X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close

Accès Premium gratuitement

Accédez à notre bibliothèque complète des articles Hub Premium, les fichiers projet et les premiers 10% de chaque Cours-vidéo de la Bibliothèque Didacticiel en ligne .

Créez votre compte gratuit!

Blackmagic Cinema Appareil photo: Un guide de Kit Minimal
Traduit par Google Translate

Theres un monde de différence entre les différents tireurs. Certains clin wouldnt à un trépied coûter plusieurs milliers de dollars sur un ensemble de plusieurs assistants, et d'autres clignotent dur à dépenser plus d'une centaine avec seulement eux-mêmes pour la société. Cet article est bien destiné à l'équipe du film pour une personne, avec un seul sac, en essayant de faire des films vaut regarder en utilisant leur caméra Blackmagic Cinema. Qu'est-ce que vous avez besoin, et whats facultative? Pour être clair, ce n'est pas un guide sur la façon de gréer un CCMB pour une utilisation sur le plateau. Il s'agit d'un guide à ce productions minuscules doivent tirer sur des lieux réels.


Choix des lentilles

En ce moment, la caméra ne Blackmagic marque a une monture EF Canon. (Theres également un modèle MFT micro-quatre tiers thats annoncé mais n'est pas encore l'expédition.) Vous aurez besoin d'au moins une lentille pour commencer, et probablement, large objectif rapide sera à portée de main. Pourquoi jeûner? Ainsi, vous pouvez photographier en faible luminosité. Pourquoi large? Le facteur de 2.3x cultures fait tout juste un peu plus longtemps que vous pourriez être utilisé pour un appareil à capteur de 1.6x cultures comme l'EOS 7D, si vous êtes tir à l'intérieur de l'emplacement, vous aurez envie de quelque chose de très grand. Heureusement, il existe quelques larges lentilles grand angle là-bas qui pourrait être utile:

  • Sigma 8-16 f/4-5.6 (si ce n'est pas rapide)
  • Tokina 11-16 f/2.8 (même si il ya eu quelques problèmes liés à la distance foyer arrière de la bride que Blackmagic a fixé de nouveaux organes et fixera sur les plus âgés)

Je ne fais pas vraiment avoir l'une de ces lentilles, j'ai tendance à préférer un cadre plus serré. Même si vous avez un objectif grand angle, un zoom de milieu de gamme avec un f/2.8 constant est une lentille grand cheval de bataille pour un kit minimal. Les choix incluent:

  • Sigma 17-50 f/2.8 OS (mon choix)
  • Canon 17-55 IS f/2.8 (beau mais cher)
  • Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 IS (critiques mitigées dans la version stabilisée)

Vous aurez envie d'un objectif stabilisé si vous êtes tout travail main à tous, donc pour un kit minimum, j'aime le Sigma.

Sigma 17-50 f/2.8 and 30mm f/1.4

Sigma 17-50 f/2.8 et f/1.4 30mm


Quoi d'autre? Travaux légers inférieur a besoin d'une lentille très rapide, f/1.4 ou f/1.8. Mon ancien Nifty Fifty Canon 50mm f/1.8 est tout simplement trop long à mon goût sur cet appareil, de sorte Ive allé pour le 30mm f/1.4 Sigma, et j'aime être capable de voir dans l'obscurité. La nuit, Ill heureusement pousser à 1600 ISO et même un angle d'obturation 360 pour l'image la plus claire possible, et c'est certainement suffisant pour mes besoins.

Avec le facteur de culture, téléobjectif est facile. J'ai un vieux Tamron 28-75 f/2.8, et il ya beaucoup de bons choix qui vous permettront de très près de l'action. Stabilisation aide, et Canon ont beaucoup d'options ici.


Stockage

Prenez un 240 Go de disque de Blackmagics approuvés liste SSD. J'utilise le Kingston SSD V 200, qui permet d'enregistrer pendant environ 2,5 heures. Pour se prémunir contre les défaillances matérielles, un deuxième SSD n'est pas une mauvaise idée, même si certaines âmes courageuses ont tiré directement à 2,5 disques filature. Une autre option sur le plateau serait d'utiliser un câble Thunderbolt d'enregistrer directement à un ordinateur portable Mac à partir de la caméra avec les médias inclus express app.

Two hard drive docks, one with a big spinning disk and one with an SSD.

Deux quais de disque dur, un avec un grand disque en rotation et l'autre avec un SSD.


Une fois son dans votre ordinateur, une station d'accueil pour disque dur (eSATA et / ou USB3) et un tas de gros disques durs internes muets (2-3 To chacun) seront vous tenir en haleine. Assurez-vous que votre film est en au moins deux endroits pendant que vous êtes à travailler sur l'édition.


support de la caméra

Pas de plates-formes. Il s'agit d'un kit minimum, et une fois que vous ajoutez une plate-forme, youve a ajouté une tonne de poids, la complexité et le coût. Prenez, un trépied difficile-mais-pas cher flexible et garder la fantaisie des mouvements de caméra à un minimum.

A ball head from a Vanguard and the flat legs from a Benro.

A la tête de la balle d'un Vanguard et les jambes à plat à partir d'un Benro.


J'aime à la fois le Vanguard Alta Cine 263 AT (pour les mouvements de caméra intéressants) et le Benro 1810 (comme un trépied de voyage). Méfiez-vous des trépieds moins cher, même si, le Blackmagic est 2 kg (£ 4,5) à lui tout seul.


Lumières

Si vous êtes une bande d'une personne, vous êtes probablement pas l'intention de trimballer un tas de lumières autour. Prenez un couple de CN-160 LED de votre détaillant préféré sur Internet. Moins de 50 $ ou plus, ceux-ci s'exécutent sur de vieilles batteries Sony / Panasonic AA ou et sont assez brillant pour éblouir les gens.

The CN-160, findable on eBay, mounted on top of my BMCC

Le CN-160, trouvable sur eBay, monté sur le dessus de ma CCMB.


Prenez deux et faire usage de lumières pratiques de localisation pour le reste. Même juste une lumière peut remplir un visage bien.


Audio

Si vous voulez le meilleur, obtenir un pré-ampli à s'asseoir entre votre micro et votre CCMB. Mais êtes vraiment dans le territoire de forage maintenant, et au-delà minime. Pour les interviews, je vais directement à partir d'un (connexion filaire) Rde PinMic dans mon CCMB, mais beaucoup d'autres micros pourrais être bien aussi. Maintenir les niveaux d'entrée vers le bas autour de 20% pour minimiser les problèmes audio.

Simple, effective audio gear from Rde and Zoom.

Simple équipement audio, à compter du Rde et Zoom.


Pour une sauvegarde, un H1 Zoom est assez facile à serrer sur quelque chose dans les environs, n'oubliez pas de l'activer. Synchronisez-le en poste, si votre micro cravate échoue.


Puissance

Si vous êtes à seulement va tirer pendant une heure à la fois loin du pouvoir, vous pourriez peut-être s'en tirer sans une batterie externe. Tout le monde a besoin d'une solution de puissance, mais ils n'avez pas besoin de le garder connecté tout le temps. Ma recommandation est d'une batterie V-mount, monté dans un sac qui peut s'asseoir sur votre ceinture pour le travail manuel, accrochez-dessous un trépied, ou tout simplement se connecter sans tirer.

Connect the cable from the battery to the camera and itll charge, in use or not.

Connecter le câble à partir de la batterie de l'appareil et la charge de itll, en cours d'utilisation ou non.


J'utilise une batterie et un chargeur de Globalmediapro (fourni pour examen et essais), qui fonctionne bien. Ils ont également fourni un câble à angle droit de convertir les batterys à bord D-tap (aka P-tap tap ou pouvoir) à la caméra, ce qui signifie que vous n'avez pas besoin d'une plaque de montage séparé.


équipement informatique

Le dernier MacBook Pro avec écran Retina est excellent. Si vous obtenez un Seagate Backup Plus disque dur, vous pouvez utiliser le dos amovible du lecteur de monter directement le BMCCs SSD, pour l'approbation des clients instantanées et les sauvegardes sur le terrain.

Use the end of a Backup Plus (ne GoFlex) drive to connect your SSD in the field.

Utilisez l'extrémité d'un Plus (ne GoFlex) Drive Backup pour connecter votre SSD dans le domaine.


Bric et de broc

Un câble audio sera nécessaire pour convertir un revers micros minijack pour une paire de jacks symétriques 1/4, si la tête de votre magasin de musique local. J'ai aussi un couple d'adaptateurs de chaussures froid monté sur le haut de ma CCMB avec des vis 1/4 de GRUB.

Rigless mounting to the rescue.

Rigless montage à la rescousse.


Très pratique pour le montage d'une lumière LED ou un microphone externe. Une pince à vis de trépied à bord est une autre grande idée pour la tenue d'une lumière en place sans tribunes ou d'aides supplémentaires. Un pas cher filtre ND variable (potentiellement très) vous permettra de prendre des photos en plein jour, et pourrait vous faire économiser sur une journée ensoleillée.


Un sac

Après avoir recueilli toutes ce kit, j'avais besoin d'un bon moyen de stocker tout cela. Un sac de x350AW Pro Runner Lowepro détient désormais le lot, avec mon ordinateur portable et un iPad.

One bag to hold it all.

Un sac pour tenir tout cela.


Avec des roues, parce que tout ça est lourd, et des sangles sac à dos de style, parce que parfois, la vie vous donne des escaliers.


Et maintenant?

Tout ce matériel est juste assez pour obtenir tout un tas de tâches effectuées. Aucune équipe, aucun jeu, juste vous et votre sujet (s). Il ya toujours quelque chose à dépenser de l'argent, mais le truc est de trouver un moyen efficace de confortablement faire le travail correctement. Je ne suis pas un partisan d'être paresseux sur place et la fixer en poste, mais c'est certainement plus facile de fixer éclairage imparfait avec la couleur 10-bit de la Blackmagic en mode ProRes.

À bien des égards il s'agit d'une extension d'un kit, vous pouvez utiliser avec un reflex numérique, mais le poids supplémentaire, les SSD et les exigences de puissance sont à considérer. Alors que ce n'est pas vrai que vous avez besoin de dépenser des milliers sur un banc et d'autres accessoires, vous aurez à passer au moins un supplément de quelques centaines de dollars sur le pouvoir, SSD et lentilles éventuellement plus larges. Ce n'est pas difficile à obtenir autour de votre tête, et son grand plaisir à tirer avec. Bonne chance!


Iain Anderson

Iain Anderson | Articles by this author

Iain Anderson is an editor, animator, designer, developer and Apple Certified Trainer based in Brisbane, Australia. He has taught privately and in tertiary institutions, and has freelanced for Microsoft and the Queensland Government. Comfortable with anything from Quartz Composer to Second Life and Final Cut Pro to Adobe Creative Suite, he has laid out books, booklets, brochures and business cards; retouched magazine covers and product packaging, shot and edited short films and animated for HD broadcast TV, film festivals and for the web.

Comments

Jun 01, 2013
Paul
Thanks for the heads up on Gobalmediapro they have pretty good prices for Aust! Like you, I'm keeping my Camera kit simple, still looking for a reasonable top handle and monitor. Waiting it out till they get cheaper. Love an EVF but will settle for a bigger hood at the moment. Do you have any trouble IR?

Cheers
Paul
SYD AUST
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2018 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link

X Course Advisor FREE Course Advisor
(Close)
Watch Tutorials
macProVideo.com
Close
Blackmagic Cinema Camera: A Minimal Kit Guide

There’s a world of difference between different shooters. Some wouldn’t blink at a tripod costing several thousand dollars on a set with several assistants, and others blink hard at spending over a hundred with only themselves for company. This article is firmly aimed at the one-person film crew, with a single bag, trying to make movies worth watching using their Blackmagic Cinema Camera. What do you need, and what’s optional? To be clear, this is not a guide to how to rig a BMCC for use on set. This is a guide to what tiny productions need to shoot on real locations.


Choosing Lenses

Right now, the only camera Blackmagic make has a Canon EF mount. (There’s also a micro-four-thirds — MFT — model that’s been announced but is not yet shipping.) You will need at least one lens to get started, and probably a fast, wide lens will be handy. Why fast? So you can shoot in lower light. Why wide? The 2.3x crop factor makes everything just a bit longer than you might be used to on a 1.6x crop sensor camera like the EOS 7D; if you’re shooting inside on location, you’ll want something quite wide. Luckily, there are a few wide angle lenses out there which could be handy:

  • Sigma 8-16 f/4-5.6 (though it’s not fast)
  • Tokina 11-16 f/2.8 (though there have been some backfocus issues related to flange distance that Blackmagic have fixed on new bodies and will fix on older ones)

I don’t actually have either of those lenses; I tend to prefer a tighter frame. Even if you have a wide lens, a mid-range zoom with a constant f/2.8 is a great workhorse lens for a minimal kit. Choices include:

  • Sigma 17-50 OS f/2.8 (my choice)
  • Canon 17-55 IS f/2.8 (nice but expensive)
  • Tamron 17-50 IS f/2.8 (mixed reviews in the stabilized version)

You’ll want a stabilized lens if you’re doing any hand-held work at all, so for a minimal kit, I like the Sigma.

Sigma 17-50 f/2.8 and 30mm f/1.4

Sigma 17-50 f/2.8 and 30mm f/1.4


What else? Lower light work needs a really fast lens, f/1.4 or f/1.8. My old Nifty Fifty Canon 50mm f/1.8 is just too long for my tastes on this camera, so I’ve gone for the Sigma 30mm f/1.4, and I love being able to see in the dark. At night, I’ll happily push to ISO 1600 and even a 360° shutter angle for the brightest image possible, and it’s certainly good enough for my needs.

With the crop factor, telephoto is easy. I have an older Tamron 28-75 f/2.8, and there are plenty of good choices which will get you very close to the action. Stabilization helps, and Canon have plenty of options here.


Storage

Grab a 240 GB drive from Blackmagic’s approved SSD list. I use the Kingston SSD V+200, which can record for about 2.5 hours. To guard against hardware failure, a second SSD isn’t a bad idea, though some brave souls have shot direct to 2.5” spinning disks. One other option on set would be to use a Thunderbolt cable to record direct to a Mac laptop from the camera with the included Media Express app.

Two hard drive docks, one with a big spinning disk and one with an SSD.

Two hard drive docks, one with a big spinning disk and one with an SSD.


Once it’s in your computer, a hard drive dock (eSATA and/or USB3) and a bunch of big dumb internal hard drives (2-3TB each) will keep you going. Make sure your footage is in at least two places while you’re working on the edit.


Camera support

No rigs. This is a minimal kit, and once you add a rig, you’ve added a ton of weight, complexity and cost. Grab a flexible, tough-but-cheap tripod, and keep the fancy camera moves to a minimum.

A ball head from a Vanguard and the flat legs from a Benro.

A ball head from a Vanguard and the flat legs from a Benro.


I like both the Vanguard Cine Alta 263 AT (for interesting camera moves) and the Benro 1810 (as a travel tripod). Beware of cheaper tripods, though; the Blackmagic is 2kg (4.5lbs) all by itself.


Lights

If you’re a one-person band, you’re probably not planning on lugging a heap of lights around. Grab a couple of CN-160 LED lights from your favourite internet retailer. Under $50 or so, these run on AAs or old Sony/Panasonic batteries and are bright enough to dazzle people.

The CN-160, findable on eBay, mounted on top of my BMCC

The CN-160, findable on eBay, mounted on top of my BMCC.


Grab two and make use of practical location lights for the rest. Even just one light can fill in a face nicely.


Audio

If you want the best, get a pre-amp to sit between your microphone and your BMCC. But you’re really into rig territory now, and beyond “minimal”. For interviews, I go direct from a (wired) Røde Pinmic into my BMCC, but many other mics could be fine too. Keep the input levels down around 20% to minimize audio problems.

Simple, effective audio gear from Røde and Zoom.

Simple, effective audio gear from Røde and Zoom.


For a backup, a Zoom H1 is easy enough to clamp onto something in the nearby area; just remember to turn it on. Sync it in post if your lapel mic fails.


Power

If you’re only going to shoot for an hour at a time away from power, you could perhaps get away without an external battery. Everyone else needs a power solution, but they don’t need to keep it connected all the time. My recommendation is for a V-mount battery, mounted in a bag that can sit on your belt for handheld work, hang below a tripod, or simply connect while not shooting.

Connect the cable from the battery to the camera and it’ll charge, in use or not.

Connect the cable from the battery to the camera and it’ll charge, in use or not.


I use a battery and charger from Globalmediapro (supplied for review and testing) which works well. They also provided a right-angle cable to convert the battery’s on-board D-tap (aka P-tap or power tap) to the camera, meaning you don’t need a separate mounting plate.


Computing gear

The latest MacBook Pro with Retina Display is excellent. If you get a Seagate Backup Plus hard drive, you can use the removable back of the drive to mount the BMCC’s SSD directly, for instant client approvals and in-field backups.

Use the end of a Backup Plus (née GoFlex) drive to connect your SSD in the field.

Use the end of a Backup Plus (née GoFlex) drive to connect your SSD in the field.


Bits and pieces

An audio cable will be needed to convert a lapel mic’s minijack to a pair of balanced 1/4” jacks, so head to your local music store. I also have a couple of cold shoe adapters mounted to the top of my BMCC with 1/4” grub screws.

Rigless mounting to the rescue.

Rigless mounting to the rescue.


Very handy for mounting an LED light or an external microphone. A clamp with on-board tripod screw is another great idea for holding a light in place without additional stands or helpers. A (potentially very) cheap variable ND filter will let you shoot in bright daylight, and could save you on a sunny day.


A bag

After gathering all this kit, I needed a good way to store it all. A Lowepro Pro Runner x350AW bag now holds the lot, along with my laptop and an iPad.

One bag to hold it all.

One bag to hold it all.


With wheels, because all this stuff is heavy, and backpack-style straps, because sometimes life gives you stairs.


Now what?

All this gear is just about enough to get a whole heap of jobs done. No crew, no set, just you and your subject(s). There’s always something else to spend money on, but the trick is finding an efficient way to comfortably do the job properly. I’m not a proponent of being lazy on location and fixing it in post, but it’s certainly easier to fix imperfect lighting with the 10-bit color of the Blackmagic in ProRes mode.

In many ways this is an extension of a kit you might use with a DSLR, but the extra weight, SSDs and power requirements are worth considering. While it’s not true that you need to spend thousands on a rig and other accessories, you’ll have to spend at least an extra few hundred dollars on power, SSD and possibly wider lenses. It’s not hard to get your head around, and it’s great fun to shoot with. Good luck!


Iain Anderson

Iain Anderson | Articles by this author

Iain Anderson is an editor, animator, designer, developer and Apple Certified Trainer based in Brisbane, Australia. He has taught privately and in tertiary institutions, and has freelanced for Microsoft and the Queensland Government. Comfortable with anything from Quartz Composer to Second Life and Final Cut Pro to Adobe Creative Suite, he has laid out books, booklets, brochures and business cards; retouched magazine covers and product packaging, shot and edited short films and animated for HD broadcast TV, film festivals and for the web.

Comments

Jun 01, 2013
Paul
Thanks for the heads up on Gobalmediapro they have pretty good prices for Aust! Like you, I'm keeping my Camera kit simple, still looking for a reasonable top handle and monitor. Waiting it out till they get cheaper. Love an EVF but will settle for a bigger hood at the moment. Do you have any trouble IR?

Cheers
Paul
SYD AUST
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Create an Account  Login Now

What is macProVideo.com?

macProVideo.com is an online education community featuring Tutorial-Videos & Training for popular Audio & Video Applications including Adobe CS, Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and more.
© 2017 macProVideo.com
a division of NonLinear Educating Inc.
Link