X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close

Kostenlose Premium-Zugang

Rufen Sie unsere gesamte Bibliothek von Premium-Hub Artikel, Projekt-Dateien und die ersten 10% des jeweiligen Tutorial-Video aus dem Online-Tutorial-Bibliothek .

Erstellen Sie jetzt Ihren kostenlosen Zugang!

Apple-Uhr-Bewertung: sollten Sie einen haben?
Übersetzt von Google Translate

Check out our Mac OS X: OS X & iOS: Working Together course!

Apple Watch

Dies ist ein komplexes Gerät zu bewältigen. Youve fast sicher davon gehört, wissen Sie wahrscheinlich in etwa, was es tut, und wenn youre der Lektüre dieses schon, werden Sie sicherlich wollen mehr wissen. Aber das Gerät ist nicht gerecht nächsten Generation iPhone und Mac, es ist eine ganz neue Art von Gerät, mit einer neuen Interaktionsmodell, in vielen, viele verschiedene Modelle, und mit einem neuen Betriebssystem. Seine anders als fast alles, bevor sie gekommen ist, und wie üblich, ist es einfach, um die Nuancen zu verpassen.

Die fünf Wort schreiben:

Bequem, komplexe, schön, in der Lage, Potenzial.

Bequem

Das Verschieben der Informationen, die am wichtigsten zu einem geeigneten Ort ist nichts Newa Heads-up-Display Tachometer im Auto, Schaltwippen am Lenkrad, und eine Kurzwahl an der Oberseite der Kamera sind alle gute Beispiele. Putting kritische Informationen oder Knöpfe vorne in der Mitte, auch wenn theres eine andere Möglichkeit, es zu tun, kann schneller, sicherer und komfortabler Wechselwirkungen führen. Immerhin hatten wir vor dem Computer Smartphones, aber sie waren nicht so bequem und Telefone sind oft nun das Gerät der Wahl. Wir hatten den Walkman und Discman die vor der iPod, aber sie waren nicht so bequem, und sie verschwanden.

Never again will a message be lost on a phone vibrating unnoticed in a pocket or a bag.

Nie wieder wird eine Nachricht auf einem Handy verloren schwingunbemerkt in einer Tasche oder einem Beutel.

Es ist auch eine persönliche Gerät über das Telefon. Während Sie ein iPhone, um Ihr Kind übergeben, ist ein Apple-Uhr unwahrscheinlich eigene Handgelenk verlassen. Auf einer Hand zur Kenntnis, auch wenn Sie Ihr iPhone in die Hosentasche oder Tasche, Theres nicht mehr als eine Hülse zwischen Ihren Augen und einem Apple-Uhr am Handgelenk. Seine mehr

Komplex

Bevor Sie Ihre Uhr haben, müssen Sie Ihre Uhr Bodys Metall wählen. Wählen Sie zwischen Aluminium (Apple-Uhr-Sport), Stahl (Apple Watch) oder Gold (Apple-Uhr-Ausgabe). Ich fand Stahl zu schwer und Edition nicht auf meine Einkommensniveau gebracht werden.

Here’s the Apple Watch (i.e. steel) with the Milanese Loop band, showing the Utility face.

Heres das Apple-Uhr (dh Stahl) mit der Mailänder Schleifenband, zeigt das Utility-Gesicht.

Sport ist eine gute Wahl, wenn Sie den Aufwand begrenzen wollen, tatsächlich benutzt wird, während der Ausübung, oder lieber eine matte Oberfläche. Viele Bands sind auch, wenn die Fluorelastomer-Sportbänder fühlt sich gut und sind ein guter Ausgangspunkt. Obwohl es sich um eine erste Erzeugungseinrichtung, wäre ich überrascht, wenn der Formfaktor innerhalb der ersten paar Jahre verändert, so dass zusätzliche Banden könnten eine etwas längere Lebensdauer.

All the faces available at launch, with a little tweaking.

Alle Gesichter zur Verfügung zu starten, mit ein wenig Feintuning.

Wenn Sie Ihre Uhr haben, werden Sie brauchen, um es einzurichten, mit dem iPhone, synchronisieren Sie alle Anwendungen, die Uhr Ihre bestehende iPhone-Apps anbieten, und dann kommen zur Erkundung der neuen Schnittstelle. Der Bildschirm unterstützt Touch, aber nicht multitouch. Es unterstützt eine härtere Kraft Berührung, so etwas wie eine rechte Maustaste, die bis Anpassungsoptionen für das Zifferblatt und sekundären Optionen an anderer Stelle geöffnet. In der Tat, du bist wahrscheinlich zu wollen, ein wenig Zeit die Einrichtung das Zifferblatt, wie Sie es gerne zu verbringen, und auch dies in einem Moment zurück.

Press the button to communicate with a friend.

Drücken Sie die Taste, um mit einem Freund kommunizieren.

In Bezug auf die Hardware-Tasten, theres ein digitales Krone, die gedrückt werden können, um zwischen dem Home-Bildschirm und das Zifferblatt zu wechseln, in statt, um Siri zugreifen oder gesponnen, um zu blättern. Darunter (oder höher, wenn youve blätterte die Uhr zu Ihren anderen Handgelenk) theres eine Schaltfläche, die Liste Ihrer Freunde Weckanrufe so können Sie sie in eine von mehreren Möglichkeiten zu kontaktieren. Streichen nach oben können Sie den Zugriff Blicke, die kontextuell relevante schnelle Blicke auf den Seiten von in-built und Anwendungen von Drittanbietern zur Verfügung gestellt sorgen, während swiping unten zeigt Benachrichtigungen als das iPhone tut.

World Clock is one of the one-page glances you can reach by swiping down.

World Clock ist eine der einseitigen Blicke können Sie durch Streichen nach unten zu erreichen.

Im Vergleich zu Google Wear, theres viel mehr los ist. Sie können auch feststellen, dass Sie nur zwicken, welche Benachrichtigungen Handgelenk getroffen sowie das Telefon benötigen, also bereit für ein wenig Anpassung, wie Sie, um nicht nur die neue Oberfläche gewöhnen, aber das Neue an Ihrem Handgelenk.

Schön

I love, love, love these jellyfish.

Ich liebe, liebe, liebe diese Quallen.

Die Uhr selbst, zu mir, ist sehr schön in der Tat. Die Schnittstelle ist sauber, und während der Bildschirm selbst ist ein Rechteck, kein traditionelleren Kreis, der Fall, und die kantenlose Bildschirm erweichen seinen Rändern. Vor allem aber ist es ein Uhr, und wenn ihr um eine vorhandene Uhr, tut in der Tat brauchen nächtlichen berechnet, dann wird seine erhalten, um sich gut zu präsentieren ersetzen.

Die vielen verschiedenen Gesichter enthalten kann in vielerlei Hinsicht besonders angefertigt werden. Einige Zifferblätter erlauben Ihnen, die Menge der Details sie gehören, sowie die verwendeten Farben (jede Minute Marken oder auch die Stundenmarkierungen zu verstecken). Faszinierendsten von allen sind die Komplikationen, zusätzlichen Informationen in einem Zifferblatt, das eine zweite Zeitzone, das Wetter, Mondphase, oder Ihren nächsten Termin zeigen können. Diese Komplikationen sind ebenfalls abgreifbar, so ein Mini-Fitness-Symbol abgegriffen, um die Anwendung für weitere Informationen zu besuchen.

Customizing the “Color” face complications, which are all small.

Anpassen der Farbe Gesicht Komplikationen, die alle klein sind.

Entscheidend ist, bieten verschiedene Zifferblätter Komplikationen in verschiedenen Größen, so dass verschiedene Gesichter bieten sehr unterschiedliche Informationsdichten. Die Stromnetz-Gesicht ist meine Wahl für jetzt, zum Teil, weil es eine einzeilige mittlere Komplikation an der Unterseite, die sowohl die Temperatur und Wettervorhersage anzeigen kann. (Die Mickey Gesicht tut das auch, aber es ist nicht nach meinem Geschmack.)

My chosen Utility face with weather and a forecast at the bottom, and a red notification dot at the top.

Meine ausgewählten Dienst Gesicht mit Wetter und einer Prognose an der Unterseite, und eine rote Meldung Punkt an der Spitze.

Die Modular Gesicht bietet eine einzige mehreren Leitungen Komplikation in der Mitte des Bildschirms, die einiges an Detail zeigen kann, aber fast alle anderen Komplikationen sind recht klein und bietet in den meisten, die Zeit Ihres nächsten Termin, der aktuellen Temperatur, Zeit der Sonnenuntergang, oder so weiter. Theres auch keine Möglichkeit, die Position oder Größe eines digitalen Zeitanzeige kein Glück für jetzt zu ändern, so dass, wenn youre ein Fan der digitalen Ästhetik, youre.

Modular is for information junkies, but you can’t make the time any larger.

Modulare dient nur zur Information Junkies, aber Sie machen die Zeit ein größeres kann nicht.

Derzeit ist es nicht möglich, für Dritte zu Zifferblätter entwerfen (oder Komplikationen, die interessant sein würde). Es ist auch wirklich eine Schande, dass die äußerst schöne Bewegungs Gesicht unterstützt nur eine einzelne, datums einzige Komplikation, und ich hoffe, dass die Möglichkeit, weitere Anpassungen der bestehenden Gesichter zeigt sich in einem zukünftigen Update. Während die bestehenden Flächen sollten genügend für die meisten Menschen glücklich zu machen, können Sie feststellen, dass youre nicht 100%, was Sie heute erstellen glücklich.

Fähig

Die Uhr hat eine Menge. Einige der Tricks sind einzigartig, wie die Messung Ihrer Herzschlag, oder Klopfen Handgelenk (oder Ihre Freunde). Andere, wie Benachrichtigungen, duplizieren Sie Ihre iPhones Funktionen. Einige Funktionen noch auf die Uhr begrenzt (animierte emoji, animieren gezeichneten Nachrichten) könnte möglicherweise überqueren zurück über das iPhone in einer zukünftigen Version.

Two screens from a navigation session—and it taps your wrist too.

Zwei Bildschirme von einem Navigations sessionand es klopft Handgelenk zu.

Angesichts Apples jüngsten Anstrengungen auf HealthKit und ResearchKit, seine tolle Fitness als ein Schwerpunkt auf der Uhr zu sehen. Drei konzentrische Ringe in verschiedenen Farben in der Nähe den ganzen Tag über, wie Sie stehen, bewegen, und mehr Bewegung energisch. Selbst wenn youre nicht in Fitness Workouts, ist dies eine sanfte prod (oder tippen Sie auf das Handgelenk) in die richtige Richtung. Itll verfolgen Sie passiv, oder Sie können insbesondere die Inbetriebnahme des Workout App auf bestimmte Ereignisse aufzeichnen, binden Sie in die Gesundheit app, und verdienen Auszeichnungen.

I walked, and received my first award.

Ich ging, und meine erste Auszeichnung.

Kommunikation ist auch ein wichtiger Schwerpunkt und Theres Hardware-Taste, um die Erziehung eine Liste Ihrer Kontakte gewidmet. Von dort aus können Sie die oben genannten animierte emoji, eine Zeichnung, ein Muster von Wasserhähnen, die Ihren Herzschlag (wahrscheinlich Lieben), oder eine Kurzmitteilung via Siri senden. Während die emoji können auf einem iPhone aufgenommen werden kann, zumindest vorerst die animierte gezogen Nachricht und Wasserhähne können nur von einem Apple-Uhr, Freunde mit einem Apple-Uhr gesendet werden, und weil seine frühen Tagen haben ich das noch nicht getestet. Sie können auch einfach die Menschen über das eingebaute Mikrofon und Lautsprecher.

Bemerkenswert ist, dass viele erweiterte Funktionen auf der watchand alle fremden Inhalte so farrequire die Anbindung an iPhone in der Nähe sein. Es ist auch möglich, Ihr iPhone vor Ihrer Uhr ping, wenn Sie wissen, wo es ist nicht. Wenn sich die Uhr nicht aufhören, wenn weg von seiner iPhone arbeiten, es wird nicht haben GPS, oder Zugriff auf das Internet oder die Musik auf Ihrem iPhone oder der Möglichkeit, Anrufe zu tätigen. Es wird die Zeit zu erklären, verfolgen Sie Ihre Herzfrequenz, und nicht viel mehr. Aber das ist OK.

Potential

Das Spannendste an dem Apple-Uhr ist, dass dies nur Version 1 Anwendungen von Drittanbietern werden derzeit sehr in dem, was sie tun können, begrenzt, und alles tun, deren Verarbeitung auf dem iPhone. Es gibt keinen Weg, um benutzerdefinierte Zifferblätter, Komplikationen, oder Anwendungen, die ohne ein iPhone existieren kann zu machen. Diese Entscheidungen sind größtenteils mit Akkulaufzeit, die stark von der Anzahl der beleuchteten Pixel auf dem Bildschirm beeinflusst wird zu tun. Auch einige der mehr grafikintensive Zifferblätter angekündigt wurden gekeult, so dass ein Tag moderate Nutzung gewährleistet werden kann, und Sie können darauf wetten, dass fähigere Drittanbieter-Anwendungen würde, dass weiter zu reduzieren.

Only a few third-party apps on my Watch so far.

Nur wenige Anwendungen von Drittanbietern auf Meiner Anzeigen bisher.

Was Im wirklich toll finde, ist, was los ist im nächsten Jahr oder so möglich sein. Die Möglichkeit, in einem Hotelzimmer mit Überwachung zu überprüfen? Sehr cool, und heute möglich in einigen Hotels. Bezahlen mit meiner Uhr? Weltraumzeitalter. Hinzufügen etwas zu einer Aufgabenliste mit meiner Stimme ist etwas, was ich auf meinem Handy zu tun, aber jetzt habe ich nicht brauchen, um in die Tasche zu erreichen. Lebensmitteleinkauf Apps sind groß, bis Sie beide Hände benötigen, und jetzt theyre beide frei.

Während Sie gewohnt verwenden die meisten Anwendungen auf Ihrer Uhr für sehr lange, die Tatsache, dass theyre am Handgelenk bedeutet, dass Sie sie leichter zugreifen können. Entwickler haben in der Lage, wirklich zu sehen, wie Menschen auf der Apple-Uhr noch, noch haben sie in der Lage, sich selbst zu sehen, wie ihre Anwendungen könnten auf ihre eigenen Handgelenke zu arbeiten. Mit dem öffentlichen Release wird das schnell ändern. Id erwarten sehr viele der iPhone Apps, die Sie heute verwenden, um einen schnellen Zugriff auf die wichtigsten Funktionen der Uhr bald zu bringen.

Abschluss

So sollten Sie einen bekommen? Im Wesentlichen seine wie jedes andere Gerät. Sie könnten es nicht, aber youll genießen Sie es. Es ist nicht so schnell, wie Sie Ihr Telefon (obwohl es schneller), und der Bildschirm ist nicht so groß, entweder, so dass ihr nicht gerade ein zentrales Kauf. Aber wenn youre jemand, der oft vermisst ihre Mitteilungen, oder wenn Sie mit jemandem in einer Sitzung ohne Unterbrechung davon Kenntnis erlangt, oder wenn Sie sich prod möchten, aktiver zu sein, oder wenn Sie einfach nur eine Uhr mit mehreren zusätzlichen Funktionen, dann ist dieses ist ein hervorragendes Gerät für Sie.

Apple Watch on left, iPod nano 6th generation on right.

Apple-Uhr auf der linken Seite, iPod nano der 6. Generation auf der rechten Seite.

Für mich? Ive immer getragen Uhren, und meine bisherigen Uhr war ein 6. Generation des iPod nano. Mit 20 Zifferblätter, Radio, Fotos und Musik, die wichtigsten (und oft irritierend) anderenfalls wurde die Notwendigkeit, eine Schaltfläche, um ihn zu aktivieren und zeigt die Zeit drücken. Meine bar nach einem Ersatz kann festgelegt wurden ziemlich niedrig, aber die Apple-Uhr hat gut und es ist wirklich übertroffen. Ich bin sicher, Ill neue Wege finden, um es in meinem Leben im Laufe der Zeit zu integrieren, aber jetzt? Sehr cool. Ich brauche nur einen roten Gurt und einen Weg zu meiner eigenen Uhr Gesichter machen.

Check out our Mac OS X: OS X & iOS: Working Together course!

Iain Anderson

Iain Anderson | Articles by this author

Iain Anderson is an editor, animator, designer, developer and Apple Certified Trainer based in Brisbane, Australia. He has taught privately and in tertiary institutions, and has freelanced for Microsoft and the Queensland Government. Comfortable with anything from Quartz Composer to Second Life and Final Cut Pro to Adobe Creative Suite, he has laid out books, booklets, brochures and business cards; retouched magazine covers and product packaging, shot and edited short films and animated for HD broadcast TV, film festivals and for the web.

Comments

Apr 29, 2015
Steve H. Publisher
Awesome article! You brought out some extremely good points making an argument for (and perhaps against) getting one of these devices. As someone who was initially very skeptical I am now intrigued and have a better concept of how I might interact with Apple Watch. Thanks for the extra perspective and thoughtful advice!
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2017 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link

X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close
Apple Watch Review: Should You Get One?

Check out our Mac OS X: OS X & iOS: Working Together course!

Apple Watch

This is a complex device to tackle. You’ve almost certainly heard of it, you probably know roughly what it does, and if you’re reading this already, you surely want to know more. But this device isn’t just a next-generation iPhone or Mac, it’s a whole new kind of device, with a new interaction model, available in many, many different models, and with a new operating system. It’s different from almost everything that has come before it, and as usual, it’s easy to miss the nuances.

The five word review:

Convenient, complex, beautiful, capable, potential.

Convenient

Moving the information that matters most to a more convenient place is nothing new—a heads-up speedometer display in a car, steering wheel controls, and a quick dial at the top of a camera are all good examples. Putting critical information or buttons front and center, even if there’s another way to do it, can lead to quicker, safer, and more convenient interactions. After all, we had computers before smartphones, but they weren’t as convenient, and phones are often now the device of choice. We had the Walkman and the Discman before the iPod, but they weren’t as convenient, and they disappeared.

Never again will a message be lost on a phone vibrating unnoticed in a pocket or a bag.

Never again will a message be lost on a phone vibrating unnoticed in a pocket or a bag.

It’s also a more personal device than your phone. While you might pass an iPhone to your child, an Apple Watch is unlikely to leave your own wrist. On a more obvious note, even if your iPhone is in your pocket or your bag, there’s no more than a sleeve between your eyes and an Apple Watch on your wrist. It’s more glanceable.

Complex

Before you can have your watch, you must choose your watch body’s metal. Choose between aluminum (Apple Watch Sport), steel (Apple Watch), or gold (Apple Watch Edition). I found steel too heavy and Edition to be not marketed to my income level.

Here’s the Apple Watch (i.e. steel) with the Milanese Loop band, showing the Utility face.

Here’s the Apple Watch (i.e. steel) with the Milanese Loop band, showing the Utility face.

Sport is a good choice if you want to limit the outlay, actually use it while exercising, or prefer a matte finish. Many bands are available too, though the fluoroelastomer sports bands feel great and are a great starting point. Even though this is a first generation device, I would be surprised if the form factor changed within the first couple of years, so additional bands could have a slightly longer lifespan.

All the faces available at launch, with a little tweaking.

All the faces available at launch, with a little tweaking.

When you have your watch, you’ll need to set it up with your iPhone, sync any watch apps that your existing iPhone apps offer, and then get down to exploring the new interface. The screen supports touch, but not multitouch. It does support a harder “force touch”, something like a right-click, which opens up customisation options for the watch face and secondary options elsewhere. Indeed, you’re likely to want to spend a bit of time setting up the watch face just as you like it, and we’ll return to this in a moment.

Press the button to communicate with a friend.

Press the button to communicate with a friend.

In terms of hardware buttons, there’s a digital crown which can be pushed to switch between the home screen and the watch face, held in to access Siri, or spun to scroll. Below that (or above if you’ve flipped the watch to your other wrist) there’s a button that calls up your friends list so you can contact them in one of several ways. Swiping up lets you access glances, which provide contextually relevant quick looks at pages provided by in-built and third-party apps, while swiping down shows notifications as your iPhone does.

World Clock is one of the one-page glances you can reach by swiping down.

World Clock is one of the one-page glances you can reach by swiping down.

Compared to Google Wear, there’s a lot more going on. You may also find that you need to tweak just which notifications hit your wrist as well as your phone, so be ready for a little adjustment as you get used to not just the new interface, but the new thing on your wrist.

Beautiful

I love, love, love these jellyfish.

I love, love, love these jellyfish.

The watch itself, to me, is very pretty indeed. The interface is clean, and while the screen itself is a rectangle, not a more traditional circle, the case and the edgeless screen soften its edges. Primarily, though, it’s a timepiece, and if it’s to replace an existing watch that doesn’t, in fact, need charged nightly, then it’s got to present itself well.

The many different included faces can be customised in many ways. Some watch faces allow you to set the amount of detail they include (every minute mark, or hide even the hour marks) as well as the colors used. Most intriguing of all are the complications, added information within a watch face that can show a second time zone, the weather, moon phase, or your next appointment. These complications are also tappable, so a mini fitness icon can be tapped to visit the app for more information. 

Customizing the “Color” face complications, which are all small.

Customizing the “Color” face complications, which are all small.

Critically, different watch faces offer complications in different sizes, meaning that different faces offer very different information densities. The Utility face is my pick for now, partly because it offers a one-line medium-sized complication at the bottom which can show both the temperature and weather forecast. (The Mickey face does too, but it’s not to my taste.)

My chosen Utility face with weather and a forecast at the bottom, and a red notification dot at the top.

My chosen Utility face with weather and a forecast at the bottom, and a red notification dot at the top.

The Modular face offers a single multi-line complication in the center of the screen, which can show quite a bit of detail, but almost all other complications are quite small, offering at most the time of your next appointment, the current temperature, time of sunset, or so on. There’s also no way to change the position or size of a digital time readout, so if you’re a fan of the digital aesthetic, you’re out of luck for now. 

Modular is for information junkies, but you can’t make the time any larger.

Modular is for information junkies, but you can’t make the time any larger.

At present, it’s not possible for third-parties to design watch faces (or complications, which would be interesting). It’s also a real shame that the utterly beautiful Motion face supports just a single, date-only complication, and I hope the ability to further customize the existing faces shows up in a future update. While the existing faces should provide enough to keep most people happy, you may find that you’re not 100% happy with what you can create today.

Capable

The watch does a lot. Some of its tricks are unique, like measuring your heartbeat, or tapping your wrist (or your friends’). Others, like notifications, duplicate your iPhone’s features. Some features currently limited to the watch (animated emoji, animating drawn messages) could potentially cross back over to the iPhone in a future release.

Two screens from a navigation session—and it taps your wrist too.

Two screens from a navigation session—and it taps your wrist too.

Given Apple’s recent efforts on HealthKit and ResearchKit, it’s terrific to see fitness as a key focus on the watch too. Three concentric rings in different colors close throughout the day as you stand, move, and exercise more energetically. Even if you’re not into gym workouts, this is a gentle prod (or tap on the wrist) in the right direction. It’ll track you passively, or you can specifically start up the Workout app to record specific events, tie into the Health app, and earn awards.

I walked, and received my first award.

I walked, and received my first award.

Communication is also a key focus, and there’s a hardware button dedicated to bringing up a list of your contacts. From there, you can send the aforementioned animated emoji, a drawing, a pattern of taps, your heartbeat (likely to loved ones), or a text message via Siri. While the emoji can be received on an iPhone, for now at least the animated drawn message and taps can only be sent from an Apple Watch to friends with an Apple Watch, and because it’s early days, I haven’t tested this yet. You can also just call people via the built-in mic and speaker.

Worth noting is that many advanced functions on the watch—and all third-party content so far—require a tethered iPhone to be nearby. It’s also possible to ping your iPhone from your watch if you don’t know just where it is. While the watch won’t stop working when away from its iPhone, it won’t have GPS, or access to the internet, or the music on your iPhone, or the ability to make calls. It will tell the time, track your heart rate, and not much more. But that’s OK.

Potential

The most exciting thing about the Apple Watch is that this is just version 1. Third-party applications are currently very limited in what they can do, and do all their processing on the iPhone. There’s no way to make custom watch faces, complications, or apps that can exist without an iPhone. These choices are largely to do with battery life, which is heavily affected by the number of lit pixels on the screen. Even some of the more graphically intensive watch faces previously announced have been culled so that a day’s moderate usage can be guaranteed, and you can bet that more capable third-party apps would reduce that further. 

Only a few third-party apps on my Watch so far.

Only a few third-party apps on my Watch so far.

What I’m really excited about is what’s going to be possible in the next year or so. Being able to check into a hotel room with my Watch? Very cool, and possible today at some hotels. Paying with my Watch? Space-age. Adding something to a to-do list with my voice is something I can do on my phone, but now I don’t need to reach into my pocket. Grocery shopping apps are great until you need both hands, and now they’re both free.

While you won’t use most apps on your watch for very long, the fact that they’re on your wrist means you can access them more easily. Developers haven’t been able to really see how people use the Apple Watch yet, nor have they been able to see themselves how their apps could work on their own wrists. With the public release, that will change quickly. I’d expect a great many of the iPhone apps you use today to bring quick access to their key features to the watch soon.

Conclusion

So should you get one? In essence, it’s just like any other gadget. You might not need it, but you’ll enjoy it. It’s not as fast as your phone (though it will get faster) and the screen isn’t as large either, so it’s not exactly an essential purchase. But if you’re someone who often misses their notifications, or if you need to notify someone in a meeting without interrupting them, or if you want to prod yourself to be more active, or if you simply want a watch with several extra features, then this is a terrific device for you.

Apple Watch on left, iPod nano 6th generation on right.

Apple Watch on left, iPod nano 6th generation on right.

For me? I’ve always worn watches, and my previous watch was a 6th Generation iPod nano. With 20 watch faces, radio, photos, and music, its main (and often irritating) failing was the need to press a button to wake it up and display the time. My bar for a replacement may have been set pretty low, but the Apple Watch has well and truly exceeded it. I’m sure I’ll find new ways to integrate it into my life over time, but now? Very cool. I just need a red strap, and a way to make my own watch faces.

Check out our Mac OS X: OS X & iOS: Working Together course!

Iain Anderson

Iain Anderson | Articles by this author

Iain Anderson is an editor, animator, designer, developer and Apple Certified Trainer based in Brisbane, Australia. He has taught privately and in tertiary institutions, and has freelanced for Microsoft and the Queensland Government. Comfortable with anything from Quartz Composer to Second Life and Final Cut Pro to Adobe Creative Suite, he has laid out books, booklets, brochures and business cards; retouched magazine covers and product packaging, shot and edited short films and animated for HD broadcast TV, film festivals and for the web.

Comments

Apr 29, 2015
Steve H. Publisher
Awesome article! You brought out some extremely good points making an argument for (and perhaps against) getting one of these devices. As someone who was initially very skeptical I am now intrigued and have a better concept of how I might interact with Apple Watch. Thanks for the extra perspective and thoughtful advice!
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2017 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link