X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close
Blackmagic Cinema Camera: eine grundlegende Shooting Guide
Übersetzt von Google Translate

Check out our Photoshop: Optimizing Raw Photos with ACR7 course!

Du hast eine? Oder seine Kürze und Sie wollen vorbereitet werden? Heres die unverzichtbare Leitfaden, wie man eine Blackmagic Cinema Camera betreiben, von Linsen, um Menüs zu Add-ons.


Sammeln Sie Ihre Linsen

Da der Sensor nutzt nur das Zentrum einer Linse, youre effektiv Zoomen auf das Bild, wenn auf einer Vollformat-Kamera (wie die 5D) oder APS-C (wie die 7D) verglichen. Das macht alle Ihre Linsen mehr durch 2.3x, so ein 50mm Objektiv an einer Blackmagic Cinema Camera ist wie mit einem 115mm-Objektiv an einer 5D. Wenn von Vollformat-youre kommen, könnte dies ein Schock sein, aber nicht so eine große Sache aus einem APS-C-Sensor (die eine 1.6x Crop-Faktor). Im Allgemeinen neigen EF-S-Objektiven für die APS-C-Sensor entwickelt, breiter zu sein, dies zoom-in entgegenzuwirken.

Various crop factors visualised — but remember that lenses for smaller sensors are wider, to counteract this zoom in.

Verschiedene Faktoren Ernte visualisiert aber denken Sie daran, dass Objektive für kleinere Sensoren breiter sind, um dieses zoom in. entgegenwirken


Nun decken spezifische Linsen in einem zukünftigen Gang heruntergekommenen, aber wenn man ein Zoom für den allgemeinen Gebrauch mögen, zu einem schnellen, breiten, stabilisierte Objektiv im Bereich 17-50 aussehen. Sigma, Canon und Tamron alle machen diese. Fokus ist alles manuell, so stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie genießen die manuelle Scharfeinstellung Aktion auf dem Objektiv der Wahl, und wenn Sie sich mit ND-Filter zu planen, sicher sein, dass die sich nicht drehen Sie die Filter als die grundlegende Kit-Objektiv funktioniert.

Jedenfalls habe das Objektiv? Stellen Sie sicher, dass die Kamera ausgeschaltet ist, beim Wechseln der Objektive. Das ist über es.


Bereiten Sie Ihre SSD

Seit Aufnahme youll sein auf eine 2.5 SATA Solid State Drive, müssen youll ein und stellen Sie sicher, dass seine auf der Liste der unterstützten. Nicht alle Laufwerke können Sustain beworbenen Datenraten und Blackmagic haben eine veröffentlichte

Select your disk on the left, then Erase on the right.

Wählen Sie Ihre Festplatte auf der linken Seite, dann auf der rechten Seite zu löschen.


Wie man die SSD an Ihren Mac anschließen? Festplatte Docks sind leicht zu finden in diesen Tagen, obwohl die meisten USB3 nur. Wenn Ihr Mac keine USB3, sollten Sie eine FireWire-Dock oder ein eSATA-Dock, wenn Sie eine eSATA-Karte in einem Mac Pro haben. Es sind keine Thunderbolt Docks noch nicht, aber Sie können eine Seagate BackupPlus (einmal genannt GoFlex) Thunderbolt Anschluss zu verwenden, um die meisten nackten SSDs statt zu verbinden. Sobald du bist verbunden, können Sie das Festplatten-Dienstprogramm die Festplatte ganz einfach löschen. Wenn Sie fertig sind, hängen, stoßen, dann knallen die SSD in der Seite der Kamera.


Laden Sie Ihre Batterien

Wenn nur Dreharbeiten für eine Stunde oder so youre, so stellen Sie sicher, dass die Kamera aufgeladen ist. Der interne Akku aufgeladen wird, wenn eine Stromquelle angeschlossen ist Kamera läuft oder nicht und wird für etwa 90 Minuten dauern. Für längere schießt, können Sie ganz einfach erweitern, dass mit einer externen Batterie-Lösung und ein Kabel, das im Lieferumfang enthaltene Netzteil übereinstimmt.

Im mit einem Globalmediapro V-Mount Akku und Kabel (was sie für die Überprüfung im Lieferumfang enthalten) und es funktioniert gut, Laufen für weitere 4 Stunden oder mehr. Der Akku geht in einer Gürteltasche oder hängt vom Stativ, aber es gibt kein Problem, wenn das Kabel löst, die interne Batterie schlägt in sofort.

Only 25%? Time to charge up!

Nur 25%? Zeit zum Aufladen!


Richten Sie die Audio-

Wenn Sie ein externes Mikrofon (und sollten) haben bekommen Sie Ihre Adapter: Sie müssen sich anpassen, was Sie zu einer ausgewogenen Paar 1/4 Buchsen haben. Ihre lokalen Musikgeschäft wird wahrscheinlich einige praktische Kabel. Wie üblich, wird ein externer Vorverstärker produzieren die niedrigste Rausch möglich, aber Sie können gute Ergebnisse direkt in die Kamera zu bekommen. Stecken Sie Ihre Kopfhörer an den Audio-Überwachung, aber beachten, dass es keine sichtbaren Audio Meter (noch) nicht. Passen Sie auf! Legen Sie die Audio-Pegel relativ niedrig (30% oder so), wenn youre nicht mit einem Vorverstärker.

The audio settings page — you won’t change this one too much.

Die Audio-Einstellungen werden Sie nicht diesen einen zu viel zu ändern.


Inbetriebnahme der Kamera

Auf der Rückseite der Kamera, halten Sie die Power-Taste, in der rechten unteren Ecke, um es einzuschalten. Es sollte nicht mehr als ein oder zwei Sekunden zu starten. Youll wollen in den Menüs tauchen einige grundlegende Optionen zunächst.

Für Flexibilität in der Post, stellen Sie den Recorder Einstellungen Dynamikbereich Film, und die Anzeige-Einstellungen Dynamikbereich Video. Auf diese Weise sehen youll etwas in der Nähe zu einem normalen Bild, aber youll Datensatz einen breiteren Dynamikbereich für eine viel bessere Postproduktion Erfahrung. Ich bleibe mit ProRes die meiste Zeit zur Vereinfachung der Arbeitsabläufe.

The Recorder Settings page — when you want to change format or use timelapse.

Der Recorder Settings, wenn Sie Format ändern oder Zeitraffer wollen.


Alles rund um Licht

Als nächstes stellen Sie den Weißabgleich in Kelvin. Wenn kippen Sie es ganz richtig, das ist OK seine leicht genug, um es in der Post zu beheben. Theres keine individuellen Weißabgleich im Moment.

Stellen Sie die ISO bis 800, die native Empfindlichkeit des Sensors, wenn du kannst. Die Reduzierung auf ISO 200 oder 400 wird nicht verschieben, wo der Sensor Clips die Highlights, aber es erhöht auf 1600 verschieben sich die Clipping-Grenze wird ein wenig dunkler.

Set Shutter Angle bis 180, um einen natürlichen Look zu Bewegung vermitteln. Eine geringere Anzahl (bis zu 45) ist eine höhere Verschlusszeit und eine höhere Anzahl (bis 360) ist eine geringere Verschlusszeit. Während diese anderen Einstellungen das Licht steuern kann, theyll auch Auswirkungen auf das Aussehen des Filmmaterials, so mit Vorsicht zu verwenden.

The Camera Settings page — you’ll be here all the time.

Die Kamera-Einstellungen Seite youll hier die ganze Zeit.


Was freue ich mich auf?

Unter Display-Einstellungen, um sicherzustellen, dass Zebras sichtbar sind, und auf 100% gesetzt. Zebras sind diagonale Linien, die hellen Bereiche, in denen der Sensor abgeschnitten zu zeigen, und theyre wichtig, diese Kamera besonders. Während niedrige helle Bereiche können laut sein, Arent helle Bilder ein Problem, so lange sie nicht befestigen. Da der dynamische Bereich ist so gut, und die Farbtreue so viel besser (mindestens 4x die Daten der meisten Kameras) ist es wirklich egal, wie hell es wenn ihr in Reichweite bekommt.

Wenn Sie die Schärfentiefe genau steuern möchten, müssen youll zu einer bestimmten Blende niedrigen Zahlen für geringe Schärfentiefe, hohe Zahlen für tiefe Schärfentiefe haften. Das bedeutet, youll müssen Graufilter verwenden, um Licht zu steuern, wenn Sie eine große Blendenöffnung wollen, oder vielleicht hinzufügen Lichter für tiefere Schärfentiefe.

Wenn Sie sicher sein können ein wenig flexibler mit DOF, drücken Sie die Iris-Taste oben links auf Aperture zur hellsten Einstellung möglich anzupassen, ohne Clipping. Weiter, verwenden Sie die vorherige / nächste Transport-Tasten, um Blende manuell einstellen dass das Bild ein wenig dunkler, wenn das Licht während der Aufnahme erhöhen könnte, oder heller, wenn Sie lieber ausblasen einige Highlights zu Rauschen in den Schatten zu vermeiden.

The Display Settings page — to change how you look at things.

Das Display Settings Seite zu ändern, wie Sie die Dinge zu schauen.


Metadaten

Bevor Sie schießen, tippen Sie auf den Bildschirm einmal, und geben Sie dann einige kurze Metadaten in. Zumindest, stellen Sie die Szene / Schuss / Take-Nummer, und drücken Sie dann auf die Schaltfläche Auto neben dem Element automatisch zu erhöhen. Für ein Drama, würde dies wahrscheinlich zu nehmen und für eine weniger formelle schießen, vielleicht gerade erschossen.

The Metadata entry page — to add notes about the current shot.

Die Eingabe von Metadaten, um Notizen über die aktuelle Aufnahme.


Fokus, Fokus ...

Tippen Sie zweimal auf den Bildschirm, um es zu vergrößern, dann manuell eingestellt und präzise fokussieren. Mit dem Detail in die Kamera, macht gute Fokussierung Sache, und Sie wahrscheinlich werden es nicht ohne Hilfe zu nageln. Verwenden Sie einen externen Monitor, wenn Sie wollen, oder einfach doppelt tippen.


Aktion!

Presse Rekord, entweder auf der Rückseite in der unteren linken oder dem glänzenden Taste auf der Vorderseite der Kamera. Drücken Sie erneut, um zu stoppen. Während der Aufnahme können Sie Blende, aber die meisten von den anderen Einstellungen müssen Sie das Menü aufzurufen.

All the buttons at the back.

Alle Tasten auf der Rückseite.


Prüfen Sie Ihre Dateien

Wenn Sie fertig sind, drücken Sie auf Play, um Ihre Clips zu überprüfen. Beachten Sie, dass sie wieder spielen, wie aufgezeichnet, so dass selbst wenn Ihr die Anzeige eingestellt, um den Video Dynamik zeigen, wenn Sie in Film aufgezeichnet, schauen theyll in Wiedergabe flach. Dies ist normal.

Sie können drücken und loslassen der Transport steuert, um zum vorherigen oder nächsten Clips zu springen, oder halten Sie die Transport-Bedienelemente, um schneller oder langsamer spielen groß für längere Clips.


Kopieren und Löschen von Dateien

Alles erledigt? Schalten Sie die Kamera aus, entfernen Sie die SSD, Pop es im Dock, dann kopieren Sie die Dateien dorthin, wo theyre gehen, um mehr dauerhaft zu leben. Wie ich FCP X verwenden, ich ziehen Sie sie einfach aus dem Finder in ein Ereignis. Wenn Sie in ProRes geschossen, das wars. Wenn Sie Raw erschossen, müssen youll Resolve nutzen, After Effects, oder etwas anderes, um sie in der gleichen Weise wie youd Prozess Stills in einem Zeitraffer Film verarbeiten.

Dateien kopiert? Gesichert? Wischen Sie das Laufwerk mit dem Festplatten-Dienstprogramm und starten Sie es erneut. Und Postproduktion? Seine gerade FCP X Bearbeitung mit ein wenig zusätzlichen Aufwand in Farbkorrektur setzen. Heres

Check out our Photoshop: Optimizing Raw Photos with ACR7 course!

Iain Anderson

Iain Anderson | Articles by this author

Iain Anderson is an editor, animator, designer, developer and Apple Certified Trainer based in Brisbane, Australia. He has taught privately and in tertiary institutions, and has freelanced for Microsoft and the Queensland Government. Comfortable with anything from Quartz Composer to Second Life and Final Cut Pro to Adobe Creative Suite, he has laid out books, booklets, brochures and business cards; retouched magazine covers and product packaging, shot and edited short films and animated for HD broadcast TV, film festivals and for the web.

Comments

May 29, 2013
funwithstuff
One brief addition: the "30% or so" advice is for Firmware v1.2. Things changed in Firmware v1.3, and you'll probably need to use a higher input level and some audio post-production.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2018 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link

X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close
Blackmagic Cinema Camera: A Basic Shooting Guide

Check out our Photoshop: Optimizing Raw Photos with ACR7 course!

You got one? Or it’s coming soon and you want to be prepared? Here’s the essential guide to how to operate a Blackmagic Cinema Camera, from lenses to menus to add-ons.


Gather your lenses

Because the sensor only uses the center of a lens, you’re effectively zooming in on the image when compared to a full frame camera (like the 5D) or APS-C (like the 7D). This makes all your lenses “longer” by 2.3x, so a 50mm lens on a Blackmagic Cinema Camera is like using a 115mm lens on a 5D. If you’re coming from full-frame, this could be a shock, but not such a big deal coming from an APS-C sensor (which has a 1.6x crop factor). In general, EF-S lenses, designed for the APS-C sensor, tend to be wider to counteract this zoom-in.

Various crop factors visualised — but remember that lenses for smaller sensors are wider, to counteract this zoom in.

Various crop factors visualised — but remember that lenses for smaller sensors are wider, to counteract this zoom in.


We’ll cover specific lenses in a future gear rundown, but if you like a zoom for general use, look to a fast, wide, stabilized lens in the 17-50 range. Sigma, Canon and Tamron all make these. Focus is all manual, so make sure you enjoy the manual focus action on your lens of choice, and if you plan on using ND filters, be sure that focusing doesn’t rotate the filters as the basic kit lens does.

Anyway, got your lens? Make sure the camera is off when changing lenses. That’s about it.


Prep your SSD

Since you’ll be recording onto a 2.5” SATA solid state drive, you’ll need one — and make sure that it’s on the supported list. Not all drives can sustain their advertised data rates, and Blackmagic have published a list of recommended drives. To get it ready, format it in HFS+ (the default format on the Mac) or exFAT (a more Windows-friendly format).

Select your disk on the left, then Erase on the right.

Select your disk on the left, then Erase on the right.


How to connect the SSD to your Mac? Hard drive docks are easy to find these days, though most are USB3 only. If your Mac doesn’t have USB3, consider a FireWire dock, or an eSATA dock if you have an eSATA card in a Mac Pro. There are no Thunderbolt docks yet, but you can use a Seagate BackupPlus (once called GoFlex) Thunderbolt connector to connect most bare SSDs instead. Once you’re connected, you can use Disk Utility to erase the disk quite easily. When done, unmount, eject, then pop the SSD in the side of the camera.


Charge your batteries

If you’re only shooting for an hour or so, just make sure the camera is charged. The internal battery will charge up whenever a power source is connected — camera running or not — and will last for about 90 minutes. For longer shoots, you can easily extend that with an external battery solution and a cable that matches the supplied power adapter.

I’m using a Globalmediapro V-mount battery and cable (which they supplied for review) and it works well, running for an additional 4 hours or more. The battery goes in a belt bag or hangs from the tripod, but there’s no problem if the cable comes loose; the internal battery kicks in straight away.

Only 25%? Time to charge up!

Only 25%? Time to charge up!


Set up the audio

If you have an external microphone (and you should) get out your adapters: you need to adapt whatever you have to a balanced pair of 1/4” jacks. Your local music store will probably have some handy cables. As usual, an external preamp will produce the lowest-noise possible, but you can get good results straight into the camera too. Plug in your headphones to monitor the audio, but note that there are no visible audio meters (yet). Beware! Set the audio levels fairly low (30% or so) if you’re not using a preamp.

The audio settings page — you won’t change this one too much.

The audio settings page — you won’t change this one too much.


Starting up the camera

On the back of the camera, hold the power button, in the bottom right to turn it on. It shouldn’t take more than a second or two to start up. You’ll want to dip into the menus to set some basic options first.

For flexibility in post, set the Recorder Settings dynamic range to Film, and the Display Settings dynamic range to Video. This way, you’ll see something close to a “normal” image, but you’ll record a wider dynamic range for a much better post production experience. I stay with ProRes most of the time for ease of workflow.

The Recorder Settings page — when you want to change format or use timelapse.

The Recorder Settings page — when you want to change format or use timelapse.


All about light

Next, set the white balance, in Kelvin. If you can’t get it quite right, that’s OK — it’s easy enough to fix it in post. There’s no custom white balance setting at the moment.

Set ISO to 800, the native sensitivity of the sensor, if you can. Reducing ISO to 200 or 400 won’t shift where the sensor clips the highlights, but increasing it to 1600 will shift the clipping point a little darker.

Set Shutter Angle to 180° to give a natural look to motion. A lower number (down to 45°) is a higher shutter speed and a higher number (to 360°) is a lower shutter speed. While these other settings can control the light, they’ll also affect the look of the footage, so use with caution.

The Camera Settings page — you’ll be here all the time.

The Camera Settings page — you’ll be here all the time.


What am I looking at?

Under Display Settings, make sure that Zebras are visible, and set to 100%. Zebras are diagonal lines that show bright areas where the sensor has clipped, and they’re important to this camera especially. While low light areas can be noisy, bright images aren’t a problem — so long as they don’t clip. Because the dynamic range is so good, and the color fidelity so much better (at least 4x the data of most cameras) it really doesn’t matter how bright it gets if it’s within range.

If you want to control depth of field precisely, you’ll need to stick to a specific aperture — low numbers for shallow depth of field, high numbers for deep depth of field. That means you’ll need to use neutral density filters to control light if you want a wide aperture, or possibly add lights for deeper depth of field.

If you can be a little more flexible with DOF, press the Iris button at top left to adjust Aperture to the brightest possible setting without clipping. Next, use the previous/next transport buttons to adjust aperture manually — making the image a little darker if the light might increase during shooting, or brighter if you would rather blow out some highlights to avoid noise in the shadows.

The Display Settings page — to change how you look at things.

The Display Settings page — to change how you look at things.


Metadata

Before you shoot, tap the screen once, then type some brief metadata in. At the very least, set the scene/shot/take number, then press the “auto” button next to the item to increment automatically. For a drama, this would probably be “take” and for a less formal shoot, perhaps just “shot”.

The Metadata entry page — to add notes about the current shot.

The Metadata entry page — to add notes about the current shot.


Focus, focus...

Double-tap the screen to zoom in, then set focus manually and precisely. With the detail in the camera, good focus does matter, and you probably won’t nail it without some help. Use an external monitor if you wish, or just double-tap.


Action!

Press record, either on the back at the lower left, or the shiny button on the front of the camera. Press again to stop. While you record, you can change aperture, but most of the other settings require you to bring up the menu.

All the buttons at the back.

All the buttons at the back.


Reviewing your files

When you’re done, press Play to review your clips. Note that they will play back as recorded, so even if you’ve set the display to show the Video dynamic range, if you recorded in Film, they’ll look flat in playback. This is normal.

You can press and release the transport controls to skip to the previous or next clips, or hold the transport controls to play faster or slower — great for longer clips.


Copying and erasing the files

All done? Turn the camera off, remove the SSD, pop it in your dock, then copy the files to wherever they’re going to live more permanently. As I use FCP X, I just drag them from the Finder into an Event. If you shot in ProRes, that’s it. If you shot Raw, you’ll need to use Resolve, After Effects, or something else to process them in much the same way as you’d process stills into a timelapse movie.

Files copied? Backed up? Wipe the drive with Disk Utility and start again. And post production? It’s straight FCP X editing with a little extra effort put into color correction. Here’s one place to get started. Enjoy!

Check out our Photoshop: Optimizing Raw Photos with ACR7 course!

Iain Anderson

Iain Anderson | Articles by this author

Iain Anderson is an editor, animator, designer, developer and Apple Certified Trainer based in Brisbane, Australia. He has taught privately and in tertiary institutions, and has freelanced for Microsoft and the Queensland Government. Comfortable with anything from Quartz Composer to Second Life and Final Cut Pro to Adobe Creative Suite, he has laid out books, booklets, brochures and business cards; retouched magazine covers and product packaging, shot and edited short films and animated for HD broadcast TV, film festivals and for the web.

Comments

May 29, 2013
funwithstuff
One brief addition: the "30% or so" advice is for Firmware v1.2. Things changed in Firmware v1.3, and you'll probably need to use a higher input level and some audio post-production.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2017 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link