît.

Cette année, Macworld a été que l'ombre de son ancienne gloire. Je n'ai même jamais entendu parler. Alors que l'année prochaine? Eh bien, si je devais deviner, l'année prochaine ce sera un fantôme de son ancien moi ... littéralement rien de plus qu'un bon souvenir dans l'esprit des gens comme moi.

Adieu Macworld ... RIP.

Martin Sitter
Publisher
macProVideo.com



Martin Sitter

Martin Sitter | Articles by this author

Martin Sitter is the Founder of NonLinear Educating Inc., and the CEO of macProVideo.com, AskVideo.com, and Ask.Audio. Martin started out as a DJ and Record Producer in the 90s. At the turn of this Century, Martin was recruited by Apple Computers to design and author their Official Software Training Curriculum for Logic, Soundtrack Pro, and DVD Studio Pro. Martin wrote the Original Apple Pro Training series books for the above topics. He's also a best-selling technical author of over a dozen books, spanning various topics in audio and video editing & design.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2018 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link

X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
Watch Tutorials
Macworld Expo

Whatever Happened to Trade Shows?

Is it my imagination, or did the Macworld Expo happen last week? Yeah ... just checked Google and it did. I missed the whole thing ... I didn't even hear a word about it.

As a person that is focused on the world of Apple Computers and Mac software, it seems strange to me that what was once the biggest trade show in our community is now a silent whisper that comes and goes without making a sound in the news portals. How did this happen?

I used to look forward to Macworld all year. It was a time when I knew I'd see old friends from the show circuit, party a bit, find new business, and generally have a good time.

In 2009 I did a spotlight lecture on the main stage of Macworld ... the very same stage as the infamous keynote presentation. I spoke for an hour on a topic I know intimately well ... "Bootstrapping Your Internet Startup - From $0 to $1M." I was surprised by the full 30 minutes of questions after my lecture. People were happy and eager and generally having a good time at the show.

Where has all that gone?

There's no doubt Apple is an innovator and a trend setter. They've pioneered wave after wave of novel technologies including things like the all-in-one iMac, portable digital music with the iPod, the smart phone revolution with the iPhone, now the iPad ... in so many ways Apple has always been first with new concepts. When Apple does something, other people follow.

Apple is an innovator others love to copy. When Apple failed to show up for the National Association of Music Merchants (NAMM) trade show in January of 2008, the writing was on the wall ... trade shows were now to become irrelevant. Apple similarly pulled out of ALL trade shows that year including the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) convention in April of 2008.

At the Macworld Expo in January of 2009 Steve Jobs declined to do the Keynote presentation for the first time in over 10 years, and more importantly, Apple announced they would not be returning to Macworld in the future. The final nail was driven into the coffin of the mega trade shows we came to know and love. Apple was now gone, and the rest of the world would follow.

Apple's reason for leaving the trade show circuit was simple on the surface: with over 200 Apple stores spread through every major city of the world, Apple could now directly reach their customers wherever their customers may be, so they no longer needed to maintain a trade show presence. But by talking with friends at Apple I came to realize there was a different reason as well ... money.

Apple's booth's are huge, and they fly hundreds of employees to that booth for each and every show. Many of these people are top system engineers and marketing staff that command high wages. When these people are staffing a trade show booth talking to customers? They are not creating the next wave of novel technologies that produce the company's revenue.

It costs tens of millions of dollars for Apple to do just one trade show. Multiply that by ten or twelve trade shows a year, and you've got a large budget dedicated to servicing customers they already see in the Apple store every day. So there is a huge opportunity cost for a company like Apple when it comes to trade shows. They need to sell a lot of computers to make back this money.

If you're a trade show, having a company like Apple leave is like having Kmart leave a strip mall in the midwest. Apple is an Anchor tenant in these shows. The shows depend upon the revenues generated by billing Apple with booth fees, and they also depend upon the attendees that Apple draws to fill their show floor so they can charge other exhibitors even higher booth fees. When Apple goes, this micro economy disappears.

This year Macworld was a shadow of it's former glory. I never even heard about it. So what about next year? Well, if I had to guess, next year it will be a ghost of it's former self ... quite literally nothing more than a fond memory in the minds of people like me.

Goodbye Macworld ... RIP.

Martin Sitter

Martin Sitter

Martin Sitter | Articles by this author

Martin Sitter is the Founder of NonLinear Educating Inc., and the CEO of macProVideo.com, AskVideo.com, and Ask.Audio. Martin started out as a DJ and Record Producer in the 90s. At the turn of this Century, Martin was recruited by Apple Computers to design and author their Official Software Training Curriculum for Logic, Soundtrack Pro, and DVD Studio Pro. Martin wrote the Original Apple Pro Training series books for the above topics. He's also a best-selling technical author of over a dozen books, spanning various topics in audio and video editing & design.


You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2018 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.