X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close

Свободный доступ Премиум

Доступ всей нашей библиотеке Премиум Статьи концентратор, файлы проекта и первые 10% от каждого Учебник-Video из Интернет библиотека Учебник .

Создайте свой бесплатный аккаунт!

Macworld Expo
Перевод Google Translate

Что же случилось с выставки?

Это мое воображение, или же Macworld Expo случилось на прошлой неделе? Да ... Google только что проверил и это сделало. Я пропустил все это ... Я даже не слышал об этом ни слова.

Как человек, который ориентирован на мир компьютеров Apple Mac и программное обеспечение, оно мне кажется странным, что когда-то крупнейшей выставке в нашем сообществе в настоящее время тихий шепот, что приходит и уходит, не делая звук в новостных порталах. Как это случилось?

Раньше я с нетерпением ждем Macworld в течение всего года. Это было время, когда я знал, что я буду видеть старых друзей из шоу цепи, партийные немного, найти новый бизнес, и вообще хорошо провести время.

В 2009 году я сделал внимания лекцию о главной сцене Macworld ... тот же этап, как печально известный презентации Keynote. Я говорил в течение часа на тему Я знаю, тесно хорошо ... "Начальная загрузка вашего Интернет Автозагрузка - от $ 0 до $ 1М". Я был удивлен полные 30 минут на вопросы после лекции. Люди были счастливы и хотят и, как правило, имеющих хорошее время на выставке.

Где есть все, что ушел?

Там нет сомнений, Яблоко новатором и законодателем моды. Они впервые волна за волной новых технологий, включая такие вещи, как все-в-одном ИМАК, портативной цифровой музыки, Игровые автоматы, смарт революции телефон с iPhone, теперь IPad ... во многих отношениях компании Apple всегда был первым с новыми концепциями. Когда Apple делает что-то, других людей следовать.

Яблоко новатор другие любят копировать. Когда Apple не явился для Национальной ассоциации музыкальных Торговцы (NAMM) выставке в январе 2008 года, письмо было на стене ... Выставки были сейчас, чтобы стать не имеет значения. Apple, так же вытащил ВСЕХ торговли показывает, что год в том числе Национальной ассоциации вещателей (NAB) Конвенции в апреле 2008 года.

На выставке Macworld Expo в январе 2009 года Стив Джобс отказался сделать Основной доклад в первый раз в течение 10 лет, и что более важно, Apple объявили, что не вернется в Macworld в будущем. Последний гвоздь загнали в гроб мега выставках мы пришли к знаем и любим. Apple, в настоящее время нет, и остальной мир последует.

Причина Apple, для выезда из схемы торговли шоу было просто на поверхности: с более чем 200 Яблоко магазинах распространяется через все крупные города мира, Apple теперь могут непосредственно достичь своих клиентов, где бы их клиентов может быть, поэтому они больше не нужны для поддержания торговли показать присутствие. Но, поговорив с друзьями в Apple, я понял, там был другой причине, а также ... деньги.

Apple, стенда огромны, и они летают сотни сотрудников, что стенд для каждого шоу. Многие из этих людей являются главными инженерами системы и маркетинга персонала, которые определяют высокие зарплаты. Когда эти люди кадрового стенде выставки разговаривать с клиентами? Они не создают очередную волну новых технологий, которые производят доход компании.

Это стоит десятки миллионов долларов на Apple, чтобы сделать только одну выставку. Умножьте это на десять или двенадцать выставках в год, и у вас большой бюджет посвященные обслуживанию клиентов, они уже видят в магазине Apple, каждый день. Так что есть огромные возможности для стоимости компании, как Apple, когда речь идет о выставках. Им нужно продавать много компьютеров, чтобы эти деньги обратно.

Если вы выставке, имея такой компании, как Apple, оставить это все равно что Kmart оставить полосу центр в Среднем Западе. Яблоко якорным арендатором в этих шоу. Показывает, зависят от доходов, получаемых от биллинга компании Apple со стендом сборы, и они также зависят от участников, что делает Apple, чтобы заполнить свои шоу полу так, они могут обвинить других экспонентов, даже более высокую плату стенде. Когда Apple идет, это микро экономике исчезает.

В этом году Macworld была тень это былую славу. Я никогда даже не слышали о нем. Так что о будущем году? Ну, если я должен был догадаться, в следующем году она будет призрак его прежнего ... буквально не более чем Светлая память в умах людей, как я.

Прощай Macworld ... RIP.

Martin Sitter
Publisher
macProVideo.com



Martin Sitter

Martin Sitter | Articles by this author

Martin Sitter is the Founder of NonLinear Educating Inc., and the CEO of macProVideo.com, AskVideo.com, and Ask.Audio. Martin started out as a DJ and Record Producer in the 90s. At the turn of this Century, Martin was recruited by Apple Computers to design and author their Official Software Training Curriculum for Logic, Soundtrack Pro, and DVD Studio Pro. Martin wrote the Original Apple Pro Training series books for the above topics. He's also a best-selling technical author of over a dozen books, spanning various topics in audio and video editing & design.

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2018 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link

X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
Watch Tutorials
Macworld Expo

Whatever Happened to Trade Shows?

Is it my imagination, or did the Macworld Expo happen last week? Yeah ... just checked Google and it did. I missed the whole thing ... I didn't even hear a word about it.

As a person that is focused on the world of Apple Computers and Mac software, it seems strange to me that what was once the biggest trade show in our community is now a silent whisper that comes and goes without making a sound in the news portals. How did this happen?

I used to look forward to Macworld all year. It was a time when I knew I'd see old friends from the show circuit, party a bit, find new business, and generally have a good time.

In 2009 I did a spotlight lecture on the main stage of Macworld ... the very same stage as the infamous keynote presentation. I spoke for an hour on a topic I know intimately well ... "Bootstrapping Your Internet Startup - From $0 to $1M." I was surprised by the full 30 minutes of questions after my lecture. People were happy and eager and generally having a good time at the show.

Where has all that gone?

There's no doubt Apple is an innovator and a trend setter. They've pioneered wave after wave of novel technologies including things like the all-in-one iMac, portable digital music with the iPod, the smart phone revolution with the iPhone, now the iPad ... in so many ways Apple has always been first with new concepts. When Apple does something, other people follow.

Apple is an innovator others love to copy. When Apple failed to show up for the National Association of Music Merchants (NAMM) trade show in January of 2008, the writing was on the wall ... trade shows were now to become irrelevant. Apple similarly pulled out of ALL trade shows that year including the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) convention in April of 2008.

At the Macworld Expo in January of 2009 Steve Jobs declined to do the Keynote presentation for the first time in over 10 years, and more importantly, Apple announced they would not be returning to Macworld in the future. The final nail was driven into the coffin of the mega trade shows we came to know and love. Apple was now gone, and the rest of the world would follow.

Apple's reason for leaving the trade show circuit was simple on the surface: with over 200 Apple stores spread through every major city of the world, Apple could now directly reach their customers wherever their customers may be, so they no longer needed to maintain a trade show presence. But by talking with friends at Apple I came to realize there was a different reason as well ... money.

Apple's booth's are huge, and they fly hundreds of employees to that booth for each and every show. Many of these people are top system engineers and marketing staff that command high wages. When these people are staffing a trade show booth talking to customers? They are not creating the next wave of novel technologies that produce the company's revenue.

It costs tens of millions of dollars for Apple to do just one trade show. Multiply that by ten or twelve trade shows a year, and you've got a large budget dedicated to servicing customers they already see in the Apple store every day. So there is a huge opportunity cost for a company like Apple when it comes to trade shows. They need to sell a lot of computers to make back this money.

If you're a trade show, having a company like Apple leave is like having Kmart leave a strip mall in the midwest. Apple is an Anchor tenant in these shows. The shows depend upon the revenues generated by billing Apple with booth fees, and they also depend upon the attendees that Apple draws to fill their show floor so they can charge other exhibitors even higher booth fees. When Apple goes, this micro economy disappears.

This year Macworld was a shadow of it's former glory. I never even heard about it. So what about next year? Well, if I had to guess, next year it will be a ghost of it's former self ... quite literally nothing more than a fond memory in the minds of people like me.

Goodbye Macworld ... RIP.

Martin Sitter

Martin Sitter

Martin Sitter | Articles by this author

Martin Sitter is the Founder of NonLinear Educating Inc., and the CEO of macProVideo.com, AskVideo.com, and Ask.Audio. Martin started out as a DJ and Record Producer in the 90s. At the turn of this Century, Martin was recruited by Apple Computers to design and author their Official Software Training Curriculum for Logic, Soundtrack Pro, and DVD Studio Pro. Martin wrote the Original Apple Pro Training series books for the above topics. He's also a best-selling technical author of over a dozen books, spanning various topics in audio and video editing & design.


You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2018 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.