X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close
苹果观察评论:你应该得到一个?
翻译谷歌翻译

Check out our Mac OS X: OS X & iOS: Working Together course!

Apple Watch

这是一个复杂的设备来解决。你已几乎肯定听说过它,你可能知道大概是什么做的,如果阅读的youre这个已经,你一定想知道更多。但这种装置的心不是只是一个下一代iPhone或Mac,它是一个全新类型的设备,一个新的互动模式,在很多很多不同的型号,并与新的操作系统。它不同于几乎所有的东西已经到来之前,和往常一样,它很容易错过的细微差别。

这五个单词复习:

方便的,复杂的,美丽的,干练,潜力。

便利

移动是最重要一个更方便的地方是什么信息纽瓦在车内抬头车速表显示,方向盘控制和快速拨号在相机顶部都是很好的例子。把重要的信息或按钮的前沿和中心,即使孤单另一种方式来做到这一点,可能会导致更快,更安全,更便捷的交互。毕竟,我们有电脑的智能手机之前,但他们并非像便利,手机往往选择现在的设备。我们有随身听和iPod之前的DISCMAN,但他们并非像便利,他们消失了。

Never again will a message be lost on a phone vibrating unnoticed in a pocket or a bag.

再也没有将消息丢失的手机振动被忽视的口袋或包。

它也是一个比较个人设备比你的手机。虽然你可能会传递一个iPhone给你的孩子,一台苹果手表是不可能离开自己的手腕。一个比较明显的音符,即使你的iPhone是在你的口袋或你的包,世界上没有比你的眼睛,苹果手表戴在手腕间套以上。其更

之前,你可以有你的手表,你必须选择你的手表人体的金属。铝之间选择(Apple关注运动),钢铁(Apple关注),或金(Apple关注版)。我发现钢板太重,版将不会销售给我的收入水平。

Here’s the Apple Watch (i.e. steel) with the Milanese Loop band, showing the Utility face.

继承人的Apple关注(即钢)与米兰环路带宽,表现出实用的脸。

体育是一个很好的选择,如果你想限制支出,实际使用它,而行使,还是更喜欢粉嫩。许多乐队都可以过,虽然氟体育乐队感觉非常好,是一个很好的起点。虽然这是第一代的设备,我会感到惊讶,如果外形内的最初几年改变,因此额外的乐队能有一个稍微更长的寿命。

All the faces available at launch, with a little tweaking.

所有可用的推出的面孔,带着些许调整。

当你有你的手表,你会需要设置它与你的iPhone,同步您现有的iPhone应用程序提供任何手表的应用程序,然后踏踏实实地探索新的接口。该屏幕支持触控,但不是多点触控。它支持一个难以触摸的力量,就像一个右击,这开辟了表盘的自定义选项和辅助选择其他的东西。事实上,的youre可能要花费一点时间建立,就像你喜欢它的表盘,并回归到这一刻。

Press the button to communicate with a friend.

按下按钮与一个朋友交流。

在硬件按钮而言,那里有一个数字冠可被推到主屏幕和表盘之间切换,保持在访问的Siri,或纺丝滚动。低于(或高于,如果你已翻转手表到其他手腕),那里有一个按钮,调出你的朋友列表,以便您可以通过以下方式之一与他们联系。刷卡了,您可以访问几眼,提供上下文相关快速查看由内置和第三方应用程序提供的网页,而刷卡下降显示了你的iPhone做通知。

World Clock is one of the one-page glances you can reach by swiping down.

世界时钟是一个页面几眼,你可以通过刷卡下来到之一。

相较于谷歌磨损,那里有更大量回事。你可能还会发现,你需要调整只是其中的通知打你的手腕,以及您的手机,所以要准备一个小的调整,你习惯了不只是新的接口,但在你的手腕上的新事物。

美丽

I love, love, love these jellyfish.

我爱,爱,爱这些水母。

手表本身,对我来说,是很漂亮的确。界面是干净的,并且当屏幕本身是一个矩形,而不是较传统的圆的情况下和在无边界屏幕软化其边缘。首先,虽然,它的时计,如果其替换现有的手表,这并不,事实上,需要收取夜间,那么它一定要展示自己很好。

许多不同的面孔包含可定制在许多方面。有些手表的面孔让你设置的细节,他们包括量(每分钟大关,或隐藏甚至小时引号),以及使用的颜色。最有趣的是有并发症,增加了表盘内的信息,可以显示第二时区,天气,月相,或您的下一个约会。这些并发症也可抽头,因此迷你健身图标可以挖掘访问应用程序的更多信息。

Customizing the “Color” face complications, which are all small.

自定义颜色的脸并发症,这些都是小的。

重要的是,不同的手表面孔提供不同尺寸的并发症,这意味着不同的面孔提供了非常不同的信息密度。该实用程序的脸是我的选择,现在,一方面是因为它提供了一个在线的中型复杂的,可以同时显示温度和天气预报的底部。 (米奇的脸确实太,但它不是我的口味。)

My chosen Utility face with weather and a forecast at the bottom, and a red notification dot at the top.

我选择了实用面带天气和预测的底部,和一个红色点缀通知在顶部。

模块化的脸提供了一个单一的多行并发症中心的屏幕,它可以显示相当多的细节,但几乎所有其他的并发症是相当小的,提供最多的下一个约会,当前温度,时间的时间日落,或等等。也Theres没有办法改变数字时间读出的位置和大小,因此,如果您选择的数字迷的审美,您选择的运气了现在。

Modular is for information junkies, but you can’t make the time any larger.

模块化是信息瘾君子,但你不能让时间任何较大。

目前,它不可能第三方来设计的手表面(或并发症,这将是有趣的)。该全然美丽的运动的脸支持只是一个单一的,日期,唯一的并发症及其也是一个真正的耻辱,我希望能够进一步自定义现有的面孔出现在未来的更新。而现有的面孔应提供足以让大多数人幸福的,你可能会发现你不是100%满意,您可以创建今天的。

手表做了很多。它的一些技巧是独一无二的,就像测量你的心跳,或点击你的手腕(或你的朋友)。其他的,像通知,复制你的iPhone的功能。目前只限于某些功能的手表(动画表情符号,动画绘制的消息)可能又回到了对iPhone在未来的版本。

Two screens from a navigation session—and it taps your wrist too.

从导航两个屏幕sessionand它水龙头你的手腕了。

鉴于苹果在HealthKit和ResearchKit最近的努力,它的了不起看到健身为重点的手表了。在三种不同颜色的同心环接近全天为你站,移动和锻炼更积极。即使你不是到健身房锻炼,这是一个温柔的刺(或点击手腕)在正确的方向。 ITLL被动地跟踪你,或者你可以专门启动锻炼的应用程序来记录特定的事件,扎入生的应用程序,并获得奖励。

I walked, and received my first award.

我走了,并获得了我的第一个奖项。

沟通也是一个关键的焦点,那里有一个硬件按钮,致力于造就了您的联系人列表。从那里,你可以发送上述动画绘文字,绘图,水龙头的模式,你的心跳(可能的亲人),或通过Siri的短信。而绘文字可以在iPhone上接收,至少目前动画绘制消息和水龙头只能从Apple关注送朋友与Apple关注,因为它的初期,我还没有测试过这事。你也可以通过调用内置的麦克风和扬声器的人。

值得注意的是,在许多watchand先进的功能,所有的第三方内容,以便farrequire一个拴iPho​​ne就在附近。它也可以从你的手表,如果你不知道哪里是ping你的iPhone。而手表不会停止工作,从iPhone走的时候,它不会有GPS,或接入互联网,或者iPhone上的音乐,或者拨打电话的能力。它会告诉时间,追踪你的心脏率,而不是更多。但多数民众赞成确定。

潜力

有关Apple腕表最令人兴奋的是,这仅仅是版本1的第三方应用程序目前非常有限的他们可以做什么,做所有的处理上的iPhone。世界上没有办法让定制手表的面孔,并发症,或应用程序,如果没有一个iPhone可以存在。这些选择在很大程度上是与电池寿命,这在很大程度上受在屏幕上点亮的像素的数量。甚至一些比较图形密集型手表此前公布的面孔都被扑杀,这样一个天适度使用可以保证,你可以打赌,更强大的第三方应用程序将进一步减少。

Only a few third-party apps on my Watch so far.

只有在我的收藏一些第三方应用程序为止。

什么IM真的兴奋的是什么将是可能在未来一年左右的时间。能够检查到一家旅馆的客房我的收藏?非常酷,和可能今天在一些酒店。支付我的关注?太空时代。添加的东西到待办事项列表用我的声音是我可以在我的手机做什么,但现在我不需要将手伸入我的口袋里。买菜的应用程序是伟大的,直到你需要双手,现在吗更有都是免费的。

虽然你不会使用最多的应用程序在你的手表很长时间,这一事实吗更有在你的手腕上意味着你可以更轻松地访问它们。开发人员还没有能够真正看到人们如何使用Apple关注的是,也没有他们能够看到自己的应用程序如何工作,对自己的手腕。与公众发布,这将改变很快。 ID期待一个伟大的很多,你今天使用带来快速访问自己的关键特性很快就到了手表的iPhone应用程序。

结论

所以,你应该得到一个?从本质上说,它就像任何其他的小工具。你可能不需要它,但你会享受它。它的速度比不上你的手机(虽然它会得到更快),屏幕不是一样大任,所以它不完全是一个重要的购买。但是,如果您选择的人谁往往忽视他们的通知,或者如果你需要通知的人在开会,而无需中断他们,或者如果你想督促自己更积极,或者如果你只是想有几个额外功能的手表,那么这是一个了不起的设备为您服务。

Apple Watch on left, iPod nano 6th generation on right.

苹果观察左边的iPod nano 6代的权利。

对我来说?我总是戴的手表,和我以前的手表是第六代的iPod nano。 20手表的面孔,广播,照片和音乐,它的主要(通常刺激性)不被需要按下一个按钮来唤醒它,并显示时间。我补发栏可能已设置相当低,但苹果腕表拥有很好,真正超越了。我敢肯定,我会找到新的方法将它融入我的生活随着时间的推移,但现在呢?非常酷。我只是需要一个红色的带子,和一种方法,使自己的手表的面孔。

Check out our Mac OS X: OS X & iOS: Working Together course!

Iain Anderson

Iain Anderson | Articles by this author

Iain Anderson is an editor, animator, designer, developer and Apple Certified Trainer based in Brisbane, Australia. He has taught privately and in tertiary institutions, and has freelanced for Microsoft and the Queensland Government. Comfortable with anything from Quartz Composer to Second Life and Final Cut Pro to Adobe Creative Suite, he has laid out books, booklets, brochures and business cards; retouched magazine covers and product packaging, shot and edited short films and animated for HD broadcast TV, film festivals and for the web.

Comments

Apr 29, 2015
Steve H. Publisher
Awesome article! You brought out some extremely good points making an argument for (and perhaps against) getting one of these devices. As someone who was initially very skeptical I am now intrigued and have a better concept of how I might interact with Apple Watch. Thanks for the extra perspective and thoughtful advice!
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2017 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link

X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close
Apple Watch Review: Should You Get One?

Check out our Mac OS X: OS X & iOS: Working Together course!

Apple Watch

This is a complex device to tackle. You’ve almost certainly heard of it, you probably know roughly what it does, and if you’re reading this already, you surely want to know more. But this device isn’t just a next-generation iPhone or Mac, it’s a whole new kind of device, with a new interaction model, available in many, many different models, and with a new operating system. It’s different from almost everything that has come before it, and as usual, it’s easy to miss the nuances.

The five word review:

Convenient, complex, beautiful, capable, potential.

Convenient

Moving the information that matters most to a more convenient place is nothing new—a heads-up speedometer display in a car, steering wheel controls, and a quick dial at the top of a camera are all good examples. Putting critical information or buttons front and center, even if there’s another way to do it, can lead to quicker, safer, and more convenient interactions. After all, we had computers before smartphones, but they weren’t as convenient, and phones are often now the device of choice. We had the Walkman and the Discman before the iPod, but they weren’t as convenient, and they disappeared.

Never again will a message be lost on a phone vibrating unnoticed in a pocket or a bag.

Never again will a message be lost on a phone vibrating unnoticed in a pocket or a bag.

It’s also a more personal device than your phone. While you might pass an iPhone to your child, an Apple Watch is unlikely to leave your own wrist. On a more obvious note, even if your iPhone is in your pocket or your bag, there’s no more than a sleeve between your eyes and an Apple Watch on your wrist. It’s more glanceable.

Complex

Before you can have your watch, you must choose your watch body’s metal. Choose between aluminum (Apple Watch Sport), steel (Apple Watch), or gold (Apple Watch Edition). I found steel too heavy and Edition to be not marketed to my income level.

Here’s the Apple Watch (i.e. steel) with the Milanese Loop band, showing the Utility face.

Here’s the Apple Watch (i.e. steel) with the Milanese Loop band, showing the Utility face.

Sport is a good choice if you want to limit the outlay, actually use it while exercising, or prefer a matte finish. Many bands are available too, though the fluoroelastomer sports bands feel great and are a great starting point. Even though this is a first generation device, I would be surprised if the form factor changed within the first couple of years, so additional bands could have a slightly longer lifespan.

All the faces available at launch, with a little tweaking.

All the faces available at launch, with a little tweaking.

When you have your watch, you’ll need to set it up with your iPhone, sync any watch apps that your existing iPhone apps offer, and then get down to exploring the new interface. The screen supports touch, but not multitouch. It does support a harder “force touch”, something like a right-click, which opens up customisation options for the watch face and secondary options elsewhere. Indeed, you’re likely to want to spend a bit of time setting up the watch face just as you like it, and we’ll return to this in a moment.

Press the button to communicate with a friend.

Press the button to communicate with a friend.

In terms of hardware buttons, there’s a digital crown which can be pushed to switch between the home screen and the watch face, held in to access Siri, or spun to scroll. Below that (or above if you’ve flipped the watch to your other wrist) there’s a button that calls up your friends list so you can contact them in one of several ways. Swiping up lets you access glances, which provide contextually relevant quick looks at pages provided by in-built and third-party apps, while swiping down shows notifications as your iPhone does.

World Clock is one of the one-page glances you can reach by swiping down.

World Clock is one of the one-page glances you can reach by swiping down.

Compared to Google Wear, there’s a lot more going on. You may also find that you need to tweak just which notifications hit your wrist as well as your phone, so be ready for a little adjustment as you get used to not just the new interface, but the new thing on your wrist.

Beautiful

I love, love, love these jellyfish.

I love, love, love these jellyfish.

The watch itself, to me, is very pretty indeed. The interface is clean, and while the screen itself is a rectangle, not a more traditional circle, the case and the edgeless screen soften its edges. Primarily, though, it’s a timepiece, and if it’s to replace an existing watch that doesn’t, in fact, need charged nightly, then it’s got to present itself well.

The many different included faces can be customised in many ways. Some watch faces allow you to set the amount of detail they include (every minute mark, or hide even the hour marks) as well as the colors used. Most intriguing of all are the complications, added information within a watch face that can show a second time zone, the weather, moon phase, or your next appointment. These complications are also tappable, so a mini fitness icon can be tapped to visit the app for more information. 

Customizing the “Color” face complications, which are all small.

Customizing the “Color” face complications, which are all small.

Critically, different watch faces offer complications in different sizes, meaning that different faces offer very different information densities. The Utility face is my pick for now, partly because it offers a one-line medium-sized complication at the bottom which can show both the temperature and weather forecast. (The Mickey face does too, but it’s not to my taste.)

My chosen Utility face with weather and a forecast at the bottom, and a red notification dot at the top.

My chosen Utility face with weather and a forecast at the bottom, and a red notification dot at the top.

The Modular face offers a single multi-line complication in the center of the screen, which can show quite a bit of detail, but almost all other complications are quite small, offering at most the time of your next appointment, the current temperature, time of sunset, or so on. There’s also no way to change the position or size of a digital time readout, so if you’re a fan of the digital aesthetic, you’re out of luck for now. 

Modular is for information junkies, but you can’t make the time any larger.

Modular is for information junkies, but you can’t make the time any larger.

At present, it’s not possible for third-parties to design watch faces (or complications, which would be interesting). It’s also a real shame that the utterly beautiful Motion face supports just a single, date-only complication, and I hope the ability to further customize the existing faces shows up in a future update. While the existing faces should provide enough to keep most people happy, you may find that you’re not 100% happy with what you can create today.

Capable

The watch does a lot. Some of its tricks are unique, like measuring your heartbeat, or tapping your wrist (or your friends’). Others, like notifications, duplicate your iPhone’s features. Some features currently limited to the watch (animated emoji, animating drawn messages) could potentially cross back over to the iPhone in a future release.

Two screens from a navigation session—and it taps your wrist too.

Two screens from a navigation session—and it taps your wrist too.

Given Apple’s recent efforts on HealthKit and ResearchKit, it’s terrific to see fitness as a key focus on the watch too. Three concentric rings in different colors close throughout the day as you stand, move, and exercise more energetically. Even if you’re not into gym workouts, this is a gentle prod (or tap on the wrist) in the right direction. It’ll track you passively, or you can specifically start up the Workout app to record specific events, tie into the Health app, and earn awards.

I walked, and received my first award.

I walked, and received my first award.

Communication is also a key focus, and there’s a hardware button dedicated to bringing up a list of your contacts. From there, you can send the aforementioned animated emoji, a drawing, a pattern of taps, your heartbeat (likely to loved ones), or a text message via Siri. While the emoji can be received on an iPhone, for now at least the animated drawn message and taps can only be sent from an Apple Watch to friends with an Apple Watch, and because it’s early days, I haven’t tested this yet. You can also just call people via the built-in mic and speaker.

Worth noting is that many advanced functions on the watch—and all third-party content so far—require a tethered iPhone to be nearby. It’s also possible to ping your iPhone from your watch if you don’t know just where it is. While the watch won’t stop working when away from its iPhone, it won’t have GPS, or access to the internet, or the music on your iPhone, or the ability to make calls. It will tell the time, track your heart rate, and not much more. But that’s OK.

Potential

The most exciting thing about the Apple Watch is that this is just version 1. Third-party applications are currently very limited in what they can do, and do all their processing on the iPhone. There’s no way to make custom watch faces, complications, or apps that can exist without an iPhone. These choices are largely to do with battery life, which is heavily affected by the number of lit pixels on the screen. Even some of the more graphically intensive watch faces previously announced have been culled so that a day’s moderate usage can be guaranteed, and you can bet that more capable third-party apps would reduce that further. 

Only a few third-party apps on my Watch so far.

Only a few third-party apps on my Watch so far.

What I’m really excited about is what’s going to be possible in the next year or so. Being able to check into a hotel room with my Watch? Very cool, and possible today at some hotels. Paying with my Watch? Space-age. Adding something to a to-do list with my voice is something I can do on my phone, but now I don’t need to reach into my pocket. Grocery shopping apps are great until you need both hands, and now they’re both free.

While you won’t use most apps on your watch for very long, the fact that they’re on your wrist means you can access them more easily. Developers haven’t been able to really see how people use the Apple Watch yet, nor have they been able to see themselves how their apps could work on their own wrists. With the public release, that will change quickly. I’d expect a great many of the iPhone apps you use today to bring quick access to their key features to the watch soon.

Conclusion

So should you get one? In essence, it’s just like any other gadget. You might not need it, but you’ll enjoy it. It’s not as fast as your phone (though it will get faster) and the screen isn’t as large either, so it’s not exactly an essential purchase. But if you’re someone who often misses their notifications, or if you need to notify someone in a meeting without interrupting them, or if you want to prod yourself to be more active, or if you simply want a watch with several extra features, then this is a terrific device for you.

Apple Watch on left, iPod nano 6th generation on right.

Apple Watch on left, iPod nano 6th generation on right.

For me? I’ve always worn watches, and my previous watch was a 6th Generation iPod nano. With 20 watch faces, radio, photos, and music, its main (and often irritating) failing was the need to press a button to wake it up and display the time. My bar for a replacement may have been set pretty low, but the Apple Watch has well and truly exceeded it. I’m sure I’ll find new ways to integrate it into my life over time, but now? Very cool. I just need a red strap, and a way to make my own watch faces.

Check out our Mac OS X: OS X & iOS: Working Together course!

Iain Anderson

Iain Anderson | Articles by this author

Iain Anderson is an editor, animator, designer, developer and Apple Certified Trainer based in Brisbane, Australia. He has taught privately and in tertiary institutions, and has freelanced for Microsoft and the Queensland Government. Comfortable with anything from Quartz Composer to Second Life and Final Cut Pro to Adobe Creative Suite, he has laid out books, booklets, brochures and business cards; retouched magazine covers and product packaging, shot and edited short films and animated for HD broadcast TV, film festivals and for the web.

Comments

Apr 29, 2015
Steve H. Publisher
Awesome article! You brought out some extremely good points making an argument for (and perhaps against) getting one of these devices. As someone who was initially very skeptical I am now intrigued and have a better concept of how I might interact with Apple Watch. Thanks for the extra perspective and thoughtful advice!
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2017 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link